Customer Reviews for

Two Rivers

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good story, easy reading.....

This book was given to me by a friend. It was her book club selection of the month. Got through it quickly. It was an easy read, good character build up. Good, but not great.

posted by Dr.BF on April 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Story wasn't what I expected.

3.25 Stars. Gosh, another hard one to review. If you read the synopsis of the book it is somewhat misleading, it leads the reader to expect most of the book to be about the relationship between Harper and Maggie (the girl from the train wreck) but it's really not. The b...
3.25 Stars. Gosh, another hard one to review. If you read the synopsis of the book it is somewhat misleading, it leads the reader to expect most of the book to be about the relationship between Harper and Maggie (the girl from the train wreck) but it's really not. The book lends most of its time to Harper's relationship with the love of his life, Betsy. Many times I sighed that "Here we go again" noise when reading this. It's stated in the book that Harper was living in the shadows of his deceased wife (not giving anything away here) and the book certainly illustrates this--so much in fact, I almost abandoned it. Had I expected this I might be a little less critical. Although I found myself frequently frustrated I also found the story calling me back which may be attributed to the writing. There are also many other issues that lie beneath the surface of this story--some subtle, some not so subtle--which could illicit some excellent discussion: racism, forgiveness, the draft, hate, et al. Eventually it all works out into a tale of redemption, forgiveness, and understanding

posted by pjpick on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book - Reads very quickly

    This was a good book. Read it in one sitting. The characters were interesting and the back and forth in time made it just interesting enough giving just enough hints to keep you going. Only complaint was the setting of Vermont. Having lived here my whole life, I have to believe that the author never did. Nothing about the setting or language was familar. I would have like the book better it it had been set any where else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating story of someone trapt by his past of anguish and love.

    I really enjoyed this book. I though the way Greenwood wrote 'Two Rivers' really made the reader feel that you were right besides Harper, sharing his life, when everything was happening (which I think is something hard to find in a novel). I also liked Greenwoods way of narrating thes story through Harper's first person narrative along with the alternation of chapters between past and present. Overall, this was an easy, yet unique and captivating story. The bond between Harper and Betsy is so strong and you really stop to think that that is what true love is supposed to be like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Young love moving to understanding

    I enjoyed this book. It pulled me in to read the story of Harper and Betsy intertwined with the current story of Harper and Shelly and Maggie. It was compassionate and fulfilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Story wasn't what I expected.

    3.25 Stars. Gosh, another hard one to review. If you read the synopsis of the book it is somewhat misleading, it leads the reader to expect most of the book to be about the relationship between Harper and Maggie (the girl from the train wreck) but it's really not. The book lends most of its time to Harper's relationship with the love of his life, Betsy. Many times I sighed that "Here we go again" noise when reading this. It's stated in the book that Harper was living in the shadows of his deceased wife (not giving anything away here) and the book certainly illustrates this--so much in fact, I almost abandoned it. Had I expected this I might be a little less critical. Although I found myself frequently frustrated I also found the story calling me back which may be attributed to the writing. There are also many other issues that lie beneath the surface of this story--some subtle, some not so subtle--which could illicit some excellent discussion: racism, forgiveness, the draft, hate, et al. Eventually it all works out into a tale of redemption, forgiveness, and understanding

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    Good story, easy reading.....

    This book was given to me by a friend. It was her book club selection of the month. Got through it quickly. It was an easy read, good character build up. Good, but not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    complex character driven drama

