Customer Reviews for

UFOs: Generals, Pilots and Government Officials Go On the Record

Average Rating 3.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING

    so i dont get why the typical army personal would perhaps lie about a topic as controversial as this. they are usually the type who would never in a million years admit little green men exist. this book gives all the sides to the ufo phenomena from those professionals and govt officials who witnessed it firsthand. there would be no reason to put your job in jeopardy and lie about this, they are all authentic and true, and this book illustrates how frequently the top officials do witness them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Great Read

    Reading your new Book! Thanks Leslie, not just another Book on UFOs, but a clear and concise presentation on a subject that keeps getting buried by both the scientific community, and government. Really enjoy the statistical information on how these unknown objects seem to correlate with nuclear weapons, and nuclear containment sites. Keep up the good work, we all are waiting for American government to let loose the information it holds. Active participation, and a positive attitude weigh heavily against secrecy, and closed mindedness. One day soon the truth will out. Thanks again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    UFOs for the Masses?

    Characterizing the UFO genre is challenging, but readers are advised that Leslie Kean's book may not be what they expect. Much of what has become standard grist for the UFO book mill - lurid abductions, gruesome animal mutilations, crop circles and crystal skulls, etc. - is absent entirely. What she has done is assemble compelling stories conveyed by reliable witnesses and provided information from knowledgeable officials. The encounters occurred after the close of Project Blue Book which ended the U.S. government's publicly acknowledged UFO investigations. Ms. Kean is embarked on a unique course of "advocacy journalism" deliberately targeting a population that may have had little interest in the UFO phenomenon - until, she hopes, they discover her book. The scope of this book may distress some. Those seeking the sensational stuff will come away disappointed and anyone expecting to find some classic cases like the Roswell crash and the Flatwoods Monster will not find them. Remarkably, researchers with trace evidence and copious data such as Ted Philips and Frank Feschino are not even mentioned. Input from scientists was minimal. Readers familiar with the UFO phenomenon may feel they have heard most of this content before. Ms. Kean's case for the reality of UAPs rests substantially on witness testimony. Although she has selected cases with as much corroborating evidence as possible, critics will object and concerns about human error and the fallibility of memories are not easily dismissed. Proponents often tout the fact that we have a legal system in which testimony carries great weight and that the proposition that UFOs are extraterrestrial could be proved in a court of law. That seems like a true assertion. But proving something in court is not necessarily equivalent to establishing truth. For example, the Innocence Project has employed DNA evidence to exonerate a distressingly large number of persons erroneously convicted of serious crimes in our legal system. But Ms. Kean throws her detractors a crafty curve - she doesn't claim to prove anything more than UAPs merit officially sanctioned study. However, it is hard to accept the idea that a government that so diligently derailed UFO studies should now be entrusted to run the program and her idea of a few people in an office looks virtually guaranteed to make no progress. The French program has certainly not solved this problem despite years of effort. Given the present political/economic climate, I will bet not even Dennis Kucinich will sponsor a bill to fund it. This is a well written, non-sensationalistic examination of the UFO phenomenon. Its scope is narrow and its slant unique. Perhaps this tightly focused strategy will succeed in breaking the UFO taboo and enticing a broader section of the reading public to delve into the UFO mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    I am not sure who is writing the reviews and giving such low rat

    I am not sure who is writing the reviews and giving such low ratings on this book since I was unable to put it down. In fact, I would read a chapter and end up reading excerpts to my wife and daughter. The stories are amazing. unless you are an UFO expert and know every detail of every UFO case, and find yourself bored with your own knowledge of the subject, you will find this book fascinating. Some of the stories I was familiar with prior to reading the book; however, reading them in context and with the backstories and biographies of the writers made them more tangible. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the UFO phenomenon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    I am a gov worker and i wont to say thay are real

    No joke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Good read

    I liked this book and glad I purchased it. As a person who likes to read about UFO's most of the stories I already read about. However, there were a few that this book discussed that I haven't heard about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Well written and provides some interesting information about som

    Well written and provides some interesting information about some well know events that was previously undisclosed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Main camp

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    WE ALL KNOW!!!!!

    We all know that they are covering it up.p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Interesting but...

    Interesting book that “sort of” documents JAL 1628 and the “triangle” sightings in Belgium, the Hudson Valley, and Phoenix but I cannot for certain say that all of the data is good. Leslie works at the Weird News Desk of the Huffington Post and may possibly be a “believer…” However JAL 1628 definitely is one of the good sightings. Not sure of the verity of COMETA either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Nice read

    Loved the stories written about the different events and would have given it 4 stars but the author then basically said his same thoughts overr and over just changiingg the wordiing each time not offering much new. Read it for the events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Important Work

    I don't believe in the things that `go bump in the night'. As a striving student of Occam's razor, I think long and hard for the scientific or natural explanation. And when all else fails, I fall back to plan B, that is, someone is lying. We are people that tend to do that very often and very well. With that said, several years ago, my wife and I were in central Arkansas and witnessed a UFO near the Arkansas River. We were sitting on top of a mountain with a clear view below. It could be described as the classic Hollywood type, i.e., silver and round with a dome shape. It was hovering a few feet above the tree line.

    Since that encounter, I still don't believe in things that `go bump in the night' but I do believe there is much more to the UFO story. Sadly, whether it is the TV, books or the internet, most of the so-called UFO investigations are populated with people that are flaky at best and downright nuts at worse. Therefore, I was thrilled to read this book.

    As I am writing this on February 4, 2012 it is obvious that the information contained in this excellent piece of investigative reporting has made little if any impact on discovering the truth. I certainly don't know enough about anything that may be going on behind the scenes, but I know that some group somewhere is keeping the truth from the world. And a fine job they are doing as well.

    More works such as this one will keep the pressure on the powers that be to let us in on their secret.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the UFO arena and is seeking intelligent work.

    Michael L. Gooch, SPHR - Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Thoroughly investigated

    Great commenable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not recommended.

    Very little, if any, "new" material. Alot of rehash and opinions.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Nothing New To Report

    Redundant Rhetoric!
    Not only is there anything new to report, but the book is so redundant in everything it says. Page after page it reads as the same thing. A boring read.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    don't waste time or money on this book

    do not waste your time or money on this book. it has very little useful information. the author spends most of the book talking in general terms about how the government is trying to keep the general public uninformed and doing nothing to solve the many instances of unexplained ufo sightings.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4