Customer Reviews for

Two for Sorrow (Josephine Tey Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This One is a Miss

I recently read Nicola Upson's first novel, An Expert In Murder, which I liked a lot. So I ordered her next two novels, Angel With Two Faces, and Two for Sorrow. I thought them both much darker, depressing and more graphically violent than her first work. I felt the vio...
I recently read Nicola Upson's first novel, An Expert In Murder, which I liked a lot. So I ordered her next two novels, Angel With Two Faces, and Two for Sorrow. I thought them both much darker, depressing and more graphically violent than her first work. I felt the violence was gratuitous, and detracted from the stories, I didn't finish Two For Sorrow, and ended up donating both of them to my local public library. If you want a really good mystery read, try the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear.

posted by 11597797 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mixed feelings

Nicola Upson is a great storyteller. But I have to wonder if she has a lesbian agenda? I was enjoying the story yet getting more disgusted as the Marta/ Josephine line continued. I would have liked to have been warned that there was a lesbian theme!

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    This One is a Miss

    I recently read Nicola Upson's first novel, An Expert In Murder, which I liked a lot. So I ordered her next two novels, Angel With Two Faces, and Two for Sorrow. I thought them both much darker, depressing and more graphically violent than her first work. I felt the violence was gratuitous, and detracted from the stories, I didn't finish Two For Sorrow, and ended up donating both of them to my local public library. If you want a really good mystery read, try the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where a historical murder and real life collide!

    They were the most horrific crimes of a new century: the murders of newborn innocents for which two British women were hanged at Holloway Prison in 1903. Decades later, mystery writer Josephine Tey has decided to write a novel based on Amelia Sach and Annie Walters, the notorious, "Finchley baby farmers," unaware that her research will entangle her in the desperate hunt for a modern-day killer.

    A young seamstress-an ex-convict determined to reform-has been found brutally slain in the studio of Tey's friends, the Motley sisters, amid preparations for a star-studded charity gala. Despite initial appearances, Inspector Archie Penrose is not convinced this murder is the result of a long-standing domestic feud - and a horrific accident involving a second young woman soon after supports his convictions. Now he and his friend Josephine must unmask a sadistic killer before more blood flows - as the repercussions of unthinkable crimes of the past reach out to destroy those left behind long after justice has been served.

    In the latest mystery by Nicola Upson, Two for Sorrow, takes the readers into two different story lines. One is the story that Josephine has been researching on the Finchley baby farmers that were hanged in 1903. Found guilty of offering pregnant women alternatives to keeping their babies, they were accused of killing those babies instead of finding viable adoptive parents who were willing to adopt or purchase unwanted babies. The reader takes a journey as Josephine begins to write her book based on a true life mystery based on the facts she gleans from meeting with people who were present at the time the women were hanged. Amelia Sach's believed she was innocent even as she went to the gallows.

    Now however in the midst of writing this book and researching more information on baby farming, a reformed woman prisoner from Holloway prison is found murdered. What connection does she have with the baby farmers and how far is the killer willing to go to make sure that justice is served in their minds.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Mixed feelings

    Nicola Upson is a great storyteller. But I have to wonder if she has a lesbian agenda? I was enjoying the story yet getting more disgusted as the
    Marta/
    Josephine line continued. I would have liked to have been warned that there was a lesbian theme!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a taut psychological thriller with a great whodunit investigation

    In the 1930s in London, mystery writer and playwright Josephine Tey is drafting her latest manuscript based on the 1903 state executions by hanging of two midwifes Amelia Sach and Annie Walters convicted of running a baby mill. Tey's former teacher Celia Bannerman was one of the two warders assigned to stay with Sach from the time of her conviction until her execution. Celia assists Tey on her research.

    Detective Inspector Archie Penrose investigates the brutal murder of a seamstress. His friend Tey, who he wants as his lover, believes her inquiry into the hangings three decades ago is related to the current homicide. Penrose fears an angry killer has just started and Tey and Bannerman are on the list for a de facto execution.

    The third Tey historical British mystery (see An Expert In Murder and Angel with Two Faces) is a taut psychological thriller with a great whodunit investigation. The excellent story line contains a book within a novel in which Nicola Upson smoothly moves back and forth while employing an insightful historiographical look from a 1930s perspective at 1903. With a late stunning twist enhancing the tale, fans will relish this engaging Depression Era thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    This is the most recent of a series of books featuring the myste

    This is the most recent of a series of books featuring the mystery writier, Josephine Tey, as a protagonist. Nocola Upson tries to weave elements of what we know about Tey's life, her books, and her life in the theater into new plot lines. The other one I read, "An Expert in Murder" was an OK read so I thought I would try another. This particular one involves a real-life situation where two women were hanged for what the English called "baby farming" - taking newborns, making the mothers believe they are being adopted and then killing them and keeping whatever monies have been paid to them. Upson takes the bones of this true story and has Tey reseaching it for a book, adds a "Miss Pym Disposes" incident and several cases of what I will call "mistaken" or "false" identity and makes a messy stew. I guessed the killer about half way through, but not her true identity. That was sprung on the reader out of the blue, at least it seemed so to me.

    There is also a messy personal subplot romantic quadrangle with four of the characters: Marta, Lydia, Tey and Archie Penrose. It matters not to me if, in real life, Tey was lesbian or bi-sexual, but this, like the main storyline, is messy and contrived. The one I feel sorry for is Archie who knows the fictional Tey's sexual confusion and need for privacy and solitude and is so very patient.

    I almost stopped reading three or four times, but got caught up is trying to see if I were correct about the killer's identity and wondering what plot twist Upson would thow at us next but I don't think I will read any more books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Ivyheart

    She stumbled in, collapsing in the moss. She sobbed uncontrollably.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Gg

    =^-,-^=

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    highly recommend

    A good story, keeps you guessing until the very end. Surprise ending for sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Mistkit

    Jungle

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Opalsong

    Good

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was very disappointed in this book. The story was slow and pl

    I was very disappointed in this book. The story was slow and plodding. In fact, I skimmed the last 75 pages just to find out "who did it". I will not buy another book by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1