    In Two Rivers, Vermont, twelve years back in 1968 Harper Montgomery no longer considered himself a living human. That year his wife Betsy died and he was involved in a vicious murder of a black man. Harper goes through the motions of living, but has never moved past grief or his guilt. Filled with remorse, Harper knows if it was not for the fact his daughter needs him, he probably would have committed suicide just like a friend involved with the homicide did. Thus he still works for the railroad and does his best to raise his daughter Shelly as a single dad.<BR/>---<BR/>In 1980, a train derailment occurs. One of the survivors is a young pregnant black teen who needs a place to stay. Harper brings Marguerite ¿Maggie¿ Dufresne into his household as a form of repentance for what he and others did a dozen years ago. She tells him she is on her way to Canada having been raped. As he muses on his time with Betsy in the volatile 1960s, Harper begins to wonder if Maggie deliberately came to Two Rivers seeking closure just as Harper has struggles with too.<BR/>---<BR/>This complex character driven drama is well written, but not an easy read as metaphors like the name of the town and the confluence of its rivers at the town provide deep insight into the hidden internal battles between passion for the future and remorse for the past. The three prime characters seem fully developed with the adults each having a secret agenda fueling their relationship. Betsy and the murdered black male come alive through mostly Harper¿s memory tinted by his psychological defense mechanism lens; which in turn makes part of the story line a historical romance and part a suspense thriller that converge into a profound character study. Readers who relish a deep but complicated drama will want to read this strong New England tale.<BR/>---<BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A highly moving love story of redemption, racial tension, loss, love, and forgiveness.

    Another winner and page-turner by T. Greenwood! Once again, this talented author knows how to tell a powerful, and beautifully written heartwarming story! Looking forward to reading her remaining three books which I have not read (each is as good as the previous one).

    Two Rivers is a bittersweet story of a man living in Two Rivers, Vermont, who is suffering daily from guilt after his role in a brutal crime which still haunts him daily. His sins of the past threatens to destroy his present, as Harper seeks forgiveness to make amends for his involvement in the crime long ago.

    After his wife, Betsy died twelve years earlier, Harper is raising his daughter, Shelly and working at the railroad, until one day a train derails, he has a chance at redeeming himself when he encounters, Maggie, a pregnant 15 yr old girl who needs his help.

    Does the tragedy of losing Betsy justify Harper’s involvement in the scene at the river and the blackberry imagery? A very interesting take on motherhood of Mrs. Parker, Helen, and Betsy and how they embrace their role and are they victims of their time?

    A master of combining past with present, the intense feelings and emotions will warm and engage fans of Greenwood for a highly moving love story of redemption, racial tension, loss, love, and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    mikaela stewarts review

    i have not read the book by mikaela stewrart

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Story Line, Very Good Writing Style!

    I liked Greenwood's writing style and I would recommend it. I was confused at first by Harper's involvement with the crime but as the story unfolded, that became clear. I enjoyed the alternating past and present style but I found it a bit more about Harper and Betsy than about Maggie. The story line about Maggie is what kept my interest most. Greenwood develops her characters quite well and keeps you coming back to find out what happens to them. She makes you care about them. There is a lot of symbolism throughout: two rivers, two life stories, past and present, guilt and forgiveness, comparing mothers, lots to talk about. Good for book clubs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoy this book very much

    I have never read anything by T,Greenwoods before this one. I would deffently recommend it. I have never written a review before . But this book compelled me to. Was different from most books I have read. Liked how it went back to before and the now. Never would have guessed the end. Was very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    A Good Read

    I enjoyed this book. Had a surprise twist in the story line. It was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    Great Read!!!

    I have just recently started reading I have never been in to ready books unless I had to. Once I started reading this book I couldn't seem to put it down, truly a great story about life, love and just the simple things in life. I would recommend anyone read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    Unexpectedly wonderful

    I picked this book up and had no idea I was going to read one of the best books I've gotten in a long time! I loved the characters and the twisted love story, and it seemed like there was a surprise at every turn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How one episode changes your whole life!

    I so enjoyed this story of a man who made a tragic and awful choice in his life and spent the rest of it trying to redeem himself. How this episode affected his family, child, friends, etc. This book has wonderful characters, a great story line that holds the reader until the end and is extremely redeeming. I honestly loved it and would recomend it highly. This is my first time reading T. Greenwood, but I will be reading more of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1