BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tyger Tyger (The Goblin Wars Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Action-packed first in series

    TYGER TYGER, by Kersten Hamilton, is the first in The Goblin Wars series. Hamilton starts this series off with action and suspense that made me dizzy with excitement for the continuation of the story! Hamilton's re-imagination of Celtic mythology with the addition of the Sídhe made a dangerous, but fantastic combination that turned into a remarkable story. I absolutely fell in love with Hamilton's creativity and combination of elements of folklore and fantasy.

    I actually loved every character written, even the bad ones if you can believe it. Each character had his/her own thing to make him/her stand out. Aiden absolutely stole my heart. He was the most adorable little brother that I have ever read and he was actually a huge part of the journey. And I actually wanted to jump in the pages and steal Abby. She was seriously the best friend, albeit untrusting of Finn and the situations that he thrust upon her buddy, Teagan. I loved the references to her stereotypical Mafioso family members and psychic abilities. Even Maimeo, the kick-butt grandmother, and Raynor, the brave protector, became very dear to me in Teagen's travels to Mag Mell. And I shall not forget our two leads, Teagan and Finn. Teagan had a great head on her shoulders and did not let Finn's immediate attraction to her cloud her mind. Finn was definitely swoon-worthy. He got points for being physically attractive and brave in his attempts to keep Aiden and Teagen safe.

    During their travels to Mag Mell, Hamilton showed the nastier side of the Sídhe. The creatures that they trio faced were not humanized at all, they would kill and maim if necessary. It was interesting getting a new view of this folklore. Overall this was a great start to the series. It was action-packed, fantastical, with a bit of teen romance thrown in. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Good

    I enjoed this episode, but since the series is plainly moving into the arena of soppy teenage romance, I won't be reading any further in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    OMG

    Stop telling everyone what its about! This book is amazing! Ignor the bad reveiws. Its great! It ain't like twlight but it is a love/adventure story. Opps! I should stop before I give anything away! Its awesome!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Don't Walk, Run to the Store!

    Teagan Wylltson's life has always been a little strange. Whether her best friend, Abby, is rambling about goblin paintings coming alive or she is signing to a moody ape. Even her family is strange with her Irish mother and human-recorder brother who knows every lyric to every song and is terrified of Elvis impersonators. But when mysterious Finn comes to live with her family her strange never seemed so normal. Teagan is seeing shadows and creatures from the corner of her eye, that magically disappear when she focuses on them. Then she catches Finn leaving in the middle of the night saying he never should have come and brought them here. Teagan, unsure of what he's talking about, lets him go. But when a terrible tragedy hits her family she begins to put the clues together and falls into the very world Finn tried to keep her from.

    The Good: This book was AH-MAY-ZING I loved every single second. The romance was steamy without being soppy and controlling the plot or even being a big focus. I don't know why this book didn't get more publicity because it was so good. At the beginning the characters just draw you in. They are hilarious and they continue to be throughout the whole story. I found myself smiling often and even laughing out loud a few times. Even the minor character, some with only a line or two, were memorable. Author found just small ways to make the book a bit odd or funny that really stood out as unique. Then once the action picks up it just keeps going and going.

    The Bad: The book was filled with stories of mythology and fantasy. These sometimes got to be a bit confusing with hard to pronounce names and lengthy paragraphs. For me when I come to a name I don't know or is hard to pronounce I just skim it. Well when there were multiple people with weird names it was hard to keep everything straight. The stories while were interesting were also distracting from the action though they were completely relevant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The goblins are coming!

    Teagan Wylltson thinks her friend, Abby is joking. But Abby swears that she's psychic. And she's dreamed that horrifying creatures - goblins, shape-shifters, shadows, and beings of unearthly beauty but terrible cruelty - are hunting her friend.

    Abby is always coming up with crazy stuff, though, so Teagan isn't worried. Her life isn't in danger. In fact, it's perfect. She's on track for a college scholarship. She has a great job. She's focused on school, work, and her future. No boys, no heartaches, no problems.

    Until Finn Mac Cumhaill arrives.

