Customer Reviews for

Tyger Tyger (The Goblin Wars Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Action-packed first in series

    TYGER TYGER, by Kersten Hamilton, is the first in The Goblin Wars series. Hamilton starts this series off with action and suspense that made me dizzy with excitement for the continuation of the story! Hamilton's re-imagination of Celtic mythology with the addition of the Sídhe made a dangerous, but fantastic combination that turned into a remarkable story. I absolutely fell in love with Hamilton's creativity and combination of elements of folklore and fantasy.

    I actually loved every character written, even the bad ones if you can believe it. Each character had his/her own thing to make him/her stand out. Aiden absolutely stole my heart. He was the most adorable little brother that I have ever read and he was actually a huge part of the journey. And I actually wanted to jump in the pages and steal Abby. She was seriously the best friend, albeit untrusting of Finn and the situations that he thrust upon her buddy, Teagan. I loved the references to her stereotypical Mafioso family members and psychic abilities. Even Maimeo, the kick-butt grandmother, and Raynor, the brave protector, became very dear to me in Teagen's travels to Mag Mell. And I shall not forget our two leads, Teagan and Finn. Teagan had a great head on her shoulders and did not let Finn's immediate attraction to her cloud her mind. Finn was definitely swoon-worthy. He got points for being physically attractive and brave in his attempts to keep Aiden and Teagen safe.

    During their travels to Mag Mell, Hamilton showed the nastier side of the Sídhe. The creatures that they trio faced were not humanized at all, they would kill and maim if necessary. It was interesting getting a new view of this folklore. Overall this was a great start to the series. It was action-packed, fantastical, with a bit of teen romance thrown in. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Good

    I enjoed this episode, but since the series is plainly moving into the arena of soppy teenage romance, I won't be reading any further in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The goblins are coming!

    Teagan Wylltson thinks her friend, Abby is joking. But Abby swears that she's psychic. And she's dreamed that horrifying creatures - goblins, shape-shifters, shadows, and beings of unearthly beauty but terrible cruelty - are hunting her friend.

    Abby is always coming up with crazy stuff, though, so Teagan isn't worried. Her life isn't in danger. In fact, it's perfect. She's on track for a college scholarship. She has a great job. She's focused on school, work, and her future. No boys, no heartaches, no problems.

    Until Finn Mac Cumhaill arrives.

    Finn's a bit on the unearthly beautiful side himself. He has a killer accent and a knee-weakening smile. And either he's crazy or he's been haunting Abby's dream, because he's talking about goblins too...and about being the Mac Cumhaill, born to fight all goblin-kind.

    Finn has survived alone on the streets since he was twelve, so he knows a thing or two about fighting. Which is a very good thing, because this time, Abby's right.

    The goblins are coming. (Excerpt from back cover)

    My Review:

    The story telling and writing style form this author seems a little disconnected at first. It took several chapters of character development and background to really get moving for me. I did like the book once it kicked into 3rd gear after about chapter 5 to really get interesting. Once hooked though, it takes you to a magical world filled with wonder, mystery and intrigue. I would like to continue reading the Goblin War Series books if the characters and plot catches you earlier within the first 3 chapters.
    Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton, is definitely geared for a young adults read! The imagination of the author takes you into a different story unlike any that are out in the market today. The Celtic History telling and mythology from the time tells about Goblins and the old world of Ireland which is very interesting. I am going to pass this onto our children to see how they like it. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars due to the first few chapters just seemed to be a little hard to get through as you learn about the main female, her friends and a mysterious stranger that comes to live with her family.

    I received this book compliments of Kersten Hamilton personally for my honest review and can't wait to read the next in this series of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Good

    Really. Follows some of the myths of the fae.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Good book

    So Abby really was right, the goblins have arrived. They have taken Teagan's father so Teagan, Finn, and Aiden must go into Mag Mel. While they are there they find out a lot more about Teagan and her brother than they really wanted to know. Who their mother really was and why she wanted to escape Mag Mel. Aiden makes a friend out of a little Sprite who comes in handy some times and gets hooked on chocolate. Not everyone is bad in this new world but its hard to trust anyone as they fear the Dark Man.

