BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tyrannosaur Canyon

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If There Are Aliens, They Won't Be Humanoid (Spoilers)

First, I did not read the first book, Codex, because I couldn't get into it. This is a continuation of Tom Broadbent's story. I have a feeling a lot of Tom's development and the relationship with his wife, was done in the first book.
That being said, this was a excit...
First, I did not read the first book, Codex, because I couldn't get into it. This is a continuation of Tom Broadbent's story. I have a feeling a lot of Tom's development and the relationship with his wife, was done in the first book.
That being said, this was a exciting thriller that can stand alone. The good guys are honorable and the bad guys are pure evil. It took a while to figure out (and I wanted to figure it out, which really counts) the prologue scene on the moon and how this relates to a dinosaur hunting in the west. Broadbent finds a body in the desert and of course, trouble. Broadbent makes some really smart moves, but sometimes I think he makes some really sporadic dumb moves. His buddy West, the want-a-be monk, is the brains. I have the next book of this on my shelf. I may even go back and give the first book another try, now that I think about it.
P.S. The true hero of the story is the nerdy, overworked under paid scientist.

posted by bravewarrior on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

'Obvious, and long winded'

Look, I'm not looking for a book to keep me on the edge of my seat every sentence. Or every chapter for that matter. But at some point in this thriller, I would like to be thrilled. Sorry, I just don't enjoy a book that tries to be mysterious, but let's you in on the my...
Look, I'm not looking for a book to keep me on the edge of my seat every sentence. Or every chapter for that matter. But at some point in this thriller, I would like to be thrilled. Sorry, I just don't enjoy a book that tries to be mysterious, but let's you in on the mystery before it becomes one.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If There Are Aliens, They Won't Be Humanoid (Spoilers)

    First, I did not read the first book, Codex, because I couldn't get into it. This is a continuation of Tom Broadbent's story. I have a feeling a lot of Tom's development and the relationship with his wife, was done in the first book.
    That being said, this was a exciting thriller that can stand alone. The good guys are honorable and the bad guys are pure evil. It took a while to figure out (and I wanted to figure it out, which really counts) the prologue scene on the moon and how this relates to a dinosaur hunting in the west. Broadbent finds a body in the desert and of course, trouble. Broadbent makes some really smart moves, but sometimes I think he makes some really sporadic dumb moves. His buddy West, the want-a-be monk, is the brains. I have the next book of this on my shelf. I may even go back and give the first book another try, now that I think about it.
    P.S. The true hero of the story is the nerdy, overworked under paid scientist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall a good book.

    Just a bit slow and it takes a little bit to get into it. The characters are good though. I read this book because I liked douglas prestons style of writing. Once you get into it, its pretty good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought the book was a good one with a lot of twists to it. It was fast pace at times, making it hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Awesome

    Good book but a little challenging for 3 year olds.



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    nice read

    lots of action with some history and science thrown in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Check this out!

    This was my 1st Douglas Preston book and it will not be my last. Tryannosaur Canyon was fast paced, interesting, with a few twists thrown in along the way. Check it out, you will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent Page-turner!!

    Unique storyline well told! I liked everything about this interesting book, and would like to meet the characters in another effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Enjoyable escape

    Yes, this book is a little far-fetched. However, I don't read works of fiction to discover hard core factual information - I read them in order to escape from reality. This book offers plenty of fast-paced action, some really interesting scientific theories and a satisfying ending. I love the work of Preston and Child and will be reading more of both authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    An improbable thrill a minute

    Preston threw everything but the proverbial kitchen sink into this one. The plot teeters precariously on the outlandish, and just when you think there can't possibly be any new surprises, another fantastic twist takes place or an unlikely character pops up to further complicate matters. Still, if you enjoy stories that make you lose track of time as the pages fly by, Tyrannosaur Canyon fits the bill. It won't win the Pulitzer, but it should win Preston a cadre of new fans. For a couple of other books with thoughtful plots that don't stretch credibility to the brink, read An Audience for Einstein and Flowers for Algernon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Overall, a good read

    Douglas Preston does it again with a Paleontological thriller that equals, if not excels, anything written by Michael Crichton who now prefers to write 'politically correct' pseudo-science to please those 'in charge' of our government. With a small discrepancy that in reality, takes nothing away from this excellent novel, Preston wins this round. I can see why next month's Scientific American ran a page advertisement for this one. The discrepancy? Douglas Preston refers to the KT Extinction event as the worst natural disaster in the history of our planet, when in reality, the PT (Permian-Triassic Extinction event of 251 million years ago probably could qualify for that dubious distinction, without rival). When you are human, however,one makes mistakes (like the time, rather recently, that I identified a Utahraptor as a Velociraptor when I wrote a little article about Bakker's Raptor Red, something I now apologize profusely for and which, I hope to live down in a couple of eons). Read Tyrannosaur Canyon, folks, it's a great read.. Sincerely, Dennis S. Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    Thorough package

    Preston knows how to put it all together to create books that manage to entertain as well as keep pages turning. Tyrannosaur Canyon may not be the next Jurassic Park, but there are some interesting theories and concepts presented as well as a quick moving plot with good character design.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Didn't Disappoint!

    I anxiously awaited Preston's latest novel, and he did not let me down! Fast moving, terrific storyline and lots of great detail, it was easy to get right into and read all the way throught. Definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2