Customer Reviews for

Uglies (Uglies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2046 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1318)

4 Star

(441)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

107 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good!

Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, ...
Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

posted by Ishy on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Boring to me

I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was....
I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was. I didn't like how Tally was so willing to conform to the stupid system of becoming pretty and all that. It held my interest for a bit, but I was never captivated, or wrapped up in the book so much I couldn't tear myself away.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2059 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 103
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shockingly Good!

    Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
    The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
    I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

    107 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring to me

    I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was. I didn't like how Tally was so willing to conform to the stupid system of becoming pretty and all that. It held my interest for a bit, but I was never captivated, or wrapped up in the book so much I couldn't tear myself away.

    43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!

    I have read this book and the rest of this series several times. And each time I find or realize something new about the characters or the plot. It keeps you guessing no matter how many times you read it. The basic story is it is set in the future and when you turn 16 you go under the knife and be changed from an ugly to a pretty. This book follows a trouble making uglie's journey before her surgery. Makes new friends and enemies. And not only is this book good but the entire series is good! I reccomend this to anyone in need of a good book to read!!

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as superficial as it may seem...

    Whenever I saw this book a while back, I never wanted to read it because the title sounded so preppy and shallow. I would have expected the book to be more of a "girly" book about beauty, boys, etc. etc. However, there's way more to this book that meets the eye. <BR/><BR/>Once I started reading, I was hooked. This book tells the story about a future world where everyone becomes "pretty" on their sixteenth birthday. It was intriguing to read about such a society that focuses solely on image. It really makes you think about how we see beauty today. So many things had changed from our modern world-- it was interesting to think about. <BR/>The plot and characters were also superb. The main character is Tally, an "ugly" who can't wait to turn pretty. But then she meets Shay. Shay is another ugly who isn't sure she wants to be pretty. She opens Tally's eyes to a whole new world, and Tally is thrust headfirst into it. The characters continue to interest you throughout the story and the plot keeps you at the edge of your seat. <BR/><BR/>Overall, I would wholeheartedly reccommend this book, especially to teen readers. Despite the seemingly superficial title, this book actually has some strong morals and themes. Just goes to show, don't judge a book by it's cover (or title, in this case) ;-)

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible!

    I loved this book! It is awsome! I related to Tally so much. Me being a girl and having to be presurred by super model gorgeuseness. This book helped me realize that if you be who you are nothing can stop you. Stand up for what you believe in and whats right. Tally Youngblood is a smart determined girl to turn pretty.But when one of her friends doesn't want to turn pretty she starts questioning what it will actually mean to be pretty, other than the non-stop fun and parties. I think Tally is a girl to look up to. In the end, Tally makes a decision that does and will change her life forever. Read this book! It keeps people at the edge of there seats! Once i picked it up i couldn't put it down. It is adventures and said 'crap' here and there and had pleasure gardens and kissing but nothing graphic and nothing to into deteail. I recommend for girls ages 10-14. Tally is beautiful at heart.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Uglies

    I originally became aware of this series (Uglies, Pretties, Specials & Extras) because of my daughter. She was 12 at the time and a little young for the books, I thought. Now that I have finally read the start of the series, I think that belief was unfounded. When I hear that a book is categorized as Young Adult I automatically think 14+.<BR/><BR/>SV, my 14 (almost 15) year old read the first three in the series this past summer. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Tally, Shay David, Croy and all the rest. There world is our world... 300 or so years later. The "ruins" are our cities - crumbled, burned, destroyed. There is a definite message to us, now, in Uglies. We need to stop living like "What I do doesn't matter to anyone but me".<BR/><BR/>As far as the "operation" that everyone has when they turn 16 (everyone except those that have conviction enough to runaway) that scares me. There is already a belief in this country that it's okay to give your children plastic surgery for a high school graduation gift or even a 16th birthday present. I won't go on about how wrong I think this is.<BR/><BR/>There is a total cliffhanger ending to Uglies. I am finding it hard to NOT pick up Pretties which is now sitting in my bookcase since I thieved it from my 14 year old daughter's bookcase. =)

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    Uglies by Cott Westerfield

    Uglies by Scott Westerfield


    Well, I really hated this book. I will give it one star but I would rate it lower if I could. Here are some of the reasons why I didn't like this book:
    . It was extremely boring especially before the rusty ruins, not enough drama or suspense
    . Very odd plot with no explanations such as pretties, uglies and specials
    . Not my kind of topic that I like to read, not enough action or suspense
    Well, the plot is very diverse and large with many side stories to it. It starts out a 15 year old girl named Tally is about to turn into a "pretty". Her new friend Shay doesn't like that idea of being artificially beautiful. She appreciates our inner beauty for what it was. She wants to run away to a place called the "Smoke" which is an illegal hideout for the "Uglies". The pretty authorities find out about this and send Tally to locate the smoke so they can destroy it. Her close friends are kidnapped and she must save them. I would say the main action in the book was trying to be pretty.
    I believe the main lesson learned by the characters was that freedom isn't free. You must fight to win freedom but not for yourself, but others too. You have to maintain this freedom whether it is by force or peacefully. This lesson especially applies to our world because we aren't under one flag. There are communist, dictatorships and tyrannical rulers in this world. The free nations of the world like the US have to spend trillions just to maintain freedom and prosperity in this world.