    Teagan, wants a lot out of life, she is studying really hard in school. She has a after school/summer job working with animals. When Finn comes to stay and brings with him the goblins her whole world is turned upside down, but she keeps it together pretty well. She has her weak, I want to cry moments but for the most part she keeps a level head. She makes for a great main character, I don't like weak female characters and she is not weak. She knows what she has to do and that she has to keep her little brother alive as well and she does it with minimal complaint.

    Finn is the Mac Cumhaill, the goblin hunter. His family are Irish travelers and he doesn't really have a actual home. His parents are dead and sometimes he stays with his Mamieo (grandmother), but mostly he is a wanderer. The only reason he comes to stay with his aunt Aileen is because he thought she knew about the goblins. He never meant to put her family in danger but when it happens he is a fighter. He will not let them fight alone and well I liked him.

    Aiden was probably my favorite. He is the little brother who loves to sing, but it comes in handy in Mag Mel. His singing can soothe the other world and open paths for them to take, and he is a walking GPS. He never gets lost even in a weird world. He is funny and lovable.

    There is only one thing that I didn't really understand in this book. At the beginning Abby is the one telling Teagan that she had a dream about goblins coming to get her. So why is it when Teagan tells Abby about the goblins having her father, she doesn't believer her? I know she can't see them or anything but she told her about that horrible dream so I just thought she might be more inclined to believer her.

    Over all if you like books about goblins, myths or fables I think you would like this book. Never been a huge fantasy reader but I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very exciting read!

    I had heard a lot of good things about this novel before I read it. I'm a big fan of fantasy so I was eager to read this novel as well. Tyger, Tyger is based on Irish folklore. I'm not too familiar with it but I enjoyed learning about it through Kersten Hamilton's words. This story is centered around Teagen, a teenage girl who has her life planned out. She is entirely focused on what she wants in life and how's she's going to get it. I really liked Teagen's character development through out this book. She starts off as a over confident girl whose world is turned upside down when she realized nothing is as she thought. She has to find her inner strength and get her confidence back with the help of Finn Mac Cumhaill. Finn is a bit of mystery. He lost his parents at an early age and has been a nomad ever since. He comes to stay with Teagen's family. There is an instant attraction between him and Teagen. I have to tell you I have a thing for accents and Finn being Irish was definitely a plus in this book. His character is charming and intriguing. Finn and Teagan have to work together to save her family from the goblins. They find some interesting help along the way including Abby and Mamieo. Abby is Teagen's best friend. I love her character. She made me laugh out loud several times. Mamieo is Teagen and Aiden's grandmother. She is a lively woman who you wouldn't want to mess around with.
    Tyger, Tyger is an enjoyable book to read. The story line is fantastic. It is fast paced and exciting. It's full of Irish legends and adventure. I love that Kersten Hamilton included a bit of romance but it isn't the main story. There are also a couple of plot twists that I found very interesting. Kersten Hamilton has written many books for young children, however I would recommend this book for teens because of some violence and some language. Tyger, Tyger is the first book in the Goblin Wars series. The next book, In The Forest of the Night comes out October 3, 2011. I'm really looking forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Please don't feed these goblins!

    Amazing dive into Celtic mythology that definitely left me aching for more! Tyger Tyger was such an unexpected delight that I am surprised that I waited so long to finally read it! Right from the start, Teagan is such a fascinating character - and her family and best friend seem just as colorful! I mean, how cool is it that she gets to talk to chimps via sign language? Super-awesome! And I really adore her family - her father and his quirky bookish humor; her little brother who hates Elvis impersonators; her mother who writes and illustrates children's books! Unfortunately the goblins soon take over the story - and pretty much turns Tea's world upside-down and wreaks havoc on her family, work, and nearly everything normal in her life. Tyger Tyger has such a richness in its story that will resonate with anyone who loves a good mythology. Kersten Hamilton's writing captured the very essence of all things Irish in my opinion (not that I am Irish by any means), all beautiful and mysterious and achingly, dangerously heart-breaking. The story kept me on my toes and I can't count how many times I held my breath in fear for Teagan, Finn, and company! I was surprised at all the different places Tyger Tyger took us, but it was hard to mind since I was too wrapped up in all the excitement! Tyger Tyger is a definite WIN - and I hope that we get to see more of this gorgeous world that Ms. Hamilton has dreamed up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Black Fingernailed Reviews

    Well I think it's safe to say I have yet another series that I am now addicted to.


