Customer Reviews for

U Is for Undertow (Kinsey Millhone Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 623 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(188)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

U is for Undertow is one of Sue's Best!!

U is for Undertow is Sue Grafton's 21st adventure starring the unsinkable Kinsey Millhone and it's one of her best. In this chapter of Kinsey's life and career she's faced with a 21year old unsolved crime that seems to lead to nothing but dead ends. And she's facing a f...
U is for Undertow is Sue Grafton's 21st adventure starring the unsinkable Kinsey Millhone and it's one of her best. In this chapter of Kinsey's life and career she's faced with a 21year old unsolved crime that seems to lead to nothing but dead ends. And she's facing a family reunion with her long estranged family.
Sue Grafton is an amazing storyteller and mystery writer and it definitely shows in this dramatic and nail biting page-turner. She keeps us up to date on all our favorite returning characters and introduces us to a supporting cast of many, some of which are solid citizens but many who are not and all are eclectic in their relationship to each other. Her dialogue in unmistakably hers, but in this volume it just flows better than I've seen for a while. Her story line/plot is as always interesting and exciting and I like how she incorporates past events with what's happening now. And now just happens to be 1988. I sometimes have a hard time reading contemporary fiction that's set in the near past, without today's technology it seems somehow jaded, but I have no problems of that sort with this series. In fact what it does is make me scratch my head and wonder what we did before cell phones and high speed internet access. The mystery is quite a puzzle and who better to solve it than our own Kinsey Millhone with her unique and always moral attitude toward crime and her profession. And in this episode she seems much more content with herself then in some of the previous reads.
You cannot go wrong with this novel, it's all that you remember about Kinsey and better. If you enjoy a great mystery especially with a strong woman heroine who knows what she wants and who she is then you'll love this book. If you just love a great who done it then look no farther. If you're a lover of crime or PI fiction this fills the bill. I guarantee this will satisfy any lover of mystery or just great fiction. If this is your first foray into the series it does fine as a stand-a-lone, but you'd be missing out on a great deal of information and finding out what makes Kinsey tick. My suggestion is after you finish reading this, go back and start with A is for Alibi.

posted by dhaupt on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Her Best Work

I agree that this isn't Sue's best work. I too missed the Kinsey of earlier books and really struggled to complete this one.

posted by DawnOH on December 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 626 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    I have read all of this series and really enjoyed it, until she

    I have read all of this series and really enjoyed it, until she changed to a split story line. It is very difficult to follow and keep up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Held my breath again on this one!

    Really good story but some cases not wrapped up in their entirety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    Highly recommended

    This was a wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Ughr

    This is sucky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Yhibyfhihigibi

    Hyihuhhihihihijihiyibui

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Dd

    Dd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Slow start

    Slow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Love the main character Kinsey!!

    Kinsey Milhone is the best woman PI in all of fiction !!!

    This is a great story....stick with it for the ending. Wow..Just love the ending.

    I have read all in the series except for "V" and "W". I am reading those next.

    If you are part of a bookclub, read "A"is for Alibi ....its a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Best Series

    Sue Grafton can do no wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    i like the easy reading and fun but exciting plots.. altho simpl

    i like the easy reading and fun but exciting plots.. altho simple. i also enjoy all the regular characters in the Milhone series. reading each book in order makes you really appreciate all the regulars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Cjg

    I like her books, but after all the alphabet does she still have to tell us at the beginning about the history of the characters. Is like she takes the first pages and copies them into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    Not as strong as "T is for Trespass," IMO, but I like the dual timeframe element. I'm product of the 60s culture, and so is Ms Grafton, and I like her creation of over-the-top characters, uncaring as they may be.

    I was disappointed that Kinsey agreed to have additional family contact. She may lose her edge if she hitches her Grabber Blue Mustang to that busload of snobs. .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Not impressed

    Normally I love the Kinsey Millhone stories, however this one was all over the place and hard to follow. It took me a long time to read through it...and all I can say is thank goodness it's done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    This was my favorite in the series

    I loved this book. I loved Kinsey's character development. I loved the format and the way the author developed the characters and moved back and forth through time. It felt as though a different author wrote this book...not that any of the other books are bad, but this one gives so much wonderful detail of the characters in a "then and now" format. The emotions were so real as I read through the pages. The book was so good, I have needed several days to digest it and savor all of the wonderful flavors that make reading so much fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    To tainer

    Go to 3rd result

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Trainer

    He keeps suking roughly as he bites down on ur c.l.int. he moves a hand down and jacks himself roughly.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It was a little slow at the beginning but it got very good. I l

    It was a little slow at the beginning but it got very good. I loved how all the characters were linked in the end. Can't wait for the next one.

    Calling T is for Trespass “taut, terrifying, transfixing and terrific,” USA Today went on to ask, “What does it take to write twenty novels about the same character and manage to create a fresh, genre-bending novel every time?” It’s a question worth pondering. Through twenty excursions into the dark side of the human soul, Sue Grafton has never written the same book twice. And so it is with this, her twenty-first. Once again, she breaks genre formulas, giving us a twisting, complex, surprise-filled, and totally satisfying thriller.

    It’s April, 1988, a month before Kinsey Millhone’s thirty-eighth birthday, and she’s alone in her office doing paperwork when a young man arrives unannounced. He has a preppy air about him and looks as if he’d be carded if he tried to buy booze, but Michael Sutton is twenty-seven, an unemployed college dropout. Twenty-one years earlier, a four-year-old girl disappeared. A recent reference to her kidnapping has triggered a flood of memories. Sutton now believes he stumbled on her lonely burial when he was six years old. He wants Kinsey’s help in locating the child’s remains and finding the men who killed her. It’s a long shot but he’s willing to pay cash up front, and Kinsey agrees to give him one day. As her investigation unfolds, she discovers Michael Sutton has an uneasy relationship with the truth. In essence, he’s the boy who cried wolf. Is his current story true or simply one more in a long line of fabrications?

    Grafton moves the narrative between the eighties and the sixties, changing points of view, building multiple subplots, and creating memorable characters. Gradually, we see how they all connect. But at the beating center of the novel is Kinsey Millhone, sharp- tongued, observant, a loner—“a heroine,” said The New York Times Book Review, “with foibles you can laugh at and faults you can forgive.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Superb

    Having read all of the alphabet of Grafton's books, I feel that this is her finest work to date. So well crafted...richly moving back and forth in time to weave a compelling story. New characters are superbly developed, and the members of Kinsey's continuing "klan" are behind her once again...with some new twists! Definite recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Kinsey Millhone - a little older, a little wiser, always ready to solve the next one!

    Well done. Sue Grafton does it again with her Kinsey Millhone series. I will be sorry to see her arrive at the end of the alphabet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 626 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32