Customer Reviews for

Two Truths and a Lie (The Lying Game Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

love it, must read.

couldn't put it down. read books 1 and 2 in three days... the show is good but these books are way better, can't wait for the next to come out,maybe i'll check out pretty little liars series.

posted by Mkinsey on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I read the first two and really enjoyed them but at some points i felt it was a little inappropriate. Overall they keep you reading and make you want to read the next one

posted by 7207118 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Wish she would get on with it.

    I really, REALLY love the idea of this series. My main problem with this series (and Pretty Little Liars) is that the author takes what could be 3 or 4 books and spans them into 10 or more books. I mean really, I was required to read books twice the length of this one (which is only 200 pages) when I was in 4th grade. While she's not overly descriptive, there is a lot of random page filler.
    I'm even more annoyed by the fact that there's really no mystery to it. If you've read her previous series (PLL) you'll know by now that every person she ACTUALLY suspects is not an actual suspect. It's become very predictable and therefor very boring. I've learned to suspect the only person she doesn't focus on in these books.
    And I understand that Emma is scared and trying to juggle a lot of things at once but she just strikes me as a very dumb person. A little kid has better sleuthing skills than Emma does. I can't stand dumb characters. The only reason I'm continuing this series is because 1) I already started it and I hate not finishing a series even if it's crap (ahemTWILIGHTahem) and 2) as I said the plot is interesting and one I've not seen before so I'm curious to see how it plays out.
    Also, I know it's from Suttons pov (the dead girl) but I don't understand the need for her flashbacks. They don't progress the story at all seeing as Emma and Sutton can't communicate. All they do is try--horribly I might add-- to lead the reader to believe what the author wants you to believe. Which as I said, whoever the author aims suspicion at in each book, you know it's not going to be that person.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Pretty good

    I read the first two and really enjoyed them but at some points i felt it was a little inappropriate. Overall they keep you reading and make you want to read the next one

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Sara Shepard writes too much

    Sometimes, Shepard can get really annoying. The story can get too twisted, and you're just like "hurry up"! I also cant help but wonder if Shepard was ever stalked when she was younger. She always writes about being stalked. And there is too much kissing. Like teens are nasty or something. Shepard almost seems perverted... but other than those, the books are somewhat "good" . Definetly a cliff hanger. But huge dissapointing endings.-0-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Lacks Intensity, but moves the plot along

    What I Liked: 1) I like how we are seeing everything from Sutton's perspective. She's this ghost who is traveling alongside Emma, who is living Sutton's life. So many times Sutton will remember something that would help Emma out as she's trying to pass herself off as Sutton and find her killer, and I'm just like, ah! Just tell her. And I have to remind myself that Sutton is a ghost. 2) I love how all of the books are named after games. The Lying Game, Never Have I Ever, Two Truths and A Lie...and the next book in the series is called Hide and Seek. What's going to happen next? 3) The mysterious relationship between Sutton and Thayer. When Thayer shows back up in Sutton/Emma's life, it's clear there was something going on. But of course Emma has no idea what it was, and Sutton is only remembering small pieces, so she doesn't know if he is friend or foe. 4) Much like the last book, at the very end, we find out that we can cross one more person off the list of who it was that killed Sutton. In every book I've read by Miz Shepard, I marvel at how good she is at the building up of suspense.

    What I Didn't Like: There was something about this one that just wasn't as intense as the last one. I still liked it, and am still going to continue reading the books, but I don't know. I think because this one focused so much on Thayer, who I didn't perceive as a threat.

    Overall thoughts: More fun and mystery from Sara Shepard. The Lying Game is proving to be another fluffy and comical mystery, similar to her Pretty Little Liar series. Two Truths and A Lie is the next in a fun series that will keep readers guessing until the very end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1