    Hamilton surprised me with her strange mix of Irish folk-lore with this modern story. I for one didn't know what to expect from Tyger Tyger, but what I did find I liked, A LOT.

    The characters were lovable, relatable, and cooky. Finn was a little corny sometimes.but it only made me love him all the more. Teagan and Finn's grandma! I really loved her! Who doesn't love a kick ass grandma?Abby, Abby, Abby, I never thought I'd relate to a shopaholic so greatly.

    And Teagan, despite the fact that I'm completely impractical I couldn't help but relate to your animal loving side. I seriously admire Hamilton's ability to appeal to my crazy-loving character. There is a great mix of personalities in the characters that makes it impossible to find the story boring.

    The plot was interesting and fun. I loved the goblin world with all its mysterious creatures and evil kings!


    My only fault with this book was that there was a gap in the middle were the plot fell flat. It was a little dry for a chapter or two before it picked back up again. When it did pick back up though, the characters were thrust into this chase to find their father. So I guess I can't really complain much.

    The ending reassured me and I'm excited to see what the second book with have in-store.

    If you love reading about crazy-ish characters and strange (& sometimes ugly) creatures, you should definitely check this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Original and interesting fantasy!

    Really enjoyed this one! It's a little different mythology than I'm used to, and introduced me to some Irish legends as well. In this world, goblins are what I normally think of as fairies. No Unseelie or Seelie courts are mentioned, just the nasty goblins. I liked Kersten's take on fairy, as so many authors are in love with the beautiful fey, so it was refreshing to find someone who thought they weren't all that. ;)

    Teagan's mother was raised by Irish Travellers, but settled down with Teagan's father to raise a family. Everything is normal until cousin Finn shows up to stay with them, as the goblins have followed. Things begin to go wrong, and it's up to Teagan and Finn to set things right! And if they happen to catch each other's eye along the way.... well, these things happen.

    Gave this one a 4/5 as I really enjoyed it! Loved the characters, the plot was well paced and interesting, it's well written, and the author came up with an original idea. I highly recommend this one if you love original storylines and good fantasy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Irish/Celtic mythology meets modern-day Chicago

    A YA book with no sex, cursing, or drugs? How can THAT be entertaining?

    Read THIS YA book and you'll understand.

    There are some extremely funny passages that had me smiling as I read along, and it had a great lot of Irish/Celtic myth and folklore intertwined, which I found fascinating to read and learn about.

    The main protagonist is Teagan, whose best friend Abby, has been having some odd dreams involving Teagan, goblins, and other wee and not-so-wee beasties. Teagan has a wonderfully quirky family. Her mother illustrates children's books and has many paintings in the basement including sprites, spriggins, hookas, goblins and young girls in medieval dresses. Her little brother Aiden (the walking iPod and human GPS) is wonderfully precocious, and the love between her parents is obvious and wonderful. Her father is a librarian who often regales the family with tales of the siddh and other folklore and myth that we don't learn enough about in school.

    When Teagan's 'cousin' Finn shows up after a family tragedy, things take a turn and we find out that there's more to Mr. Wyllston's tales than myth. On a journey to save her father, Teagan, Finn and Aiden encounter many strange and mystical creatures, both good and bad, and Teagan finds out that there may be more to her parents than she initially thought.

    This is a wonderful YA book, even suitable for middle-graders, as the hints of romance are suitable for that age group, and I think even most adults, especially those with a love of myth and folklore, would find it very engaging. There's a great adventure afoot, and we meet many new characters, including villains, that we'd like to know more about. Since this is the first part in a series, I'm thinking that we will. Thankfully, the book ends on a satisfying note, and we're not left with a cliffhanger until the next one comes out.

    There is one spot in particular where I felt that the jump in time was a bit much, and that we didn't get a chance to see how Teagan dealt with something that would have deeply affected her, but other than that, I never found a spot that I didn't like.

    I really enjoyed this read, and I will be buying a hard copy for Not-So-Bebe Girl Autumn. My thanks go to the author for pointing me towards the galley.