    Finn's a bit on the unearthly beautiful side himself. He has a killer accent and a knee-weakening smile. And either he's crazy or he's been haunting Abby's dream, because he's talking about goblins too...and about being the Mac Cumhaill, born to fight all goblin-kind.

    Finn has survived alone on the streets since he was twelve, so he knows a thing or two about fighting. Which is a very good thing, because this time, Abby's right.

    The goblins are coming. (Excerpt from back cover)

    My Review:

    The story telling and writing style form this author seems a little disconnected at first. It took several chapters of character development and background to really get moving for me. I did like the book once it kicked into 3rd gear after about chapter 5 to really get interesting. Once hooked though, it takes you to a magical world filled with wonder, mystery and intrigue. I would like to continue reading the Goblin War Series books if the characters and plot catches you earlier within the first 3 chapters.
    Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton, is definitely geared for a young adults read! The imagination of the author takes you into a different story unlike any that are out in the market today. The Celtic History telling and mythology from the time tells about Goblins and the old world of Ireland which is very interesting. I am going to pass this onto our children to see how they like it. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars due to the first few chapters just seemed to be a little hard to get through as you learn about the main female, her friends and a mysterious stranger that comes to live with her family.

    I received this book compliments of Kersten Hamilton personally for my honest review and can't wait to read the next in this series of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Good

    Really. Follows some of the myths of the fae.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite books and series

    I wish that I could write every character’s name down as my favorite. Kersten Hamilton is fantastic at creating diverse personalities and implementing them throughout the book, adding hilarity as well as a sense of realism to a plot filled with goblins, curses, and chaos.

    I wasn’t sure if I’d ever like a book with goblins in it, but I know that I love books that take old legends and twist them into a modern plot. I’ve never heard much about Irish tales, and Ms. Hamilton explains in the author’s note that she’s changed much to fit in with the story, but I adore when things of legend are taken in a realistic way.

    I actually started to read this quite some time ago, liked it but couldn’t get into it, and then started re-reading it two days ago. I was so captivated, I couldn’t put it down! I think it was just my earlier mindset that prevented me from enjoying this novel. Tyger Tyger had me immediately flipping the pages to see what would happen next!

    Most YA books contain some ounce of romance, and this book is no different on that account. But what I especially liked was that nothing was rushed. Teagan has her own goals in life and doesn’t want a relationship to stand in her way, and Finn won’t pressure her into having something more between them. It was a pleasure to read about two wonderfully defined characters both caring for each other and at the same time thinking for themselves.

    Though at times there were so many different characters in a scene my head could barely retain all of them, Tyger Tyger is one of the better fantasy books I’ve read lately. I’m glad to see that there will be a sequel In the Forest of the Night, set to come out in October. Much too long of a wait! I’ll be counting the days. I give this novel 5/5 stars and recommend it for any YA or fantasy fan, or anyone who’d love to read about goblins and folklore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    A GREAT READ

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! It had everything that I want in a book. It has goblins, the fair folk, a little bit of romance, suspense, comedy and a teenage heroine that is NOT a whiney, self-absorbed brat! I applaud the author Kersten Hamilton on her first YA novel which in my humble opinion is a great start to a promising career in this genre and I wish her the greatest success.


    I adored the characters; I appreciate how she took time to make them seem “real”. I also enjoyed the interaction between them all. The only character I didn’t like was the bad guy. My favourite character was Aiden, he’s such a sweetie. I wish he were a real person because I’d smother him in hugs.


    I appreciated that Hamilton took her time building the characters, the plot and the settings because it was easy to follow along. She gave just the right amount of attention to detail without going overboard. Well, except in one instance where she went into graphic detail about Teagan (the heroine) drooling and having snot on the back of her love interests shirt. *SHUDDER* I can handle blood and gore but snot and drool count me out!


    Anyways, back to the story. Teagan is an animal lover who wants to go to Cornell and won’t let anything get in the way of those plans. Especially not a boy. That is until her cousin Finn comes to live with them. He isn’t her blood cousin (thank goodness) but he does make her teenage heart go pitter patter. Finn is the son of Teagan’s mother Aileen’s “brother”. Finn is an Irish Traveler who has been on his own since he was 12 years old.


