Customer Reviews for

The Tyranny of the Night (Instrumentalities of the Night Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Realistic and compelling

    In the tradition of his 'Black Company' novels, Cook writes outstanding fantasy from the all-too-human participants' point of view. This is not heroic fantasy, where nearly immortal warriors and wizards perform grand miracles. This is as close to real life as fantasy gets. Where nobody is as good, or bad, as everyone thinks. Where good and evil are sometimes a matter of perspective. And where, as in our world, events and history are more a matter of where one was at the time, then any great single act. With rich, consistent histories, Cook creates his world as it is, then lets his characters walk in it. It almost seems that Cook is relating events that actually happened, rather than writing fantasy. His portrayal of characters with very human qualities allow you to root for them, warts and all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Let me start by saying I love Glen Cook. I've read all the Black

    Let me start by saying I love Glen Cook. I've read all the Black Company books and have read quite a few of the Garrett P.I. novels. I cannot recommend those books enough to my friends. This book however, I cannot recommend at all. The litany of names and places with nearly understandable but twisted pronunciations are a huge burden this story bears. There is no need for the complicated names. I forced myself through 489 pages thinking this must get better. It is after all Glen Cook that wrote this! This is putting me to sleep. The story is somewhat interesting, however I cannot get past the strange naming conventions. It sadly ruins what might be an ok story otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    A interesting read

    The story has a wide range of characters that can be confusing. The hero does not take front row center but is almost drowned out by the supporting character to the point that there are many heroes that fade in and out. This makes it difficult to follow the story line. I stuck with it and did enjoy the story and also read the second. It is more direct but still has the supporting characters fading in and out to the point that you are not sure the direction that the story will go. What makes this story is it concept which I think can make a real epic if the author doesn't kill it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Interestinng and different

    This book was sort of a struggle to read for me. I had just finished reading the complete black company series and related books and was hungering for more of Glen Cook. I found this book and series. It was a very slow read and not at all what im used to in fantasy, i had to force myself to read through it. However, towards the end i became very excited. All of a sudden i started to understand things better inthe book and make connections. There is a LOT of foreshadowing and mystery in plot. Also, this fantasy focuses more on politics and strategy and real world problems in a fantasy world rather than the fantasy world itself and heroic deeds and such. I would definitely suggest this bookto read, but with a more open and inquisitive mind than i had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    A Master Craftsman

    Glen Cook is truly a master of this genre. In only a few pages he creates detailed worlds that would take lesser authors a thousand pages. This is a great fantasy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great fantasy

    For the past century, the Patriarchs of the West have sent crusaders to claim the Wells of Ihrain and the surrounding holy land as there right under God. The Wells, the source of all magic, are controlled by the Pramans. An uneasy truce exists but everyone expects that to be broken soon once Patriarch Sublime V decides it is time to try again......................... Naive Praman Captain Else Tage battles a brogan Tyranny of the Night; shockingly not knowing he cannot triumph, he kills an immortal God. The impossible has happened; a human has killed an invincible supernatural creature. Else¿s reward is a new mission. He is sent to the West to prevent Patriarch Sublime V from organizing the next crusade. However, in the Realm of the Gods, the immortals are shaken by Else¿s blasphemy. He must die as an example that humans must remain in their accepted places. Two soulless warriors, prisoners of the Gods for centuries, are given a chance for atonement. They must kill the traveling Godslayer. .................. The opening entry in The Instrumentalities of the Night Saga is a fantastic fantasy that combines plenty of action with introducing the readers to this realm reminiscent of the medieval crusades world. The fast-paced story line begins the epic journey of Else, but does it with a backdrop of warring religions and realms with supernatural creatures so that though a new world is created for the audience to journey within, the tale never slows down to do so nor neglects the key characters especially the heroic bewildered raw Godslayer. The author cooks up a fantastic epic fantasy with a clear antiwar message that will have his audience hungering for more............. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2