    QUOTES (may differ slightly from the finished version, as these are from a galley):

    Abby nodded. "I'm totally psychotic. You know I am."
    The old man huddled in the corner threw a worried look at her.
    "Psychic. She means psychic," Teagan assured him, using her sweater to wipe the brown goo from the seal.
    "That's what i said. I should be working for the psychotic hotline, I swear."

    "Why don't you pray like normal people?" Abby asked. "'No pain, God. Lots of money. Thanks'"
    "Because we're Irish."

    "You though he was cute when you first saw him," Teagan said.
    "For, like, two minutes. Then I tried to melt him with holy water."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Sweet Read

    Have you ever had the feeling that you saw something from the corner of your eye but when you look, there's nothing there? In this book, the creatures are there - and they're dangerous!

    They look like any average American family: Mom, Dad, a girl and a boy. Dad is really into books. Mom paints gorgeous pictures of magical places that disturb some people. Teagan goes to high school and plans on being a veterinarian. Aiden is a young boy who loves to sing and is afraid of Elvis Impersonators. Their life is orderly and everyone is happy.

    Life is suddenly disrupted when a social worker comes to visit and informs them they are the only family members she's managed to locate for a young "feral" man who lives on the streets. His name is Finn and he's their nephew and if he hadn't broken his arm, they'd probably never have known about him about him at all. Mom has no hesitation about accepting him into the family. Teagan isn't so sure. She has a scholarship lined up and no boys in her life and she doesn't particularly want a new boy cousin.

    Finn moves in and life changes abruptly. Suddenly Teagan and her brother are seeing things from the corners of their eyes that ARE there. And they're not pleasant or nice things either.

    The major theme of this book is Celtic mythology, which generally had more dark characters than those of sweetness and light. The children are the main characters in this story and they are brave and strong, even if frightened. They know they have no choice, so they move forward and do what they have to do to save their father. There are various mythological creatures, the park holds a magical world, and some of the characters in Chicago are a bit weird, too.

    Goblins, sprites, angels, and even more creatures abound in this book. The action is fast paced and will make your heart race in some of the fight/flight scenes. And Finn and Teagan have a romantic interest between them that neither wants, but neither can let it go.

    This was a very good read. I enjoyed all the mythical creatures and how each person has some talent they can use to help overcome the bad situations. It reads fast and words flow well. The ending paragraphs in the book are excellent and tell me that this is just the first book in a series. I'll be watching for the sequel when it comes out!

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Change...

    It does not involve Vampires nor Werewolves. No Angels and Faeries come into play either. This time, one author took it to a whole new level and brought out a mythical creature that needed to be introduced on its own. Goblins. I am not only talking about those Goblins that are short humanoid creatures. I am talking about every type of Goblins you can imagine. From ones that look like cat breeds to the scariest most ugliest kind of Goblins imagined. There is so many and just finding them all is pretty interesting.


    But what exactly is there to this book aside from the Goblins? The story is about this girl Teagan who only wants to do well in life. The only thing she focuses on is the success of her future, her work, and her job. She does not have time for silly relationships, let alone adventures. And when her best friend Abby tells her that she had a prophetic dream about Goblins coming after her, she brushes it off as another crazy-Abby moment. But then everything changes.


    Finn Mac Cumhaill appeared at her front door. He has no where to go and with Teagan's mother being his aunt, he is automatically put under her care. And by care I mean bringing Goblins along with him to cause chaos in the perfect life Teagan had. A series of events begin to explode as if connected by a chain and before she knows it, Teagan is thrown into a world where not only is her life in danger, but everyone else's around her. On top of that, she has to travel to the Goblin world called Mag Mell, where she learns all about the Goblin's and their powers. But at least she has Finn, who by the way is a Goblin Hunter called The Mac Cumhaill, the only hunter of the Goblin's.


    Kersten Hamilton starts off the novel with a steady pace. Slow enough to have me understand who these characters are and what they are up to, yet fast enough to keep me interested and turning each page. I came into this novel expecting only Goblins and to be honest I only saw Harry Potter Gringotts Goblins, but I was a bit surprised and pleased when she began to mention the different types. It made me go oh! and want to find out more about these different types.