    Not long after Finn comes to stay with Teagan’s family he helps defend a friend of the family, A boy named Lennie who is a 6 year old trapped in the body of an 18 year old. That night Lennie’s mother come over to thank Finn and makes the family dinner, while this is happening Aileen is struck with inspiration for a book (she’s a writer and illustrator or children’s books). She grabs a pen and begins writing down her idea when Aiden spots a “shadow man” reach over and touch his mother. No one thinks too much of this except Finn, who decides to run away.


    The next day Aileen feels ill and gets sent to the hospital, where she slips into a coma and dies three days later. A few months go by and nothing happens. Until one day when her father fails to show up for a meeting with a social worker. She goes looking for him with Aiden and Finn shoes up out of the blue looking even more rugged than before.


    They find their way into Mag Mell an alternate dimension. This is where the real action lays and since I don’t want to give too much more of the book away let me say that this is where the Cat Sidhe, Sprites, Goblins and the Fair Folk come into play.


    So we follow the trio Aiden, Finn and Teagan as they fight to get her father back from the villain’s evil clutches. After a startling revelation Teagan learns about her mother’s past and her future. .. This book is filled with twists and turns. Its action packed and in my opinion one of the best books I have read all year and in my opinion one of the best books I have read all year. I cannot wait for my copy of the second book in the series to come in at the library. This is one author to look out for in the future which is why I gave this book 5 stars.


    I highly recommend this book to anyone at all. I think it will be a favourite of those who like YA fantasy novels and Irish folklore. GO READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Halfway through this I realized none of the characters were inte

    Halfway through this I realized none of the characters were interesting enough to continue reading about, which is a shame because I did want to like this book. The story itself isn't too bad but it shares the same blandness with its characters.

    I don't know about you, but I find "Tea" as a moniker slightly irritating--especially if you get sidetracked by its other meaning whenever it comes up. I'll just refer to her as Teagan so I don't get the urge to make myself a cuppa.

    The beginning of Tyger Tyger is promising and surprised a few laughs out of me. Teagan is a funny and engaging narrator. Unfortunately as soon as Finn becomes a permanent fixture in the story, Teagan becomes invisible in the dialogue between Finn and Aiden, her little brother.

    This is a very sore point for me because I'm all for strong and independent heroines; as well as being invisible, Teagan relies on Finn to save Aiden and her whenever they're in danger from the goblins. She never takes the initiative herself. Maybe this changes later on, but I don't think I want to find out because right now I can't get over how demeaning the story is to Teagan.

    The mythology is passably interesting but as the book wore on it came to the point where I was forcing myself to try to remember details here and there. At that point I realized that if they weren't interesting enough to remember, then it wasn't worth finishing.

    The writing style is better suited to a contemporary novel instead of soft fantasy. It works great in the beginning because the element of magic hasn't been introduced yet but afterwards turns stilted and awkward.

    Overall, Tyger Tyger is a disappointing read that fails to live up to its great beginning. I'm sure for some people it's right up their alley, but it just couldn't hold my attention.

    Advance reader copy provided courtesy of Netgalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Slightly Disappointing

    When I discovered that this book was about goblins, I just had to read it. Finally, a book that wasn't about vampires. But, the story did not live up to my expectations. The only two characters that stood out were Aiden, Teagan's little brother, and Abby, Teagan's best friend. I am actually kind of surprised that Abby does not have a bigger role in the book. She is the one who has the dream about the goblins, yet she does not get to take part in the adventure. The other characters were pretty flat. The stories that were told within this book got a bit confusing, making it hard to keep track of which persons did what. There was not enough action in the book, and I had to push myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting!

    This book made me not want to stop reading even when I got home at one in the morning from a four hour trip, I couldn't put it down! It keeps you on your toes and wanting more. I won't say much about the actually book becasue I want people to read it!! You'll love it, even if your not a goblin person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Good book

    So Abby really was right, the goblins have arrived. They have taken Teagan's father so Teagan, Finn, and Aiden must go into Mag Mel. While they are there they find out a lot more about Teagan and her brother than they really wanted to know. Who their mother really was and why she wanted to escape Mag Mel. Aiden makes a friend out of a little Sprite who comes in handy some times and gets hooked on chocolate. Not everyone is bad in this new world but its hard to trust anyone as they fear the Dark Man.

