BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tyrell

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Long Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

Coe Booth's first novel, TYRELL, is a masterfully written, gritty reality check of urban life through the eyes of a heavily burdened fifteen-year-old. After his father is sentenced to prison (for the third time), it is up to Tyrell Green to take care of both his derange...
Coe Booth's first novel, TYRELL, is a masterfully written, gritty reality check of urban life through the eyes of a heavily burdened fifteen-year-old. After his father is sentenced to prison (for the third time), it is up to Tyrell Green to take care of both his deranged mother and his seven-year-old brother, Troy. But Tyrell is only fifteen! Not only is he living in a completely run-down shelter, but he is broke, out of school, and struggling for some way to earn money to get his mom and brother out of shelter care and into an apartment of their own.

In a place like the Bronx, it is easy for young adults to get caught up in a life of crime. Tyrell knows this, but is also a man of principle (for the most part, at least). Refusing to earn his quick buck through such shady sources as drug dealing, he originates a plan to get the money he needs to get things back to the way they were. The question of whether it will work, or whether it will blow up in his face....you'll have to read TYRELL to find out (but it's worth it!)

The great thing about TYRELL is that Coe Booth keeps the pressure on at all times. Real life drama is quilted into the novel until the very end, and it is both humbling and very entertaining to read. She also incorporates real urban vernacular (e.g. "slang") to create an extremely real and convincing narrative.

Coe Booth creates an atmosphere so believable it's impossible not to walk away after reading the novel and not have taken something with you. The characters experience the lowest of lows, the highest of highs, and everything in-between throughout the course of the story--and it doesn't stop until the very end. Dripping from head to toe with sharp turns and very surprising climaxes, it's sure to keep you consumed until the last page.

It's a lot to pack into a story, but Booth does it gracefully and with extraordinary skill. I praise Ms. Booth's first novel and am waiting anxiously for the next.

Plus, she's a PUSH novelist, and it doesn't get much better than PUSH!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

distasteful

I was so unpleased with the book in the first chapter I skipped to the middle then the end of the book to see if it got any better. And it didn't. the language is inappropriate for school age children. I do not want my kids to think that this kind of language and/or gra...
I was so unpleased with the book in the first chapter I skipped to the middle then the end of the book to see if it got any better. And it didn't. the language is inappropriate for school age children. I do not want my kids to think that this kind of language and/or grammar is appropriate. It is very upsetting to know that this book is recommended for kids at the age of 12.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Long Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Coe Booth's first novel, TYRELL, is a masterfully written, gritty reality check of urban life through the eyes of a heavily burdened fifteen-year-old. After his father is sentenced to prison (for the third time), it is up to Tyrell Green to take care of both his deranged mother and his seven-year-old brother, Troy. But Tyrell is only fifteen! Not only is he living in a completely run-down shelter, but he is broke, out of school, and struggling for some way to earn money to get his mom and brother out of shelter care and into an apartment of their own. <BR/><BR/>In a place like the Bronx, it is easy for young adults to get caught up in a life of crime. Tyrell knows this, but is also a man of principle (for the most part, at least). Refusing to earn his quick buck through such shady sources as drug dealing, he originates a plan to get the money he needs to get things back to the way they were. The question of whether it will work, or whether it will blow up in his face....you'll have to read TYRELL to find out (but it's worth it!) <BR/><BR/>The great thing about TYRELL is that Coe Booth keeps the pressure on at all times. Real life drama is quilted into the novel until the very end, and it is both humbling and very entertaining to read. She also incorporates real urban vernacular (e.g. "slang") to create an extremely real and convincing narrative. <BR/><BR/>Coe Booth creates an atmosphere so believable it's impossible not to walk away after reading the novel and not have taken something with you. The characters experience the lowest of lows, the highest of highs, and everything in-between throughout the course of the story--and it doesn't stop until the very end. Dripping from head to toe with sharp turns and very surprising climaxes, it's sure to keep you consumed until the last page. <BR/><BR/>It's a lot to pack into a story, but Booth does it gracefully and with extraordinary skill. I praise Ms. Booth's first novel and am waiting anxiously for the next. <BR/><BR/>Plus, she's a PUSH novelist, and it doesn't get much better than PUSH!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I read this book at my middle school with my reading teacher and i loved it it was so wonderful great story i want to read more stories from this author people you should get this book you would love it to although it is sad it is a good read and a page turner for me

