BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Uganda Be Kidding Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

After reading Uganda Be Kidding Me, my new mission in life is to

After reading Uganda Be Kidding Me, my new mission in life is to get white girl wasted with Chelsea Handler in South Africa while watching stampeding elephants. It's been such a long time since I laughed this hard at a book. I even snorted. Chelsea brings back her perve...
After reading Uganda Be Kidding Me, my new mission in life is to get white girl wasted with Chelsea Handler in South Africa while watching stampeding elephants. It's been such a long time since I laughed this hard at a book. I even snorted. Chelsea brings back her perverted and saturated with alcohol humor in her latest book that gives us a peek into traveling her way.

I'll admit that I'm not usually one for non-fiction unless it's a really well written memoir, and Chelsea Handler delivers. The majority of the book follows Handler & Co. on a safari escapade in South Africa. The stories will have you getting the side-eye from anyone around you as you dissolve into bouts of laughter. If you ever doubt Chelsea's account of the trip, she provides copious amounts of entertaining pictures.

The rest of the book is comprised of tales from her other adventures. It's a refreshing break from the norm, and I loved every second of it. Chelsea's writing style is very authentic, and it feels like she's recounting a story in person. Her humor and wit prevail and make the experience that much more enjoyable. She's fearless with her words, and it's an absolutely refreshing quality in a book. I definitely recommend picking up Uganda Be Kidding Me if you're a fan of dry humor and questionably offensive wit.

**I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. My thanks to NetGalley, Grand Central Publishing, and Chelsea Handler.

posted by Kristen_Noel on March 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

"I woke up at 4:45 a.m. in Johannesburg, South Africa, in m

"I woke up at 4:45 a.m. in Johannesburg, South Africa, in my bra, underwear, and eyeshades. My head was torqued to the right due to the length and width of the pillow I was resting it on, which had the same dimensions as a panty liner. The duvet accompanying this '...
"I woke up at 4:45 a.m. in Johannesburg, South Africa, in my bra, underwear, and eyeshades. My head was torqued to the right due to the length and width of the pillow I was resting it on, which had the same dimensions as a panty liner. The duvet accompanying this 'pillow' was an inch or two wider and could have doubled as a buffet napkin." ~ pg. 12




And so begins the misadventure of comedian Chelsea Handler on safari in Africa. Complete with pictures, this fifth release by the E! Television star is hilarious. Never mind recovering from ACL surgery, Chelsea books an impromptu vacation for her and close friends/family.




Bloody Marys and champagne for the morning safari rides. Back-to-back 90-minute massages. Grandma in the back, sunroof top. Visiting an orphanage where each child had an iPad Mini or Macbook. Hot travel tips. Shenanigans of lions, tigers, baboons and elephants. These are just some of the funny moments explained in Uganda Be Kidding Me.




It's also not a Chelsea Handler book without at least one reference to a black person that causes a mayjah side-eye (see: Mount a Negro chapter). I expect nothing less from her. If you are sensitive to dry humor, then Uganda Be Kidding Me is not the book for you to read. However, if you are anything like me and enjoy sharp wit in the form of laugh-out-loud anecdotes, then add Uganda Be Kidding Me to your reading lists. It is a great choice for reading material while traveling, starting with the frequently asked traveler's questions.     Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

posted by Literary_Marie on March 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    "I woke up at 4:45 a.m. in Johannesburg, South Africa, in m

    "I woke up at 4:45 a.m. in Johannesburg, South Africa, in my bra, underwear, and eyeshades. My head was torqued to the right due to the length and width of the pillow I was resting it on, which had the same dimensions as a panty liner. The duvet accompanying this 'pillow' was an inch or two wider and could have doubled as a buffet napkin." ~ pg. 12




    And so begins the misadventure of comedian Chelsea Handler on safari in Africa. Complete with pictures, this fifth release by the E! Television star is hilarious. Never mind recovering from ACL surgery, Chelsea books an impromptu vacation for her and close friends/family.




    Bloody Marys and champagne for the morning safari rides. Back-to-back 90-minute massages. Grandma in the back, sunroof top. Visiting an orphanage where each child had an iPad Mini or Macbook. Hot travel tips. Shenanigans of lions, tigers, baboons and elephants. These are just some of the funny moments explained in Uganda Be Kidding Me.




