Customer Reviews for

U Is for Undertow (Kinsey Millhone Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 619 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(186)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

U is for Undertow is one of Sue's Best!!

U is for Undertow is Sue Grafton's 21st adventure starring the unsinkable Kinsey Millhone and it's one of her best. In this chapter of Kinsey's life and career she's faced with a 21year old unsolved crime that seems to lead to nothing but dead ends. And she's facing a f...
U is for Undertow is Sue Grafton's 21st adventure starring the unsinkable Kinsey Millhone and it's one of her best. In this chapter of Kinsey's life and career she's faced with a 21year old unsolved crime that seems to lead to nothing but dead ends. And she's facing a family reunion with her long estranged family.
Sue Grafton is an amazing storyteller and mystery writer and it definitely shows in this dramatic and nail biting page-turner. She keeps us up to date on all our favorite returning characters and introduces us to a supporting cast of many, some of which are solid citizens but many who are not and all are eclectic in their relationship to each other. Her dialogue in unmistakably hers, but in this volume it just flows better than I've seen for a while. Her story line/plot is as always interesting and exciting and I like how she incorporates past events with what's happening now. And now just happens to be 1988. I sometimes have a hard time reading contemporary fiction that's set in the near past, without today's technology it seems somehow jaded, but I have no problems of that sort with this series. In fact what it does is make me scratch my head and wonder what we did before cell phones and high speed internet access. The mystery is quite a puzzle and who better to solve it than our own Kinsey Millhone with her unique and always moral attitude toward crime and her profession. And in this episode she seems much more content with herself then in some of the previous reads.
You cannot go wrong with this novel, it's all that you remember about Kinsey and better. If you enjoy a great mystery especially with a strong woman heroine who knows what she wants and who she is then you'll love this book. If you just love a great who done it then look no farther. If you're a lover of crime or PI fiction this fills the bill. I guarantee this will satisfy any lover of mystery or just great fiction. If this is your first foray into the series it does fine as a stand-a-lone, but you'd be missing out on a great deal of information and finding out what makes Kinsey tick. My suggestion is after you finish reading this, go back and start with A is for Alibi.

posted by dhaupt on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Her Best Work

I agree that this isn't Sue's best work. I too missed the Kinsey of earlier books and really struggled to complete this one.

posted by DawnOH on December 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    love this one

    she keeps me turning the pages....can,t wait for 'V '. Hurry Sue, we cant stand the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Typical Sue Grafton

    I like her books, I like the time period (1980's). I've read all of them...A through U, and will read through the end of the alphaqbet. It'll be interesting to see what she does after Z.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    worth it

    While not one of her best, this book is definitely better than the last three. The character development was lacking leaving me wanting tknow more. Grafton could have expanded the Lompoc family by-line and Henry's involvment seemed thrown in because it was expected. Not an edge of your seat thriller, but it held my interest and was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    One of Grafton's Best

    Very good, one of her best in the series. The story alternates between present day (1988 for Kinsey) and with kidnapping case in 1967. She does a good job of using the characters to reveal what really happened. It has an interesting plot, and we learn much more about Kinsey's childhood, and why she is the way she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    U is for Undertow another great book by Sue Grafton

    Grafton's character of Kinsey Millhone is a throughly enjoyable read. The character is offbeat yet a little predictable. This is a easy read and typical from Sue Grafton.
    A young man comes to see Kinsey unannounced and she ends up taking the case. The story is touching in it's resoultion for the never forgotten victim. A little sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Love Grafton

    I look forward to these books , love the characters and try to savor the read but end up gorging

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sue Grafton continues writing interesting stories even after going thru most of the alphabet!!

    I was worried that Sue Grafton could not come up with anything new after going thru most of the alphabet, but I still love to hear about Kinsey and her life. I just wish that she would find a love of her life, besides her best friend of 80 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    good,fun read with different twists

    characters are interesting-neat plot twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    A Good Read

    This is a very readable entry into the fun and familiar Kinsey Milhone series. The characters are diverse and well-drawn. I also had much less of a problem/less disconnect than I expected with the fact that the series does not advance with real time. That may be because I was a child of the 60's and therefore the era in the flashbacks is not just ancient history to me. Milhone remains a very engaging character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Another great ride

    Sue Grafton gives us another great ride with Kinsey. Although we begin to learn more of her background and see a possible reconciliation.
    If you enjoyed the other Grafton novels, this is another entertaining ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Well worth the read. This time she got more into the mind of Kinsey.

    I enjoyed the diversity of the plot. However, the descriptions of the terrain in which she moves are not as elaborate as in previous books. Finally, revealing her connection to her family and her aunt did a wonderful job in expanding Kinsey's character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    good gift

    haven't read this yet but have read all the others and am expecting to be well entertained when my daughter lets me read her Christmas gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the Wait

    It seems like we have to wait a long time for the next "letter" to be published, but "U Is For Undertow" is worth the wait! Grafton successfully weaves several stories together by embedding flashbacks in the current story as we help Kinsey unravel her client's childhood memories that end up solving a 20 year old murder-kidnapping cold case. As usual, Kinsey is up to her neck in adventure, near misses, and murder as she closes in on what really happened. Grafton stays true to form by effectively mixing humor with suspense, giving the reader many possibilities to consider as Kinsey peels away each layer on her way to an action-packed finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Another winner from Sue Grafton

    This book was very good - as usual! I love Kinsey and all the characters and now that we are finding out more about her "estranged" family, we learn why she is the way she is. I would like to see more of her earlier "PI"ing - when she was trying to find stuff out she would pretend to be other people and she pulled it off so easily - as we continue to see more of her growth as a person. Of course the case she works on in this book is so amazing because she can find clues after so many years...it shows she really is a fantastic private investigator. I look forward to the last 5 books but I also don't want to lose these incredible characters at the end of the "alphabet" series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    "U Is for Undertow" is a Good Read

    I was pleased with this book. Have read her books from A to U and and have kept them all. The last couple seemed different and didn't follow her family story lines from from her others. I decided to give her one last try, and am glad I did. Even though switching back and forth in time was a little confusing when I couldn't read it for very long at a time, I understood why she did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    New Sue Grafton reader

    I have never read anything by Sue Grafton but picked U is for Undertow as the first book I read on my nook. I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the rest of the alphabet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Great -- like all the rest of the books in this series!

    Not sure where the name of the book comes from. "Undertow" does not figure prominently in the story. A better name might have been "U is for Unsolved" since the plot deals with a child who went missing years ago. Nevertheless, if you've grown to love Kinsey Milhone over the life of this series, you'll like this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Alphabet Soup

    I have read all of Grafton's books and thought this one flowed well and was one of her better ones. Interesting story line, quick easy to follow, not a lot of extraneous stuff. I don't care for a lot of these type of detective stories, but Kinsey keeps me coming back. (I long to overhaul her fast food diet). I can only wonder what happens at the end of the alphabet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    A Grafton thriller

    This is one of Grafton's best. She weaves a captivating "who done it" while bringing to closure some old family buisness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Vintage Grafton

    After spending 21 volumes with Kinsey -- done in published/alphabetical order-- there is nothing not to like about U is for Undertow. I am amazed at Grafton's ability to reveal something new about Kinsey in every volume. Absolutely reccommend it to other Milhone fans and to "new to the series" readers as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10