Customer Reviews for

Two-Way Street

Average Rating 4.5
( 588 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Great teen read!!!

Great read about Courtney and Jordan who are about to begin a three day trip from their homes in Florida to their college orientation in Boston. Usually this would be cause for excitement, but this trip is bound to be uncomfortable. The reason is because, two weeks ago,...
Great read about Courtney and Jordan who are about to begin a three day trip from their homes in Florida to their college orientation in Boston. Usually this would be cause for excitement, but this trip is bound to be uncomfortable. The reason is because, two weeks ago, Jordan broke up with Courtney, supposedly because he met a girl on MySpace. Since the plans for the trip have already been made, Courtney's parents are insisting that she stick with those plans and travel with her ex all the way to Boston.
The characters and details of this novel are well-developed. Courtney is ultra-organized, schedule-oriented, and germaphobic. Jordan is a relaxed, take-things-as-they-come, rap lover. The story reveals their quirky best friends who are always just a cell phone call away waiting to offer whatever support their own busy lives allow. The private lives of Jordan and Courtney's parents offer their own unique brand of suspense to the plot. In addition, an underlying thread of the plot involves continued references to the use of MySpace, which is sure to be an attention-grabber for teen readers.
Barnholdt created the book with alternating chapters. In Jordan's chapters he tells his version of the story before, during, and after the trip, and Courtney does the same in her chapters. This unique style allows readers to sort of "read between the lines" of the breakup. The characters are dealing with secrets they feel must not be revealed. The resulting tension and hard feelings created by the secrets will have readers rooting first for Jordan and then for Courtney. Also try K S Michaels for a great read as well.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I am surprised at the number of people who "just loved" this book...

Throughout this whole entire book I was slapping my hand against my forehead. I found some of the characters to be shallow, and the way the writer went about writing it just seemed kind of like a bad joke in which you have to force a laugh. One of the main characters, C...
Throughout this whole entire book I was slapping my hand against my forehead. I found some of the characters to be shallow, and the way the writer went about writing it just seemed kind of like a bad joke in which you have to force a laugh. One of the main characters, Courtney, I found to be incessantly annoying. She made my head hurt, and I feel like she was selfish and snobby. Jordan, her (ex?) mate on the trip kept trying to "talk thngs out" and be mature...but she ignored him and insisted that everything he had to say was not worth listening to. The author also repeats obvious writing techniques throughout the whole story, such as having a character think to themselves and speak aloud EXACTLY what they're thinking. Or having them say something...and then having another character repeat the SAME EXACT THING as if they're magically thinking the same thought, not even changing the wording of the two similar cognitions. And, need I mention the UNNECESSARY use of ALL CAPITAL LETTERS for multiple words in the story, when an exclamation point (!) or even italics could've done the job just fine. In addition, to writing flaws, I think the author could stand to expand her vocabulary an inch...I can't tell you how many times I saw the word "exasperated." Finally, the story was predictable. From the first chapter, I could tell what this was about, and how everything was going to unfold. Maybe it's just me, but a predictable stroy is not a "great" one.

On the bookshelf, the book looks pretty interesting. I mean, hey, how often do you hear about a recently broken up couple going on a road trip...just the two of them....in the same car? However, between all of the dramatic, aggravating characters, and duplicated writing tendencies during the story...I really found it hard to recognize this "novel" as a
"great" book.

posted by 1247073 on April 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    TAP HERE!!!

    This book sounds really good. should i buy it? Is it innapropriate for 12 year-olds and under? PLEASE REPLY!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    This book wasn't to bad but a little over-dramatic?

    This book wasn't to bad but a little over-dramatic?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    it wasn't a really great book but it was a nice reading

    it wasn't a really great book but it was a nice reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good

    Its a good book. Maybe to much swearing for my taste but overall it had a great plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Decent...

    The+book+focused+on+tons+of+flashbacks+that+caused+me+to+have+conflicting+feelings+about+the+couple.+It+ends+well%2C+but+leaves+you+thinking+the+couple+is+just+like+every+other+one+in+the+media+made+up+romance+world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read!

