Customer Reviews for

U.S. Army Survival Manual

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    Excellent Book

    As a former United States Military Special Forces Commander I would Recommend this book to a cadet in the military academy or a plain lover of the wilderness

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    How helpful the U.S. Army Survival Manual was....

    This U.S. Army Survival Manual helped me when I was in the woods, because I was so far away from the entrance point and I ran out of food and supplies, so I looked up the U.S. Army Survival Manual that I bought from B&N store, it had so much info that i didnt know. It had what kind of plants you eat or make tools for survival in the woods. This is a great book, I recommend this to hikers and outdoor peoples.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    useful and provacative

    direct and to the point, easy to understand, and useful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Good all-around reference

    Although biased towards military survival issues and combat evasion/escape, this is still a very good general survival reference for most environments, especially forests and mountains. Like most survival books, it's pretty thin on information necessary to desert and jungle survival, and I would definitely recommend additional reading if you think you may be traveling in these areas of the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Good for beginners

    I enjoyed reading this book and it gave some very helpful information. I would agree with others that this should not be your only source of information for survival. It is very easy to read and to follow instructions with good illustrations and color pictures of plants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    OK, but there are better books out there

    While I enjoyed reading the U.S. Army Survival Manual I would not recommend it as my only survival learning text. For that honor, I prefer Gregory Davenport's book, "Wilderness Survival", which covers the same material but in a far more user friendly format. Mr. Davenport's book goes beyond the ARMY manual by giving the step by step instructions needed to do the survival tasks related to clothing, shelter, fire, water and food procurement, etc. In addition, his navigation and health chapters are far superior.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    U.S. Army Survival Manual

    As a Special Forces soldier, I read just about every book available on survival. Unfortunately, many of the bestselling books are inadequate, but the average reader probably has no way of knowing where important ommissions have occured, or simply errors. This manual is by far the best choice. Also, there is a book titled 'Danger Close' which actually describes a man going through Special Forces survival training. I highly recommend both books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    U.S. Army Survival Manual

    This is an excellent and comprensive guide to survival. As I read it, I was reminded of another five-star book entitled 'Danger Close.' In 'Danger Close' the author is actually going through Special Forces training start to finish, and he talks a lot about survival training, making shelter and so on. Both books are very good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Interesting & Practical

    While not specifically designed with that in mind, the manual has interesting and practical information for the hiker, hunter, fisherman, and outdoorsman. The illustrations are numerous and helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dull, but informative.

    Like most Army manuals (if you've read a few like I have), the Survival Manual will never win any awards for stimulating writing. The topic is essential, the information important, the presentation lousy. That's the Army way! Anyway... there is a lot of good information in here to help you survive the coming zombie apocalypse, so I would invest in this book and add it to your survival kit (I did). The edible plant info and diagrams of knots/snares make it worth the very affordable price by themselves. Survive the apocalypse, buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    Wow

    This book was the best book ive ever read in my entire life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    maggot therapy

    This book is like the NC-17 version of the Boy Scouts Handbook. It teaches you vital survival tips, such as what to do when you soil yourself during a shark attack (throw the feces as far away as possible), and how to kill small animals in hand to hand combat (drop-kicking a beaver, etc). By far the best section is on battling infection. When behind enemy lines, with no antibiotics and a run-away infection, you are advised to allow MAGGOTS to fester on the infected flesh and eat it away, and then wash them out with water or fresh urine. Straight forward advice on how to be tough as nails, and of course, amusing army-commisioned line drawings. This is one of the most hard-core books I have ever read in my life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1