    Teagan, wants a lot out of life, she is studying really hard in school. She has a after school/summer job working with animals. When Finn comes to stay and brings with him the goblins her whole world is turned upside down, but she keeps it together pretty well. She has her weak, I want to cry moments but for the most part she keeps a level head. She makes for a great main character, I don't like weak female characters and she is not weak. She knows what she has to do and that she has to keep her little brother alive as well and she does it with minimal complaint.

    Finn is the Mac Cumhaill, the goblin hunter. His family are Irish travelers and he doesn't really have a actual home. His parents are dead and sometimes he stays with his Mamieo (grandmother), but mostly he is a wanderer. The only reason he comes to stay with his aunt Aileen is because he thought she knew about the goblins. He never meant to put her family in danger but when it happens he is a fighter. He will not let them fight alone and well I liked him.

    Aiden was probably my favorite. He is the little brother who loves to sing, but it comes in handy in Mag Mel. His singing can soothe the other world and open paths for them to take, and he is a walking GPS. He never gets lost even in a weird world. He is funny and lovable.

    There is only one thing that I didn't really understand in this book. At the beginning Abby is the one telling Teagan that she had a dream about goblins coming to get her. So why is it when Teagan tells Abby about the goblins having her father, she doesn't believer her? I know she can't see them or anything but she told her about that horrible dream so I just thought she might be more inclined to believer her.

    Over all if you like books about goblins, myths or fables I think you would like this book. Never been a huge fantasy reader but I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fresh and thrilling plot with awesome characters.

    I had my doubts about how much I would like this book, but I ended up loving it! From page one, I felt like I was taken on an adventure. Seriously. I tore through this book, needing to know what would happen next, but not wanting it to end. I was enthralled. The pacing was perfect, the plot refreshingly original; all I needed was about 20 more chapters, and I would have been the happiest reader alive. :)

    I enjoyed the way the author chose to open the book in the first chapter. It introduced Tea, the protagonist, in a unique way and showcased a lot of her personality, without giving a whole bunch of paragraphs of description. Along those same lines, the characterization rocked. It was full of family members and friends who are so eccentric, you love them; the younger brother who's quirks become endearing, the best friend who has mob connections, the long-lost cousin with an unknown past...they are all exciting, and very different than your average characters.

    One thing I didn't like, however, is when the best friend blatantly rejects the idea of mythical creatures existing that she, herself, had warned Tea about. I thought it was very out of character, especially since I was expecting a big "told you so" moment, or at least some recollection of her own adamant warning.

    Other than that, Tyger Tyger flows well. There was never a point where I felt like it was lacking in speed or excitement. The story wraps up most loose ends when it's finished, but it does leave off with a devastating tantalizing little cliff-hanger. I seem to remember the word 'no' coming from my mouth a few times, as I flipped the last page back and forth, trying to make the book tell me more. Kersten Hamilton did a great job weaving myth, history, and modern life together, to create a story that both frustrates and captivates...in a good way.

    Oh, and the guy? This one does not disappoint. Who doesn't love a guy with an Irish brogue, and a nice upper-cut?

    Needless to say, I am hooked on this series, and will be waiting anxiously for the next book. I highly suggest you read this book. Stat!

    This review was originally published on my blog: The Reading Fever
    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Original, clean, fun!

    I had my doubts about how much I would like this book, but I ended up loving it! From page one, I felt like I was taken on an adventure. Seriously. I tore through this book, needing to know what would happen next, but not wanting it to end. I was enthralled. The pacing was perfect, the plot refreshingly original; all I needed was about 20 more chapters, and I would have been the happiest reader alive. :)

    I enjoyed the way the author chose to open the book in the first chapter. It introduced Tea, the protagonist, in a unique way and showcased a lot of her personality, without giving a whole bunch of paragraphs of description. Along those same lines, the characterization rocked. It was full of family members and friends who are so eccentric, you love them; the younger brother who's quirks become endearing, the best friend who has mob connections, the long-lost cousin with an unknown past...they are all exciting, and very different than your average characters.