    Courtney is headed off to college. She ends up having to take the trip from Florida to college in Boston with her ex-boyfriend. They had a bad breakup (he dumped her for a girl on Myspace) and she is absolutely dreading it. She is still in love with him, but tries to do everything in her power not to let him know that she still cares. This proves to be quite difficult and they butt heads through out the trip.

    Jordan, on the other hand, still loves Courtney too. He can't tell her though because of a stupid secret he has been keeping from her. He wants to be with her, but if he thinks that if he tells her that she is going to hate him even more.

    When to story begins we see it from Courtney's point of view in the present. As the story progresses we see things in her ex boyfriend Jordan's point of view. It hops back and forth from past to present so we can see how their relationship began and ended and everything in between. I love stories that are told in dual points of view. That way you are never left wondering what the other character is thinking.

    I really loved the story and the whole concept of the book. The only thing that I really didn't like about the book was the ending. I didn't care for it at all. It basically left everything unanswered for me. I am still going to give the book 3.5 stars because I loved all the other content. Just not the ending so much. I don't know if there is a sequel out there now or if there will be, but I sure hope so. Everything was left too unresolved for me. I loved the characters so much and I really want to know exactly how things ended up for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    So so

    I disliked this book.It was very strange and confusing and Jordan and Courtney's romance was confusing as well.Lauren Barnholdt's original ideas were interesting,especially how Jordan made up the"Internet Girl"-a fraudulent girl he claimed he'd met on the Internet-and broke up with Courtney because of it,but I don't like how she put them into words.The book doesn't even state whether they get back together or not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    good book just wouldnt want to buy it

    i really did like this book.i had read the reviews and was really excited about getting it, however i am very glad i did not buy it. its one of those books thats better off being checked out at your local library. everything about the book was really good except for the ending i thought it ended a little to quickly it seemed by the end of the book that the author got bored with it or something so the ending was a little rushed. there were to many unresolved issues at the end i really wanted to know more about what happened with courtney and jordan and with other issues in the book. i will say that i did laugh alot in the book and there are parts that make your heart break for the two characters jordan is definitly my favorite character he is the type of guy every girl wishes they could find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Road Tripping Teens

    Two Way Street was a cute and quick read. As a member of the audience that is far older than Barnholdt's target I was pleased that it kept me entertained despite the fact that my own relationship experience gave me a much different perspective of Jordan and Courtney's situation.

    Barnholdt wrote her teenage characters with great clarity and in a most believable way. The jock wasn't too dumb, the brain too smart, and their friends were the right combination of comic relief and supportive sounding board. The situations they found themselves in for the most part were high school oriented (parties, dates, etc.) and showcased in a realistic light.

    I did, however, have a small problem with the idea that Courtney's parents made her go on a cross-country road trip with Jordan despite their break up. I found that somewhat unbelievable. I doubt a parent would add to an already stressful situation (going off to college for the first time) by requiring their child to travel with a former boy/girlfriend. Having said that, I was able to over look that aspect to enjoy the different situations Jordan and Courtney were put into. I was able to compartmentalize the parental issue, as it really was what drove the overarching plot.

    The strength of Two Way Street lies in the author's ability to write the story from both Jordan and Coutrney's viewpoint. Going back and forth in time as well as character viewpoint is no small task and Barnholdt did so without confusing the reader. Unique visual prompts allowed us to know where we were in the story and with whom thus making it easy to follow.

    Two Way Street was a good look into the minds of teenagers as they manage to navigate the relationships in their lives, become distinct individuals, and mature into adulthood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting . . a what would you do if you were in her shoes type of book.

    I enjoyed this book for so many reasons. I am very picky about the books I buy and if it is something that I will keep within my book shelf I have to really like it. I read the synopsis and thought it was interesting from the beginning. The secret that the synopsis discussed was nothing I was expecting-that was a surprise. This book would have me think . .what would I do if I was in her shoes. This book had me laughing and really did protray the man's psychy. The way gals are as well-at least the main character. This is a book I would recommend. A read for fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3