    Her writing style, I can safely say, is unique. I read an ARC version so there was a lot to edit and I know some will change, but from the overall writing, I am really pleased with her. Sometimes you just do not know what to expect when you meet new authors that you have never heard of. And Tyger Tyger being Hamilton's first YA novel, you sort of worry if it will be able to live up to its competition. But no need to worry because the way she mixes in the adventure with the narratives and adds the different ingredients of emotions is basically like traveling over smooth water.


    The characters all have their flaws. Some more than others but they are relatable. Some characters you begin to love like Abby and Teagan's brother Aiden, and others you begin to hate in a loving manner like Finn. Although it is not hate as in "I can't stand you!" way, it's more of a "You piss me off with the way you are." type of hate.


    They are all compatible with each other. Some authors have the problem where their characters do not fit in as a whole cast, but Hamilton's do. Every relationship is well thought out and well played and not overly dramatic. And for those of you wondering if this is any love type novel, it is not. Granted there are some moments in there but it is well constructed into bits and pieces enough to ke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Magically Entertaining

    Tyger Tyger is a great new addition in the fantasy world. Planted firmly in Irish lure, this book pulled me in from the very beginning. I really enjoyed the way the goblin world was created and how it was told in pieces through-out the book by the characters telling old Irish tales. It was a unique spin on the sidhe for me. I saw a lot of similarities to other sidhe lure, but a lot of new takes on it as well.

    I really think the characters and their relationships was what made this book so great for me. I loved that Teagan was such a put together young lady. Very focused on her future and goals. It was great to see a happy functional family, which is something I've been missing a lot lately in the YA genre. This is a kid who actually likes her little brother instead of thinking of him as a constant pest, and enjoys spending time with her parents. I think one of my favorite parts was when the family would work out the schedule after dinner where one of them reads out loud to the others while they cleaned up the kitchen. It may be something I pick up with my family!

    The rest of the cast was great as well. Tea's best friend Abby was a in-your-face, loyal to the very end, kind of girl. She was a lot of fun. Finn MacCumhaill was a super hot Irish boy (accent and all, YUM) who was strong and passionate and quite the gentlemen. Aiden, Teagan's little brother, was a smart and funny little boy. I'm really glad that he was included in the whole book and taken on the adventure too, instead of just left behind like in most stories. This was really great for me since my little brother is my best friend, and I definitely wouldn't have left him behind with some random sitter!!! Mamieo was another great addition, she was strong willed, but soft at heart, and I really enjoyed reading all of her conversations.

    Overall, this was an entertaining read that kept me guessing what would happen next. I enjoyed every minute of it and can't wait to see where Kersten Hamilton will take this series with the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    To be up front this book not only confused from the very beginning but was slow. It took a while before I started to get into it. I found myself backtracking trying to figure out what I miss. But alas I kept going and it wasn't bad after all.


    After Finn arrives everything goes south. Teagan is bombarded with trying to save the only family she has left and is fighting with everything that she has... She see's things that she is not suppose to see. With her father missing, it is up to her to bring him back...


    Finn is no ordinary guy. He strong yet cunning. He reminds me of Maguyver. Always fixing things with duct tape and very smart. He was a great character that I adored. Aiden, Teagan's brother was a breathe of fresh air. He would either say something shocking or something funny. He always had me on my tiptoes.


    The love interest in the book was one that I enjoyed. Right away Finn was hitting on Teagan and at first all I could think was how conceded the guy was. He was so confidant in his skills that he knew he could get Tea. But little did he know that Tea was special. She was head-strong and knew where she was going. I love that.


    The folklore was interesting in this book. The more I read that more I learn. Which is why I love to read these types of books. You always learn something new. If you love folklore then I recommend you pick up this book. There was some cursing in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Everything That's Good About Fairy Tales

    What happens when old legends are true? Goblins are real? Cat-sidhes stalk you? And a handsome boy shows up to help you through it all? Those questions and oh, so much more are answered in Kersten Hamilton's Tyger, Tyger.

    Kersten uses Irish mythology to wrap around a plot which follows Teagan, a girl who is working at a local zoo and trying to get into Cornell's Veternary Science Program. Teagan's plans get turned upside down when Finn, a "cousin", moves in with her close knit family. Finn seems to attract a very new type of trouble for Teagan. On one hand, she can't deny her attraction to him and on the other, she finds that she's having to protect herself and her family from the very strange creatures she previously thought were only in her mother's paintings and storybooks.