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Awesome

    This+was+an+extremely+good+book..+i+ened+up+talking+like+him+for+a+week+after+i+read+it+but+it+was+worth+it+lol.+His+other+book+kendra+is+just+as+good+if+not+better.+I+reccomend+both%21

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    distasteful

    I was so unpleased with the book in the first chapter I skipped to the middle then the end of the book to see if it got any better. And it didn't. the language is inappropriate for school age children. I do not want my kids to think that this kind of language and/or grammar is appropriate. It is very upsetting to know that this book is recommended for kids at the age of 12.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    I Recommend It AS SAD, AWESOME, AND INTERESTING BOOK

    Tyrell by Coe Booth is a very sad, and awesome book. IT is a very good book. I would recommend it to a friend and i would also recommend it to young adults and other teenagers like me as well and kids like twelve or eleven years old i would recommend it to. Tyrell talks about how tyrell has to become the man of the house. His mother and his little brother has to live in the shelter. IN the book, it seems like everybody is putting pressure on tyrell ,especially his own mother because his father is locked up. so I love the book i fell in love with it when i first read the first chapter and it is also very interesting. BUT the only bad thing is that the book has very short chapters. but i still recommend it to other people who would love to read the book... S


    SO PICK UP THE BOOK PEOPLE!! it is worth your money people!! if you fall in love with the book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    U REALLY SHOULD READ THIS BOOK ITS VERY VERY VERY GOOD ; )

    i really loved the book it really felt like i was in it and it got drama in it that some kids are dealing with right now. and how tyrell and jasmine is together wow if that was me it would have be realllllllllllllllllly hard for me to sleep with tyrell it feels like i already seen/know him all ready in real life. But anywayz the book was really good and i hope it has a part 2 in the book and i will share it out to everyone i know including in my teachers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    The BEST book i have ever read!

    I LOVED this book! i am 15 and i really dont like to read, unless i have to...but i went to a local library were i live and i saw 'Tyrell' on the shelf...once i opened it i could not put it down! I finished that book in 1 1/2 days! I am really looking forward to reading more of Coe Booths book. I really enjoyed the book very much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    A Great Read

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about real life drama. It was a really really really good book. I found myself rooting for Tyrell all the way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great

    This book is my fav amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Lilystar

    Lilystar purrs and nuzzles Wolfsun. "I'll always be leader in a way. If anything threatens my clan or if it deviates from Starclan or the Warrior Code, I'll fight to bring it back. I will be watching Velvetstsr closely. It is my rightful place but the clan comes first. I'm planning on holding a clan meeting to announce this tonight. That's why I needed to talk to you. I didn't want to resign without your approval. As for Thymedust, I am irritated with him as well. If he causes any more trouble, he'll be forced to deal with me!" The tabby unsheaths her claws, digging them into the ground. ~ Lilystar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Wolfsun

    I approve just as long as sometime you become ader again. She purrs and licks her mothers shoulder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    This book OMG!!!!!

    This book is so good that i hope he make a part three i read part one and two for thoes who dont know the name of part two it is call bronxwood are you can just go to related titles and press more by this arthour and then look for bronx wood i wish he will make a part three already!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great book

    Relly liked it eveyone should read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Omg

    I must say that this is the best book that I have ever read! Trust me when i say that I have over 900 books. This book does give you hope and it is funny. But overall this book is worth the money and then some,

    Devotion143

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Great .

    I ? This Book . It's Just A Real African American Getting Around Like We Do . That's Why You Can Feel It .It's A Great Book So Far AnyMore Like It ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    LOVE

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Amazinggggggggg

    Loved it coe booth is an excellent author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Book world

    This is one good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great story, however if u wish to have your child read this book

    Great story, however if u wish to have your child read this book, i recomend that they be over the age of 13. I read it when I was in 6th grade, and it didn't really bother me at all. I grew up around drug dealing and foul language, so I was really able to relate to the story (even though i'm from Inglewood).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Tyrell

    This is the best book cause you can picture it and its like real life and things people would do!!!!!!!! Love it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4