    One thing I didn't like, however, is when the best friend blatantly rejects the idea of mythical creatures existing that she, herself, had warned Tea about. I thought it was very out of character, especially since I was expecting a big "told you so" moment, or at least some recollection of her own adamant warning.

    Other than that, Tyger Tyger flows well. There was never a point where I felt like it was lacking in speed or excitement. The story wraps up most loose ends when it's finished, but it does leave off with a devastating tantalizing little cliff-hanger. I seem to remember the word 'no' coming from my mouth a few times, as I flipped the last page back and forth, trying to make the book tell me more. Kersten Hamilton did a great job weaving myth, history, and modern life together, to create a story that both frustrates and captivates...in a good way.

    Oh, and the guy? This one does not disappoint. Who doesn't love a guy with an Irish brogue, and a nice upper-cut?

    Needless to say, I am hooked on this series, and will be waiting anxiously for the next book. I highly suggest you read this book. Stat!

    Disclaimer: I was provided with a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Modern Day Faerie Tale (without the fey)

    Tyger Tyger follows the adventure of Teagan, her brother, Aiden, and Finn into Mag Mell to rescue Teagan's father from Fear Doirich, the goblin king. That's basically the gist of the whole story. Hamilton put together a wonderful story. The mythology was well crafted/researched. It really brought the story to life. However, I felt that there were just so many names and places that I could barely pronounce that I found myself having to reread certain parts to get the back story correct. I did like how Hamilton incorporated the Gaelic phrases. Finn's dialogue was interesting to read. He was confident in everything he did-from fighting to flirting. His character was a bit flat though. I just didn't get that spark of a three dimensional character from him. I didn't feel that he was real. In fact, most of the characters didn't seem that three dimensional. Since this is the first book in a series, I'm really hoping Hamilton explores them more. Although I really liked Aiden and his singing ability. It made for some very funny moments, especially in Mag Mell (Kiss the Girl scene-wish he kept singing). Oh, and Ms. Skinner, a very obscure character, made me so angry, she needs to get a life instead of trying to control and judge others'.
    I was a bit frustrated at how both Teagan and Finn have the whole love-at-first-sight moment, then Finn goes away for a while, and she's not upset. What bothers me is that they barely had a conversation and he's in love with her. Also, throughout the book there aren't any serious romantic moments-there are a few cute ones, though. Also, Abby, Teagan's best friend, kept warning Teagan about how the goblins are coming for her in the beginning, but then when they finally do show up, Abby doesn't believe her.
    Tyger Tyger is like a modern day fairy tale-without the fey. It was a good book. Hamilton included Irish folklore, religion, goblins, and a really cool car chase in her novel. That car chase was very fun to read- most of the books I read don't include one so that was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very exciting read!

    I had heard a lot of good things about this novel before I read it. I'm a big fan of fantasy so I was eager to read this novel as well. Tyger, Tyger is based on Irish folklore. I'm not too familiar with it but I enjoyed learning about it through Kersten Hamilton's words. This story is centered around Teagen, a teenage girl who has her life planned out. She is entirely focused on what she wants in life and how's she's going to get it. I really liked Teagen's character development through out this book. She starts off as a over confident girl whose world is turned upside down when she realized nothing is as she thought. She has to find her inner strength and get her confidence back with the help of Finn Mac Cumhaill. Finn is a bit of mystery. He lost his parents at an early age and has been a nomad ever since. He comes to stay with Teagen's family. There is an instant attraction between him and Teagen. I have to tell you I have a thing for accents and Finn being Irish was definitely a plus in this book. His character is charming and intriguing. Finn and Teagan have to work together to save her family from the goblins. They find some interesting help along the way including Abby and Mamieo. Abby is Teagen's best friend. I love her character. She made me laugh out loud several times. Mamieo is Teagen and Aiden's grandmother. She is a lively woman who you wouldn't want to mess around with.
    Tyger, Tyger is an enjoyable book to read. The story line is fantastic. It is fast paced and exciting. It's full of Irish legends and adventure. I love that Kersten Hamilton included a bit of romance but it isn't the main story. There are also a couple of plot twists that I found very interesting. Kersten Hamilton has written many books for young children, however I would recommend this book for teens because of some violence and some language. Tyger, Tyger is the first book in the Goblin Wars series. The next book, In The Forest of the Night comes out October 3, 2011. I'm really looking forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Holly Owen for TeensReadToo

