Customer Reviews for

Uglies (Uglies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2041 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1315)

4 Star

(441)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good!

Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, ...
Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

posted by Ishy on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Boring to me

I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was....
I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was. I didn't like how Tally was so willing to conform to the stupid system of becoming pretty and all that. It held my interest for a bit, but I was never captivated, or wrapped up in the book so much I couldn't tear myself away.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2054 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 103
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    The Uglies series had it's strengths and weaknesses. The scenari

    The Uglies series had it's strengths and weaknesses. The scenario was very interesting and thought-provoking. Especially in the first book, lots of questions were raised about loyalty, truthfulness, and being comfortable with how you look. However, the vocabulary was not very advanced and the plot was predictable. After a quarter of the book, I could have told you what would happen. Overall, it was a quick, fun series, but not very challenging.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great book! ~Greengirl

    Hello. I'm back! I'm that 13 year old girl a while back that said she wasn't sure about the book. Well guess what? IT WAS AWESOME!!! It really brought me into the story. Very well written. I will warn you though, the beginning is a bit slow, but that is only to get you to know the characters better. So don't be put down trust me, you will want to keep reading!

    Oh! If you're wondering about my independant book project...
    I GOT AN A- !!! WHOO- HOOO! XD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Loved It!

    <3 this book was so good!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Uglies

    This book is so amazing. Evertime i finish it, i re- read it. BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Ewwwwwwww!!!!

    This book wa horrible i had to stop reading it right in the middl because it was sk bad i hated it you shiulnever read this book!!!!! That was about 6 hours of my life tht ill never get back do yourself a favor and do not read this book!!!!! Oh yeah and i wish yiu coul pick zero star but it wouldnt let me so there yiu have it.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!! THE BEST!!! A MUST READ BOOK!!!

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!! It is well written and is one of the best science fiction i have ever read!! It is exciting and very very good!!! It is about how being ugly isn't always bad just like being pretty isn't always good!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Extremely Boring

    I am currently reading Uglies for school summer reading, and I have found that it is one of the most dull books that I have ever bothered to read. The main character, Tally, is very stupid and shallow, as her whole life is centered around becoming Pretty, so much so that she would betray her friend to do it.The only good thing about it is that it is a very quick read. Please do not waste your time and money on this book- if you really must read it, get it from the library. You may regret ever picking it up.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Perfect combination

    This great book has action, drama, romance, suspense, twists and turns that will leave you hanging to that slight ledge the author gives you. The most amazing book i've read in a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So I'd seen this book around for ages and decided to pick it up

    So I'd seen this book around for ages and decided to pick it up on one of my book-buying shopping sprees, and I'm glad I did. It ended up being better than I expected.

    Uglies is about a girl who is set to have surgery to become 'pretty' which is what all the Uglies with to be. They dream about the day they become 'Pretty' and Talia is no exception. Things go awry for Talia when she meets Shay, a girl who was willing to do anything, but become pretty. She runs away leaving Talia to deal with 'Special Circumstances' which is the equivalent for the law in this dystopian world.

    I wouldn't say that the pace of the story was all that quick, in fact, in some ways it was kind of dull, but when it did speed up, it became quite a good book. I liked the world Scott Westerfeld made, but at the same time I hated it. The people in this world forgot that personality counted for something, and they had real self-image problems.

    Talia was like this as well at the start. What I liked was that I saw her grow from someone who had issues with a way a person looked, including herself, to someone who had a sense of self-worth. She was incredibly brave, but at the same time incredibly stupid. And there was no denying that at the end, she was incredibly loyal. I liked her. I had to wonder about her parents though. Kids in this world left their parent when they were around twelve. I had to wonder what kind of relationship she had had with her parents beforehand. There was no back story.

    David was adorable. He was the kind of person who befriended everyone. Despite the dangerous life he led, he trusted people. But, I don't think it was a mindless trust. He had been raised to survive. And, his faith in people was hard to shake. He accepted a lot of thing, like people leaving 'the Smoke' to become Pretty. I guess he had a sense of naivete about him. I like that he grew up with his family and I got to know a bit about them.

    And I have to mention Shay, because she was the one who started Talia's adventure. She was a character I really liked as well. Mainly because she made Talia believe that there were different options out there for her. She was the one who believed the most in Talia, until Talia did something she didn't like - even if it wasn't Talia's fault. Even towards the very end, she stood up for what she believed in.