    I would recommend this book to my mom. I would recommend Uglies to her because she simply loves to read. I would think it would be more of her type of book since it wasn't as violent or action type. She likes books with suspense too and this book has at least some of it.
    Overall, I did not like this book but I believe many other people will like this book way more than me. Try It!

    By Keenan Cromshaw

    12 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    Scott Westerfeld has a brilliant imagination. This book was a page turner and left me wanting more. Thank God there are sequels. I can't wait to see what happens when Tally becomes "pretty"! Highly recommended for teens and adults.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome

    I read all the books...... so much better than Twilight.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    worst book ever!

    When i first started reading this book, i thought it was okay. Sure, it takes some time to get what's going on but whatever. As I moved foward though, it started getting pointless and boring. I had to force myself to keep reading until it got to the point where I just left it there and said goodbye. I would definetly NOT recommend this book...

    9 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Uglies

    Scott Westerfeld's novel, Uglies, is about what things could be like after we harm our environment on Earth too much. Don't be fooled thinking this is a book only warning us about global warming, however.
    Tally Youngblood will soon turn sixteen, the age she's been waiting for her entire life. At the age of sixteen, people finally get to have the operation that will make them pretty. However, she will soon learn from a new friend, Shay, that there are risks no one know about when getting the operation. Below is a quote of Shay and Tally talking about the advantages and disadvantages of getting the operation:
    "Shay! Come on. it's just for fun."
    "Making ourselves feel ugly is not fun."
    "We are ugly!"
    "This whole game is just designed to make us hate ourselves."
    Tally groaned and flopped back onto her bed, glaring up at the ceiling. Shay could be so weird sometimes. She always had a chip on her shoulder about the operation, like someone was making her turn sixteen. "Right, and things were so great back when everyone was ugly. or did you miss that day in school?"
    "Yeah, yeah, I know," Shay recited. "Everyone judged everyone else based on their appearance. People who were taller got better jobs, and people even voted for some politicians just because they weren't quite as ugly as everybody else. Blah, blah, blah."
    "Yeah, and people killed one another over stuff like having different skin color." Tally shook her head. No matter how many times they repeated it at school, she'd never quite believed that one. "So what if people look more alike now? It's the only way to make people equal."
    Scott Westerfeld dives into a new world about deception, knowledge, and what true friendship really is.
    The book is very well done. Westerfeld makes up his own new words like "Rusties" and "Smokies" but he does an excellent job at describing what his new terms are.
    Uglies will keep you on the edge of your seat, waiting to see what happens next in this adventurous and suspenseful book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    this was a goood book!

    This was a really good book! It was so good i read all the series! It yiu like adventures and thrilling books you'll like this one.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Wow

    This book i must say is amazing gives a true idea of its mot always so bright on the other side ; D

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Full of everything good!!

    This is a great romance, action book for teens. Im 11 and i still love the series. Just finished the third book. The storys get twisted and r just awesome. I highly reccomnd the series!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    Uglies

    The book Uglies by Scott Westerfeld is a good book,i give it 5/5 stars. I like the fact that Tally goes through betrayals and side changes. The problems Tally faces are realistic,like when she has to chose to go or to stay at the Smoke. This book also has loveable characters, like the wild david.

    The story begins with the main charicter,Tally, sneaks into New Pretty Town to ser her old freind Peris. She meest a nother ugly Shay there. When Shay runs away a organazation calls Tally in to help find her. She gois to a place called The Smoke and meast David. She is forced to make a decision,stay with David in the smoke or go back to the city and become a pretty.

    In This book Tlly learns that sometimes o follow your heart,you have to break the rules. This applied to me when m parnest wanted to get rid of my gold fish. When i found out i hid him under my bed for 3 days. When my parents found out i got in trouble.

    I would recomend this book to people 12- younger people wouldn't understand, and older people wouldn't care about this book. This book has plenty of action,like when Tally and the smoke is atacked my the specals. This book also has some romance, like when Tally and David kiss. In conclution thid book has a ending that will leave you breathless.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    well............

    ok so this series wasn't "horrible" but i wouldn't necessarily call it "good" either. i love to read books- i mean LOVE to - and alot of the books that i read captivate me so much that i cant put the book down and i keep checking to see how many pages are left because im scared that it will end. the uglies trilogy never captivated me like that and when i checked to see how many pages were left, it was because i couldn't wait until it was over. i found my self reading just so that i could finish instead of reading for fun -- i kept hoping it would get better -- i kept hoping it would get better threw specials and it didn't so i have no desire to read extras. this book wasn't right for me so if i were you i wouldn't waste my time on this series. however, if you want to read something science-fictiony and futeristic then i recommend the host by stephenie meyer. if your into books where the main characters go on journeys away from home, then i recommend My fair godmother by jenette Rasilion and wing by e.d. baker and the s.a.s.s. series by various authors. however if you absolutely loved this book then a book that i found had similar writing style is magic or madness by justine larbalestier.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Poor

    If you are older than 12 you have no business reading this overly simplistic, childish book. If you're looking for dystopia read a real book, like The Time Machine by H.G. Wells, Animal Farm by George Orwell, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, The Jungle by Upton Sinclair, etc.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Love it

    I read the free sample and i can't put it down. I have to know whats next. ( :?) Ugly )

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Interesting Book!

    I have to read this book for a reading class and it is really good so far.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Hi spot read this

    U should totally read this book girls can kick but as bad as boy

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2059 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 103