    Who would have thought goblins could look like Abercrombie models? Certainly not Teagan Wylltson. She'd grown up listening to her father retell Irish tales of fierce creatures and ancient curses, and watched her mother transform canvases into monstrous trees and water goblins who like to drown travelers in bogs. To Tea, goblins were foul, loathsome things. Apparently, looks can be deceiving. With boys strictly sworn off and college acceptance number one on her agenda, Tea is unwittingly pulled smack into the middle of a family crisis, bringing her face-to-face with nightmarish ghouls and a dangerous cousin, Finn Mac Cumhaill. Even with the warnings from her best friend, Abby, Tea cannot ignore the magnetic attraction she has to Finn. But Tea needs to stay focused, especially when she suddenly finds herself sole caretaker of her younger brother, Aiden, whose special gifts seem to be making themselves extremely useful. In TYGER TYGER, you'll find macabre fantasy swirled with the soul searchings of a teenage girl. Crafting each scene with visual details, Kersten Hamilton weaves a complex story, combining legend with modern day. She pulls her readers in with intriguing characters and engaging action, luring us further as she deepens the relationship between our heroine and the reckless yet enchanting hero. Tea, Finn, and young Aiden, with the help of cunning zombie cats, shadowy soul-stealers, and a green-skinned water goblin, coax us into Mag Mell, the magic world of the goblins, where they walk a musical path and discover long hidden family secrets - one which threatens to smother the fiery connection between Tea and Finn. Your bookmark won't stay long in one place with this dangerously enticing tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    ...did not burn so bright

    I want to begin by saying that Tyger Tyger is an interesting read. It's not entirely cookie-cutter and I appreciate that aspect. That said, though, I finished this book feeling absolutely unfulfilled.

    The beginning of the book talks of Teagan's work with CIndy the chimp. There's of course no mention of the chimpanzee in the middle because of all the "action" happening, but then we return to her.only for it to end with no real explanation of what the purpose of the relationship was to begin with. It seems the entire situation was just filler.

    My favorite character by far was Aiden, Teagan's little brother. His magical singing ability was entirely fun and he was just too cute for words as a supporting character. Finn was likable, for the most part, and his superior fighting abilities were cleverly worked in. I still, though, don't really know how to feel about Teagan herself.

    The Irish folklore was fun to read about, and the -idea- of goblins was interesting. However, I felt like the folklore was there as a prop and to me the goblins did not seem like much more than creepy fairies.

    In general, the uneven pacing of the book, the forced (and massive) introduction of information at the beginning, and the lackluster writing quality really dampened my enjoyment of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Awesomeness

    I haven't finifshed it, but good for Percy Jackson readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Please don't feed these goblins!

    Amazing dive into Celtic mythology that definitely left me aching for more! Tyger Tyger was such an unexpected delight that I am surprised that I waited so long to finally read it! Right from the start, Teagan is such a fascinating character - and her family and best friend seem just as colorful! I mean, how cool is it that she gets to talk to chimps via sign language? Super-awesome! And I really adore her family - her father and his quirky bookish humor; her little brother who hates Elvis impersonators; her mother who writes and illustrates children's books! Unfortunately the goblins soon take over the story - and pretty much turns Tea's world upside-down and wreaks havoc on her family, work, and nearly everything normal in her life. Tyger Tyger has such a richness in its story that will resonate with anyone who loves a good mythology. Kersten Hamilton's writing captured the very essence of all things Irish in my opinion (not that I am Irish by any means), all beautiful and mysterious and achingly, dangerously heart-breaking. The story kept me on my toes and I can't count how many times I held my breath in fear for Teagan, Finn, and company! I was surprised at all the different places Tyger Tyger took us, but it was hard to mind since I was too wrapped up in all the excitement! Tyger Tyger is a definite WIN - and I hope that we get to see more of this gorgeous world that Ms. Hamilton has dreamed up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3