Customer Reviews for

Tyrannosaur Canyon

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If There Are Aliens, They Won't Be Humanoid (Spoilers)

First, I did not read the first book, Codex, because I couldn't get into it. This is a continuation of Tom Broadbent's story. I have a feeling a lot of Tom's development and the relationship with his wife, was done in the first book.
That being said, this was a excit...
First, I did not read the first book, Codex, because I couldn't get into it. This is a continuation of Tom Broadbent's story. I have a feeling a lot of Tom's development and the relationship with his wife, was done in the first book.
That being said, this was a exciting thriller that can stand alone. The good guys are honorable and the bad guys are pure evil. It took a while to figure out (and I wanted to figure it out, which really counts) the prologue scene on the moon and how this relates to a dinosaur hunting in the west. Broadbent finds a body in the desert and of course, trouble. Broadbent makes some really smart moves, but sometimes I think he makes some really sporadic dumb moves. His buddy West, the want-a-be monk, is the brains. I have the next book of this on my shelf. I may even go back and give the first book another try, now that I think about it.
P.S. The true hero of the story is the nerdy, overworked under paid scientist.

posted by bravewarrior on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

'Obvious, and long winded'

Look, I'm not looking for a book to keep me on the edge of my seat every sentence. Or every chapter for that matter. But at some point in this thriller, I would like to be thrilled. Sorry, I just don't enjoy a book that tries to be mysterious, but let's you in on the my...
Look, I'm not looking for a book to keep me on the edge of my seat every sentence. Or every chapter for that matter. But at some point in this thriller, I would like to be thrilled. Sorry, I just don't enjoy a book that tries to be mysterious, but let's you in on the mystery before it becomes one.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    I bought this book as a bargain book and was pleasantly surprised at my overall enjoyment. This book is easy to read, has a great plot, good characters and descriptive of the nature and scenery where the story takes place. My favorite part was the prologue for each part of the book that described the dinosaur. I was never interested in this in the past but thought that this book kept me thinking about archeology long after I read the book. It is a nice thriller book for a vacation trip or a long weekend in a rain or snow when you are stuck inside. I easily read this book in three days. Was sorry to see the tale end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    good read

    Good Read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    If you like Douglas Preston

    If you're a Douglas Preston fan, you'll give it your usual 5 stars. If you're not a fan, you can really enjoy it anyway!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    **** a good read

    I did enjoy this novel, although it tended to fall more into the realm of not being believable, for example the escape from the caved in mine, and the chase through the desert. I can't say I didn't like it, but I would put it at the bottom of my list for D.P.'s books--I have read them all. His first novel with this character was much better, I think.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Loved it!

    Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child are two of my favorite authors and this one doesn't disappoint!
    Having met Tom in The Codex, it was fun to catch up with him.
    Now i'm diving into the adventures of Ford and really looking forward to it.

    Truly a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping...all the way through

    Presents a very interesting theory to what might have happened 65 million years ago, as well as a chilling look to the possible future of mankind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    A fast paced and fun thrill ride!

    This was the first Douglas Preston book I've read and boy was it a winner! From one chapter to the next, it was like being on a roller coaster ride with suspense, surprises and plot twists. Just when you think you've figured out what is going to happen, a new element or character bursts onto the scene and your purlse quickens as the story takes on a new dimension.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    It's a must read!

    Douglas Preston has done a fantastic job writing this book. You become so enthralled with the characters and the intelligently written story, that you can not put the book down and don't want it to end. There are so many twists and turns throughout the book, that you are surprised all through it and it keeps you wanting for more. Its quite an adventure! I have become a great fan of his and his partner Lincoln Child and I admire their hard work, and great storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    This book was Great

    This book didn't seem so interesting from the beginning, but after the first couple chapters sucked me in. I read it nonstop and enjoyed it thoroughly. It has awesome twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Tyrannosaur Canyon

    Great book. Preston impressed me with this novel. if you loved JurassicPark, you'll love Tyrannosaur Canyon. you will not put it down. non-stop action. i loved it and can't wait to read The Codex!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Tyrannosaur Canyon

    Great book, could not put it down. non-stop action from start to finish. if you loved Jurassic Park you'll absolutely love this one. A++++ great author, i have to get my hands on The Codex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2005

    Thunderhead and The Codex Rolled Up in One Great Book

    This is a great adventure book!!! I read Thunderhead which is my all time favorite book. I also read The Codex. This is like both books rolled up in one great read. Canyons, horses, adventure, mysteries, ancient history, hey does it get any better than this. Mr. Preston needs to write another one as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Another great one from Preston!

    Another awesome book from Douglas Preston! I love the action, the setting, all of it. I don't think I've read one of his books, or one of the Preston/Child books and not really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    Excellent Read

    What is great about Tyranosaur Canyon (and similiarly, The Codex) is that Douglas Preston has a unique style that seperates his solo work from his combo books with Lincoln Child. All their books are good, but his solo books are so much easier to read and the characters are much more likable. The story in T-Canyon is dynamic and personal, even though overall it's pretty grand in scope. I look forward to many more Preston solo books and hope that he continues with Tom, Sally and Ford. A series with these characters would outdo all other series in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Stay Awake at Night, Page Turner

    This is an all around, good page turner. It is a story that has many components and keeps the reader guessing as to how they relate. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Fun at Page One

    For those who enjoyed Jurassic Park this is a must. Although, not as original as JP it is a well written story by an author capable of making a page-turner. I enjoyed this from page one and recommend this for all who read mysteries, thrillers and science fiction. Short chapters echo James Patterson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Preston Delivers another winner!

    Fantastic. From beginning to end, I was totally engrossed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    Preston Does It Again

    Douglas Preston has written his best work so far. This is a fast-paced story that will keep you turning pages to find out what happens next. I usually have a book figured out halfway through, but this story kept me guessing right to the end. And then right on the last page, there is a nice little twist that will make you wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2