Customer Reviews for

UFOs: Myths, Conspiracies, and Realities

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Hmmm.... good but i do not know...

    I like this book. The writing is kind of dry in some areas but then again - the subject he is discussing is dry sometimes. I a sure in the hands of a worse author it would have been boring. But i am not entirely convinced. I agree that there probably is not a grand govt conspiracy. But i am not convinced that the authors logic actually proves that... on the other hand he does make convincing use of logic so there you go. I would suggest giving the book a try - there are much worse books to read. Really i want to give this a 3.5 star review but i had to choose between 3 and 4 which is why it ended up with only 3 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    I am a government worker and i wont to tell you that ufos are real

    I am not joking ther is a real thret!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    A balanced look at the subject.  Dr. Alexander doesn't come down

    A balanced look at the subject.  Dr. Alexander doesn't come down clearly on either side of the debate but, his core premise that, while he found many in high levels of government that had an interest in the subject of UFOs, none of them ever expressed to him personally that they had any knowledge of alien craft of life outside the planet.  Therefore it is his conclusion that the government has no knowledge on the subject and there is no conspiracy to hide if from the public, because otherwise someone would have told him.  He does make some very good points about the bureaucracy and budget issues that any investigation into the subject would face as well as the political and career risks anyone would have to accept to be involved in such efforts, but he overlooks that possibility that perhaps those within the government who may have the information deem any efforts to study the matter a waste of time and money. Dr. Alexander also ignores the possibility that even though he may have had a high level security clearance and access to some high-level officials, said officials would not have disclosed any information they might have had  or their specific positions precluded their access to any such informatio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    awesome book.

    awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great book for someone who is undecided about UFO's. I believe C

    Great book for someone who is undecided about UFO's. I believe Col. Alexander is fair in his analysis. I tend to agree with him that government, in general, that the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing, and I might add, doesn't care. I now have a better informed opinion about ufology and I strongly recommend this book. This book is also recommended by many researchers on both ends of the UFO spectrum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Warriors den

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Politics and the UFO - Good Work!

    When I started reading this book, I thought it was going to be a total loss. However, it makes the best case I have yet heard for NO UFO conspiracy or high level investigation office or committee in the United States Government based on politics. Really Good Job. His October Surprise or what I would call “the dog that didn’t bark” (because it doesn’t exist) is a solid albeit second-hand argument. If ET existed, he would have been outed to win an election!! I doubted his credentials due to association with psychic phenomena (remote viewing, metal bending, etc.) but ended up having to add the paranormal to the already long list of UFO hypotheses. And his puzzle paradox (paradigm) for looking for pieces that fit your mental picture is important to keep in mind. Skeptics do this because in the UFO arena because they “know” it’s fake, and believers do it because they “know” it’s true. Good advice, especially in this topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1