    As Teagen, her brother and Finn journey to the very heart of Goblin Territory, they discover that the songs and tales their parents recited are all true. What makes Tyger, Tyger unique is Kersten's solid characterizations. You get to know her characters so well and so quickly that by the time the plot twists appear, you know exactly how they're going to react. I loved the descriptions of the Goblins as well as the very scary Cat-Sidthes. Those characterizations are delightfully dark and fit the mythology perfectly.

    Oh, and before I go, I have to admit that I love the romance between Teagan and Finn. Kersten plays out their initial attraction in such a lovely way that you don't see how it will end until you finish reading that very last word. It's surprising, melancholy and oh-so-right.

    The story reminds me of everything that is good about fairy tales. You know how there's always more to them then first meets the eye? Well, you get that with Tyger, Tyger. If you're in the mood for a solid mythology and characters that are well formed, pick up Tyger, Tyger and discover what those Goblin Wars are all about. I'm looking forward to the second installment which I hope will follow soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    An Irish Fairy Tale with a Decidedly Modern Twist! WARNING: Contains some spoilers!

    Teagan "Tea" Wylltson has a dream. Finish high school with good grades, work part-time at the town zoo, and win a scholarship to Cornell's Veterinary School. Boys and relationships were not part of that plan. Neither were fairy tales come to life and death-defying adventure, but Tea was in for a shocking surprise!
    Tea's daily life is filled with unique individuals, including a mother who is a brilliant author/illustrator of children's fairy tales, a librarian father who claims to be a descendant of King Arthur's wizard, Merlin, a younger brother who possesses the voice of an angel and the memory recall for song lyrics of an MP3 player, and a best friend with family ties to the local Mafia and an aunt who named her four sons after the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles! So when her parents agree to take in a long-lost cousin who had been living on the streets and with a band of Irish Travelers, Tea doesn't even bat an eyelash. Until Finn Mac Cumhaill actually crosses the threshold of her home, that is, because from that moment onward, Tea's eccentric but basically ordinary world turns upside down and nothing will ever be the same again!

    Being a person of Irish descent, I really looked forward to reading this first installation of Kersten Hamilton's new trilogy based on the Celtic fables that I have always found so fascinating. Tyger, Tyger did not disappoint! Ms. Hamilton's book made the old legends come to life, enthralling me with her vivid portrayal of Mag Mell, and her spellbinding descriptions of all the magical creatures that live therein. Goblins, Sidhe, Storm Riders, Saints, and Guardian Angels all play essential parts in the unfolding drama, which is guaranteed to keep you entertained and glued to your seat as you turn page after page, unable to put the book down!

    The only thing I would like to see changed in this fantastic tale is how Ms. Hamilton handles the aftermath of Aileen Wylltson's death. That event is such a pivotal turning point in the story, yet it is glossed over with barely any mention. A few extra chapters inserted at that juncture of the story, further developing key information that is later brought into play, would in my opinion make the entire story feel more cohesive and the story line flow more smoothly between the world of modern-day Chicago and the ancient fantasy world of Mag Mell.

    All in all, though, I enjoyed Tyger, Tyger a great deal, and I am very much looking forward to reading the next two installments in this lovely trilogy. I give Tyger, Tyger 4 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Fun-filled Fantasy Adventure with Goblins and Celtic Heroes

    Tyger, Tyger by Kersten Hamilton is a fun, engaging read that takes reader through a magical journey into a world of Celtic folklore and goblins.

    When we first meet the heroine, Teagan, she appears to be a normal, over-achieving high school student training to be a veterinarian. After a distant relative moves in with her family, Finn, the hero of the novel, Teagan's world turns upside down.

    The action in the novel is fast-paced, but has humor (mostly supplied by Teagan's loveable baby brother), and romance. The story moves quickly and the ending loves the story begging for a sequel.

    My one critique would be that certain dramatic episodes are glossed over in the plot so that the reader does not really have a feel for how the characters dealt with the tragedy, but had the author focused more on the drama, the overall pacing and theme of the book would have suffered.

    Tyger, Tyger is an enjoyable read for any fans of fantasy, adventure, or romance.

    Four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1