Customer Reviews for

The Two Towers: Being the Second Part of The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 640 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(525)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Enchanting

This novel made me happy and sad, angry and frightened. Now, I don't know if adults want this for teenagers, but this book made me think and wonder. This book made me want to close my eyes in corporate America, and open them in Middle Earth. I saw the story with my eyes...
This novel made me happy and sad, angry and frightened. Now, I don't know if adults want this for teenagers, but this book made me think and wonder. This book made me want to close my eyes in corporate America, and open them in Middle Earth. I saw the story with my eyes, and every time I put the book down I kept seeing it. I would be walking around and my peers would turn into Elves, and my teachers would turn into Orcs! I connected to this book so much. It made me feel like Frodo is my closest friend and Saruman my most loathed enemy. The return of Gandalf the White made me feel like my Grandfather was back from the Dead! However, by putting me in a world so different from this one, it made me wish I could never leave the world of J. R. R. Tolkien. This book put me in a different world entirely and filled me with wonder. And I wish that it gives you the same.
~ERH

posted by 16472588 on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

best book u can read!

this is a book i couldn't put down!this is the best book i read for a long time! if you like adventure books, you'll love this one, and the other series by this author.i read this book in two days.this is a 'can't put it down' kind of book. IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK YOU'...
this is a book i couldn't put down!this is the best book i read for a long time! if you like adventure books, you'll love this one, and the other series by this author.i read this book in two days.this is a 'can't put it down' kind of book. IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK YOU'LL LOVE THE MOVIES!

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    lord of the rings the two towers

    The book that I read is the "Lord of the Rings, the Two Towers," written by J.R.R. Tolkien. The book takes place in the Medieval Times, so they talked differently and there were dragons, magic and other effects of that period. There are like 5 main characters that have a big role in the book, but the character that is most important is Frodo. He is the new ring bearer, (a ring bearer is someone who has the mythical ring of Saron). There are other main characters too, like Gimli, Aragon, Legolas, and Gandalf. What their role is, is to help cities, towns and just random people that they meet, to defend themselves against Orcs and people that are working and fighting with the evil Dark Lord Saron and his helper Seroman. Seroman, was once a good wizard, that was really good friends with Gandalf.

    The brave warriors have traveled to two major cities, Helm's Deep and Isengard. The most important city is Helms Deep. That is where our three heroes, Gimli, Aragon, Legolas, and Helm's Deeps Soldiers, the Rohan Riders, and elves, fought against over one million Orcs. It wasn't just a battle; it was a war. That is all I can tell you, because I don't want to spoil the surprise. What I can tell you is that the book is interesting and entertaining at the same time. One hero Gimli is a dwarf that doesn't like to be teased about his size. He and Legolas, another hero, have competitions that make you laugh at times, but at the same time, you are wondering what is going to happen next. This is a book that people that have seen the movie will also like the book. The book and series itself are excellent choices is you are looking for a great book to read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    just as good as the first!

    this book is just as good as the first one was. the most vivid chapters in my mind from having read this book are the ones that talk about the Ents. they're amazing. the best part of the book is the last few chapters. things really start to pick up, especially when Frodo is in Shelob's lair. read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    great

    The lord of the rings the two towers is a classic piece of literature. If you haven¿t read it you should. If you have not really gotten to know the lord of the rings you should read first and then watch the movies. You should be instantly drawn in. I love the lord of the rings stories. It has unusual surprises and leaves you wanting to know more, it is a real page turner. I personally love fantasy it throws you into a new environment and lets you figure out how exactly it works. That is another thing I love about this book. It lets you think about some stuff and try to fill in the gaps left. If you have seen the movie then reading the book is a smart thing to do. Also you should read the fellowship of the ring. It leads nicely into this book and will help you follow the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Great read

    great book, have read it many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So, it seems the story gets even better with each book. This one

    So, it seems the story gets even better with each book. This one also being a good sequel and continuation of the story. Don't know what else to say really. These books are awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    LB's post

    I love this book but i got to say i was a little that pippin & mary were going to die but they didn't. Whew. Well keep a look out for my posts bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A Book

    I never read it yet, but if the first book was good, this one would be great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Lord of the rings

    It is really good book it really does realate to the movie a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ....

    ...

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Not so Topsy Turvy anymore

    This time, I was more resolute with 4 stars for obviouse reasons. (1)The amount of boring parts were fewer, and when there were some, they were generaly less boring than in the first book. (2)Theres a lot more action, suspense, and interesting happenings. (3) The characters are becoming more, a, how to say this,a, intriging. By this, I mean that some of the characters that you thought you knew are now ,slowly but surley, gaining new doubts and personalities. I also have a few suggestions for when reading this book (1) find a quiet place. A must have. You wont focus as well and therefore not get whats going on (2)Think about the story. I know, this statment right here makes me sound like a teacher, and that the statment bugs you a bit because it sure would bug me, but trust me. This is one of the few times that it would be wise to think about what you've read during or after reading any book in this series. (3) read at different paces at different times in the book. Some places make more sence when you read them fast, and others vice versa. In the end, you'll be beging for more of this book. Happy Reading!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    great book

