Customer Reviews for

USA Today - 08/22/14

Average Rating 3
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great for the Nook!!!

I only recently have subscribed to the USA Today on the Nook Color. I think it must have come a long way since the last reviews a couple months ago. First off, don't compare the Print (or e-print) edition of any paper to its website. The website content is updated fr...
I only recently have subscribed to the USA Today on the Nook Color. I think it must have come a long way since the last reviews a couple months ago. First off, don't compare the Print (or e-print) edition of any paper to its website. The website content is updated frequently throughout any given hours of any day. So of course the print and e-print editions of news papers will be void of some of the content of the newspapers website.

I compared the print edition with the e-print edition for the Nook and everything is 100% there minus ads. The pictures and charts are all there in full color just like the print edition. The only thing I find content wise that is missing is the crossword puzzle. No biggy for me although it would be nice.

Don't hesitate to replace your more expensive print edition subscription with the e-edition version for the Nook Color!!!

posted by MichiganJoe on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

I ordered the free trial of USA Today and was very disappointed to see that the edtions on the nook are so abbreviated that more than half of the ocntent is missing. I like that there is a content menu to jump to the sections I want to see more thoroughly, however the ...
I ordered the free trial of USA Today and was very disappointed to see that the edtions on the nook are so abbreviated that more than half of the ocntent is missing. I like that there is a content menu to jump to the sections I want to see more thoroughly, however the sections that I want aren't in the nook version. I checked what was in my nook vs. whats on the website and was shocked to see there are missing headlines and some sections altogether. Is this because it's free or is it really missing that much info? I plan to cancel my subscription before the trial is up.

posted by mocachina113 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    No color, pictures, and boring

    What makes the USA Today paper so great is not what they choose to put in the digital edition. Hardly any pictures, graphs, and zero color. Its just text.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    dissapointed

    the nook version does not have the graphs and pictures that the paper does. The news coverage is too liberal for me but I could forgive that if they only covered the NHL in the Sports section.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Editorial quality declines in 2012 and 2013

    I have been reading the print and e-edition of USA Today for several years. In the past few months, the editorial quality of the e-edition has declined. City names are not capitalized in the byline, many headlines are written with no capitalization, and punctuation rules are not consistently followed. Another error is that whenever an em-dash is used in an article, the e-edition includes "-aa" instead. It seems that the programmers and editors of the e-edition have decided to switch to Twitter-style language rules. Really? Where's your professionalism? I have written letters to the editor to comment on this decline in quality, but have received no reply. Will they respond to a review? If not, I plan to cancel my subscription.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Love the print edition, not loving the e-edition

    The magazines I subscribe to have graphics and are complete in their coverage. The front page of USA Today appears on my Nook for mere seconds and then disappears. I am left with a layout that lacks imagination or creativity. Newspapers seem to want the subscription money for the e-edition but, don't put the work into the product that makes me willing to make the switch to the e-edition from the print edition. Someday soon, hopefully.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Don't waste money nook has play store now

    You can get USA TODAY, WSJ, FINANCIAL TIMES. NEW TIMES AND ALL THE OTHER BIG BOYS FOR FREE, you probably can get your local paper to you just have to look. And they can be yours in most cases the for digital version offered by the publication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    USA Today

    The graphics, presentation, etc., do not compare to the USA's website or printed addition! What's the point in subscribing to this submarginal Nook presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    generic layout

    tried out the trial subscriptions for USA today and some local papers. All were generic and didn't allow me to do a fraction of what I can do for free on the website of the publications.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Having trouble getting my USA Today for 3/14/2013 Please see that it is loaded to my nook

    Like but having trouble getting mu USA Today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Not happy.

    I really thought this would have more than the free app I have on my phone, not so. My husband brings the paper home to me when he travels. I thought how convenient it would be to be able to read on my nook on the train but there is less of the paper accessible than on my I phone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    I Got Scammed by USA Today

    Signed up for the 2 issue trial subscription and got suckered into a n on going daily subscription that looted my gift card balance. What a rip-off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    sports

    All scores are missing for a sports fan this is useless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Keeps trying to sell, just want to read

    I go to library to try to read, I can write a review but can't read. Just sucks,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    The user expereince is not like the picture

    Very poor user experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Awful formatting

    USA Today with over 1000 pages? Too much trouble to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Very disappointing

    We ordered a two-week free trial of USA Today, and we were very disappointed in the poor readability of the articles. It had no 'feel' of the actual newspaper articles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Cannot cancel no matter what I do

    They were only sending me my issue every other day or after three days and I keep cancelling it but it won't cancel and they keep coming every other day. Don't even do the trial!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Nothing Like the Print Edition

    I was displeased to see it is set in a boring format. Would have liked to have it look more like the print edition. I would re-subscribe if they improve the look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    missed the mark

    Didnt like the non-article newspaper layout. USA today should set this up more like people or us magazine where you feel like you looking at the page then click the article to view the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Terrible Customer Service

    USA Today removed the Next Article/Previous Article buttons. Tech Support told me that I now have to go to content menu, then select the new article. Before, I could just press "Next Article". These idiots just ruined the navigation, making it more difficult. I am cancelling and advise you to subscribe if you want to be aggravated and disappointed. After USA today faulted BN, BN told me to call Gannett Publishing. They want me to pay them for my aggravation and efforts. What a joke and inferior service. Avoid this ripoff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Really? I'd give it zero starts if I could

    Has anyone compared this to the free app for the iPhone? This reads like a pdf on my nook tablet. I can't believe someone would pay for this when the free app is so much easier to navigate and has photos to go with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5