    The story line for this book was okay. And, I'm really impressed that for a book that was published seven years ago, it stills hold that edge that good dystopian books do. I won't say it's as good as some I've read, but it wasn't the worst either. And I definitely liked some of the world-building behind it. It could have been expanded more, but at least I knew the theory behind them becoming a Uglies/Pretties society.

    I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys dystopian novels and who doesn't mind the pace being a bit slow at the start.

    Book review from Sandy at Magical Manuscripts.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Amazing!

    When I read the first sentence of this book, "The early summer sky was the color of cat vomit.", I thought, Oh great, this is going to be another one of those books that try to hook in humor-loving kids. But I kept reading amd I was so glad I did because it was nothing like I had imagined.

    The book was very well written and kept me captivated all the way through. The plot was amazing and it wowed me. This story is not like your usual, average book set in the future, but instead it was a totally different twist. There are technology no one has ever thought of, characters that should NOT be alive, and of course, Tally, the strong female character that is true to human nature. She makes mistakes, decides to make choices, whether good or bad, that we could all imagine ourselves making, and has feelings we would all feel if we were in her situation.

    I love this book so much. I will even admit that I would love to be part of this story. It is so well written that you can imagine yourself in the setting, as the character, making decisions, observing others, doing everyday things. I read this book three times and I don't plan on storing it away. It had everything I love in a book: romance, action, adventure, suspense and betrayal. This was a fantastic read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    concerned reviewer

    Just from reading the overview I dont believe this book is a good choice for young readers, myself included, because it's telling us that we're ugly until we have a special operation to become beautiful. That isn' t true!! I dont want to sound like a religious freak or anything here, but the Bible says that God sees everyone the same, whether your "ugly" or "pretty" or "popular" or anything that people or the world tags you as, you are beautiful in your own way without any operations or tons of makeup and nice clothes. You are who you choose to be, not who your friend or your spouse chooses, who YOU choose. So dont go around thinkinI g " oh I wish i had her body!" Becuse research shows that if u got an operation and you got that "perfect" body that you picture in you mind, you would want a different one because all the sudden that body isn't good enough. I hope this review has changed your perspective on how you see others and how you see yourself as well.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome book read this whole series it was awesome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Hated it

    It was horrible i hated it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Boring...

    I really did not like this book. I started to read it a little under a year ago but didn't even get past the 5th chapter. I found it to be really boring and hard to follow (and thats only the first couple of chapters!) However I have heard good things about this book and might have enjoyed it if I had stuck with it. But I need a book that sparks my interest from the beginning and this definitely did not.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    A page turner

    I bought this aas a gift for a teen, but dipped into it, and HAD to finish reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disapointing!!!

    geesh... i thouhgt this book will be great... but its horrible...<BR/>the storyline is wack!!!<BR/>i'm sorry if i being a hater but it didn't live up to my standards!!!!<BR/>its just so boring!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Great book for you and your friends

    This is a great book for all ages. This book is about Tally a young girl who is faced with a life changing desion. The decision to break a promise and help find her friend who doesn't want to be found, or to never get an operation that you receive when turning 16. The operation would make her pretty so she would not have to live alone and die ugly. Tally's choice will change everything. She will learn somethings that make the pretty world look ugly. I loved this book because of the adventure. You will never put it down. The wording is so good I can picture everything that happens from the color of the sky to the party tower in new Prettyvill. The book makes you think what would you do if you had to make that choice. You will be on your toes hoping to read more, but having to put it down you will read it under the covers in bed wishing there was more time to find out what happens next. This story will show you that someone may love you even if you think you're not pretty. Also you will learn that people make mistakes that may ruin everything but if given a second chance they may fix them and make it right.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    !AMAZING BOOK!

    The Uglies is a very thrilling, emotional and adventurous book on a girl named Tally who lives in the Ugly World. The book was fascinating the entire time and some parts you were just like Oh Mi Gosh, I HAVE to read the next chapter. I defiinatley suggest for you to read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    MAYBE NOT THE BOOK FOR ME

    i usually have no problem with reading books but as for UGLIES.... lets just say its one of the worst books i have ever read in a long time .hopefully i will have no more experiences like i just did with UGLIES.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    An 8th grader

    this book was horrible!! it just dragged on and on. i only continued to read it because i had to read it for summer reading. i would not recommend this book. waste of money and time! DO NOT BUY!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2054 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 103