    This book is called the lord of the rings: the two towers. J.R.R Tolkien wrote it. Frodo and his friends have been led by danger during their quest to prevent the Ring from falling into the hands of the Dark Lord by destroying it in the firing blazes of mount doom. They have lost their friend Gandalf, the wizard, in a battle in the Mines of Moria. And Boromir, drawn by the power of the Ring, tried to obtain it by force. While Frodo and Sam made their flea, Orcs attacked the rest of the fellowship. Now they precede their journey alone down the great River Anduin, that is, wondering what the mysterious creeping figure that follows them wherever they go is. This book was very exciting to read because of all the action and how he described the battle, but I think he could have had a little more action in the book. I was definitely able to feel like I was in the book because of all the dialogue and how he described the emotion of all the characters. The main conflict interested me a lot because of all of the different plots that were going on at the same time. The book¿s ending was kind of annoying because it kind of leaves you in a cliffhanger but I got the next one to read. The author¿s voice is very similar to the first book, which is a 3rd person. The vocabulary is very magic like but a little hard to follow because of the funky names it has. One thing unique about the author is how he described the emotion of the characters. It was like he was describing the inner most desires to obtain the power of the ring even if it went against everything they stood for. I think that the author should describe the battles a little more descriptive. On a scale from one to ten I would give this book a nine because it had a lot more action then the first book but it could have had a little more, but it was very original but too higher which makes the book better than most. I¿m glad that Tolkien did a lot better with this book than the last. I think he put a little more effort into this one than the last one. I highly recommend this book for all ages. The text is a little difficult for ages under 10 but that¿s about it. It is a good summer reading book to keep you occupied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    Greatest Story I Have Ever Read

    This story of a hobbit named frodo who is attempting to take the Ring of Power to Mordor to destroy it is a very good read. You get into the action quickly and you are encompassed into the storyline of evil vs. good.Frodo and another hobit named Sam have just parted from the group because one of their companions Bouramir had just attemptd to steal the ring from Frodo for himself. Shortly after this a breeed of super-oorks attacked the travelrs so Sam and Frodo departed down the river while Legolas and the others are left to fend off the oorks so the ring can continue its epic journey. During this book Sam and Frodo become very close, i mean this in what is beleived to be a sexual way. In a preliminary version of the story that was not actually published i have found the following passage: 'Sam:Mr. Frodo I am so glad that you and me are together taking this ring to destroy it. Frodo:Thanks Sam, i am really gld that you are here as well... and i wa wondering if maybe we should huddle together for warmth. Sam: I though you'd never ask.(as Sam moves over to Frodo he places a kiss on his lips to which Frodo responds by embracing Sam.)' That is as in depth as I will go on this Homohobbit relationship that Sam and Frodo share. Anyway this book ends with an epic battle seen when Sarumans army attacks the fort that the city of Roahn has withdrawn to. Eventually Gondor comes to the aid of Rohan and they win thi battle. The final sequence is Gandalf the White coming over the hill with troops to join the battle they come throught and completely wipe out the enemies. I rate this book with four stars(it would be 5 but i believe that the homosecual hobbit relationship between Sam and Frodo is too explicit.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Packed with action and suspense.

    ¿The Two Towers¿ is the second part in a three part series. This book starts out where the first one left off. Frodo and Sam have left the other members of the Fellowship of the Ring, because they where under the ring¿s evil influence. The Fellowship of the Ring has had a member die and the other two hobbits have been taken by Orcs. Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas are trying to track the Orcs to get the two hobbits back. Meanwhile Frodo and Sam are having a hard time finding a way to get to Mordor. Gollum tries to get the ring form Frodo, but agrees to show them a way into Mordor. After that, the two hobbits that the Orcs have taken escape while the Orcs are under attack. They run into the forest and soon they find an Ent, who takes them to the white wizard. After awhile, Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas find the remains from the battle, and they go into the forest and find the white wizard. They then go to Helm¿s Deep to defend it form Orcs. This book holds the readers attention because it is full of surprises. There are many diverse characters who are trying to destroy the ring of power to save the Middle Earth. The book is packed with action and suspense. Readers never know where the characters will end up next or what fate will have in store for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    great story but sometimes a struggle to read

    It's tough not to rave about Tolkien these days, especially after the movies have re-ignited interest in his epic Lord of the Rings trilogy. However, you should know these books, especially the Two Towers, are no walk in the park, especially for younger readers. There are a lot of characters and locations with unusual names that all start to run together. Also, the pacing of the book is odd, with long periods of nothing followed by epic events that seem to deserve more attention. The writing style is a bit stilted for modern times. Of course, the saving grace is the fantastic story, which keeps readers plodding through the dull parts. I preferred the movie treatment of this story, but I enjoyed reading the source material, even if it is sufferably dull at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    LUVED THIS!!