    It's also not a Chelsea Handler book without at least one reference to a black person that causes a mayjah side-eye (see: Mount a Negro chapter). I expect nothing less from her. If you are sensitive to dry humor, then Uganda Be Kidding Me is not the book for you to read. However, if you are anything like me and enjoy sharp wit in the form of laugh-out-loud anecdotes, then add Uganda Be Kidding Me to your reading lists. It is a great choice for reading material while traveling, starting with the frequently asked traveler's questions.     Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    After reading Uganda Be Kidding Me, my new mission in life is to

    After reading Uganda Be Kidding Me, my new mission in life is to get white girl wasted with Chelsea Handler in South Africa while watching stampeding elephants. It's been such a long time since I laughed this hard at a book. I even snorted. Chelsea brings back her perverted and saturated with alcohol humor in her latest book that gives us a peek into traveling her way.

    I'll admit that I'm not usually one for non-fiction unless it's a really well written memoir, and Chelsea Handler delivers. The majority of the book follows Handler & Co. on a safari escapade in South Africa. The stories will have you getting the side-eye from anyone around you as you dissolve into bouts of laughter. If you ever doubt Chelsea's account of the trip, she provides copious amounts of entertaining pictures.

    The rest of the book is comprised of tales from her other adventures. It's a refreshing break from the norm, and I loved every second of it. Chelsea's writing style is very authentic, and it feels like she's recounting a story in person. Her humor and wit prevail and make the experience that much more enjoyable. She's fearless with her words, and it's an absolutely refreshing quality in a book. I definitely recommend picking up Uganda Be Kidding Me if you're a fan of dry humor and questionably offensive wit.

    **I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. My thanks to NetGalley, Grand Central Publishing, and Chelsea Handler.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Horrible!

    I can' t belive that anyone would pay any mony what-so-ever for this wast of time! Take my advice,DON'T READ THIS IF YOU VALUE YOUR BRAIN CELLS!

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    I regret purchasing this book and have archived it for now and w

    I regret purchasing this book and have archived it for now and when I can figure out how to delete it I will. Disgusting. I should have researched this before I sullied my eyes. Got to about page 9 before I knew I would not continue.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Not worth it!

    A very disappointing effort from the usually hysterical Chelsea Handler. First of all, the book is filled with errors. Second of all, the stories are lacking in detail and humor. Most read as a brag book to how wealthy and deserving Ms. Chandler has become due to her celebrity status. Add to this several crude...almost vicious...so called jokes about Jews, blacks, Germans and gays. This book is difficult to pick back up and finish! Don't waste your money.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    It deserves 0 stars. I want a refund.

    It deserves 0 stars. I want a refund.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    This book was awful. I consider myself to be a fan of Chelsea Ha

    This book was awful. I consider myself to be a fan of Chelsea Handler, as well as her other books. However, Uganda Be Kidding Me fell drunkenly face-first into its own vomit. Not only was the humor forced and repetitive, but she presents herself as this child incapable of any adult activity that doesn't include margaritas and spending lavish amounts of money. She apparently learned a new word - "infantilized" - and while she seems to think it's a compliment, she only reveals her inability to cope with daily life.

    She should also fire her editors, ASAP. They seem to have been as drunk as she was while proofing this book.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    This book was just what I needed to grab a few laughs. Excellant

    This book was just what I needed to grab a few laughs. Excellant! Words of advice...not to be read in public places because you will get stranges looks for all the outward laughs you will be enjoying!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    oops...

    Loved all THE books :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    It's pee your pants funny

    My best friend Brant turned me on to Chelsea Handler

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Had it's moments but didn't measure up to earlier Chelsea books

    I'm a HUGE fan of Chelsea but have been let down by Lies Chelsea Handler told me and now this book. It was funny at times, but not as relatable as her earlier books that featured more about her early life and family. It improved towards the end when it focused more on her life that was not related to the trip.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Not good

    Just not good

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Not good

    Just was not funny. To be honest i only read about 1/2 and fhen gave it to a freind who finish it but also didnt like it. She said she would give it 2 stars.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    Horrible book, was once a fan of chelsea handler, not any more, shes a vulgar, vile woman. And if youve seen her on other talk show shes not very funny. She tries to hard to be shocking and it fails. Save your money dont buy the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    I love this book!! I was in tear from laughing!!

    I love this book!! I was in tear from laughing!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Not impressed

    Total let down. Really enjoyed her other books. This one was pointless and a complete waste of my time.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    I was hoping for more

    If you watch her show everyday like I do, there weren't many surprises :(

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    Save your money

    I did not like this book. Save your money.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Oh no

    Terrible book, I stopped reading it pretty early into it. Many disgusting stories, too much drinking and so proud of it! How dissapointing after this and her other book My horizontal life" (pretty discusting as well), would never buy another book of hers ever again. Even one star is way too much.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    Not very funny. " Are You There,Vodka" was funny. This

    Not very funny. " Are You There,Vodka" was funny. This one is not.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4