    I love The Lord of the Rings, but this was definetely my favorite. It is so action-packed that I could actually see when they were fighting at Helm's Deep and when they battled the 'Wolves of Isengard'. I also loved the movie, and even though they cut the end kind of short, it still very accurately portrays the story but at the same time keeps the viewer enthralled. The only complaint I have about this book is that it kind of goes on and on about some things when you already know what it is, I just think that Tolkien could have laid off a little with the description, it would just be a little easier to follow if he had used less information. Other than that I loved this book. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    Lord of the Rings The Two Towers

    Title: The Lord of the Rings The Two Towers Author: J.R.R. Tolkien Genre: Fantasy The hobbits were left alone for now, the fellowship was scattered. Frodo and Sam are still on their quest to destroy the ring in Mordor but on their way they come across many strange and dangerous creatures that are slowing them down. The two hobbits find someone who is going to guide them to Mordor but they must keep an eye on him so he does not steal he ring of power. This book in general was very good for any young adult to adult. I personally love this whole series a lot because of the greatness of the writers. The characters are described very thoroughly in the text. This book was very exiting to read because all of the chapters were very intense. I thought the book was a 9 out of 10. Some of the exiting parts in the book were when there were battles. There are so many men fighting thousands of vicious beasts. You¿ll be introduced o many wondrous creatures like talking and walking trees! When Gandalf the wizard uses his special powers against the enemy they get destroyed in an instant. When you¿re reading you¿ll never b able to guess what is going to happen next. I would highly recommend this book to everyone; it¿s a must read! In order to be able to read this book with ease you must have a reading strategy. A strategy I would recommend is to visualize the scene. You must be able to visualize the characters and what they are putting themselves into just to get the ring to Mordor. I was able to visualize most of the time so reading this book was a breeze. So try to visualize because I guarantee you will be amazed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    Lord of The Rings The Two Towers

    I give this book 4 stars because it is great but has it's long parts. This book is a sit back, watch out, and buckle your seat belts because you are going to be blown away kind of book. You never know whats going to happen next and it's full of kick butt action. Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimili mourn the lost of thier friend Boromir and Pippin and Merry who were captured by a new threat called Uruk-Hai. The three warriors then go on a search for the two hobbits hoping they are alright. They then run into the Riders of Rohan. They find out that the group of Uruk-Hai were killed. They do not give up hope. Thier search leads them to Fangorn Forest and they meet a long, lost, and thought to be died friend Gandalf. Told that Pippin and Merry are alright, they head straight for Rohan. Gandalf frees a king from a evil wizard and they march with Rohan to Helms Deep where the future of Rohan will live or die. Frodo and Sam's journey continues by meeting with Gollum, who trys to take the ring from Frodo. After a fight Gollum is stoped and becomes thier guide to Morodor. You can expect excitment and thrills from this book and enjoy reading it if you choose to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    The Two Towers

    The Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers is written by J.R.R. Tolkien. I would give it 4 stars. I think it is kind of boring because it gets very slow at times. Most of it is about battles or Frodo and Sam (who are hobbits) are walking with Gollum. It is otherwise a pretty good book. The main characters are Frodo Baggins and Samwise Gamgee. They are trying to go to Mordor to demolish the Ring in the fires of Mt. Doom where it was forged. Gollum, who secretly wants to get the Ring tries everything he can think of to steal it back. Gollum was their guide on the way to Mordor. He originally was a kind of hobbit to begin with named Smeagol. This bony like creature was overpowered by the Ring. Then there is Gandalf, the wizard. The first book ends making you think that he dies in Moria. Actually he's not dead. He comes back to life as a resurrection type figure. Gandalf helps Frodo in all of the wars that follow. Aragorn, the Ranger, Legolas, the elf, and Gimli the dwarf are fighting the Orks with all of there might. There is also King Theoden of Rohan. He is a very old king that was beaten down by the voice of Worm Tongue, Saruman's assistaint. Saruman is also a wizard who turned bad in the first book. He has a staff that makes him very powerful. He can make Orks come to life to battle against all of the good people. Saruman is so bad he works with the Dark Side. The Two Towers is a book that takes you too The Return of the King, Tolkien's final and best of all 3 books of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. Another book I would reccomend is Lemony Sniket's, A Series of Unfortunate Events. He has come out with 9 so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    awsome cant wait to see whats next

    this book is a must read! you cant ask for much more in one book. tolkien brings you to his world while you are reading and nothing else matters but whats going on in the story. his colorful discriptions brings your mind to a new level of imagination. so what are you waiting for you should have already clicked on the buy button on the other page. Go get this book and dont put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    One of the Best Reads

    I think the Two Towers is one of Tolkien's best yet! The ending was a real cliff hanger. The series have quickly become my second favorite books. the book teaches people all around the world about life. It shows people that throught life, no matter what circumstances you face, you still have to continue what quest you are on. This book made me think about what it take to be a friend. Especially with the relationships between Sam and Frodo. The Two Towers made me feel like what was happening in the book was happening in real life. The author described things so clearly I felt I could see everything. I like the fact that Frodo had to overcome so many fears in order to try to accopmplish his mission. The only thing I did not like about the book was that it was a little boring in the first part. I still felt that the rest of the book made up for this. I would reccomend this book to any one and for almost all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4