Customer Reviews for

Uglies (Uglies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2041 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1315)

4 Star

(441)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good!

Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, ...
Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

posted by Ishy on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Boring to me

I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was....
I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was. I didn't like how Tally was so willing to conform to the stupid system of becoming pretty and all that. It held my interest for a bit, but I was never captivated, or wrapped up in the book so much I couldn't tear myself away.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    Okay-ish

    I wasn't entirely impressed with the novel. It was ok, and I'm glad I read it and it was worthwhile, but I probably won't read it ever again. The plot was fine and not tremendously revolting, but the novel itself and how it was written....it was a slow book to me. One of the main characters, Tally, has to travel to another place and the journey itself is nearly half of the book. When she's taking this journey, she's alone so all the author talks about is her surroundings and her thoughts...boring to me. When she does arrive there and they tell Tally the biggest 'secret' of the novel, I was simply disappointed in what the secret was. I don't know, I guess I expected something a bit more dramatic with how they made such a big deal out of getting to the special 'place'. It's a futuristic story and I thought that was interesting, along with the cool inventions they had. I also thought it was amusing that they pretty much insulted the 'rusties' 'which are us, present day' in history class. In my school, some people agreed with me - disappointing - and others thought it was amazing. I would suggest reading the book and finding out for yourself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    I started reading this book but I couldn't get attached to it. I

    I started reading this book but I couldn't get attached to it. I really wanted to finish it but when I got to page 100, I had to put it down and give up. The main character was boring and I felt like the dialogue was childish. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Okay....

    I have read better books. This definately was not a favorite if mine. You may have a diff. Opinion than me nut honestly I did not care for it that much. Kind of bored me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Uglies

    Honetly this book kinda bored me some parts were exciting but I geuss I am not really the type who likes fiction so It might be good to others but its not really THE book to read. Hope you like it better than I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Uglies

    Tally Youngblood, a fifteen-year-old girl, lives in the future. Everybody who hasn¿t had an operation to make them look like a supermodel when they turn sixteen is an Ugly. They live in a college campus-like town, called Uglyville. Those who have turned sixteen, Pretties, live in New Pretty Town, where they do nothing but party. Life is very superficial. After a daring trip into New Pretty Town, which is forbidden to Uglies, Tally meets a girl whose birthday is the same as hers, Shay. Shay has learned about a place called the Smoke, where she runs off to before their sixteenth birthday, because she believes being a Pretty isn¿t worth it. A myth to Uglies and Pretties alike, the Specials force Tally to find Shay, or else she can¿t become a Pretty. I found this book to be a little strange. Honestly, this book seemed a bit superficial to me. Barbie dolls for me are fine. I can handle supermodels. Heck, even the Disney Princesses are better that this. But plastic surgery that everybody must have to be treated like an equal? If this is what the world is going to come to, I¿m moving to Mars. People have to realize they don¿t have to be the same in order to be a great person, like Shay realizes. I didn¿t like this book that much for those reasons.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Bree

    I never understood this book and maybe thats why i gave up on it 5 days after

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    OBOB

    This a OBOB book sry i live in oregon so just BOB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Uglies.

    Uglies was not the best book I have read. The way the author writes this book makes it hard for me to relate to the main character. She seems too apathetic and flat to have made the decisions she did. It was painful for me to finish. However the next books were more likable for me, begining with Extra's as my top favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    DiamondSolace Review

    This book truly is "ugly" which is horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Hi

    You just wasted your time clicking on this get a life looser

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    TAP HERE!!!!

    Well that was a waste of your time wasn't it!!! Lol

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Errrr

    I liked it at first and than i got board in the middle when she (SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT) arrived at the smoke and was gonna tell shay about the speacial circumstances....i'm not done though sooooo....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Fantastically strange story, scary enough to be believable!

    As society continues to push the perfect face, body, hair, skin etc... at almost any cost- this book brings those costs to life, literally! This story is set many, many years into our future and describes a society that believes you only attain true value by becoming Pretty, until then you are labeled Ugly- a very unworthy place to be. This future society is the brainwashed future generation of ourselves today. Just as we should understand today that beauty goes well beyond the size of our eyes, the color of our skin or our dress size- this future society needs to learn what we loose when we are willing to give up who we are to be accepted by society by becoming Pretty at any cost. This story is the first in a series of 4 books. All very much as riveting- do read them all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Eh. If your really bored .....

    I'm not proud to admit it, I did get sucked into reading the whole series. It doesn't get any better, but now I need to know what happens to Tally & Zane. But after reading this series I think I'll read something more ...... smart making.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finally Finished

    At first, I really didn't enjoy this book that much. The first 200 pages or so bored me to death and I just wanted to put the book down and and host a giveaway. I thought maybe someone else would like it more than I would, because it's a pretty popular YA series.


    After the first 200 pages, things started to pick up and I started to get more engrossed in the story. The plot and characters became more refreshing and the entire "feel" of the book took a 180 for me. Do you ever pick up a book and just not even want to read it because the feel of it just doesnt do it for you? That's what I felt in the beginning of Uglies.


    Am I going to read the sequels? It depends. As long as I have other books to read, I probably won't end up buying Pretties. What I mean by that, is my TBR (To Be Read) list is never-ending so as long as I have something else on my shelves, chances are... Pretties will not be in my shopping cart.



    Overall, the book itself isn't a bad one; it's just not my preference.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ummm...what the frig?

    oay, i have read a million boos in my lifetime but i honestly did not understand this book. i made it to the fifth chapter and gave up. i did not understand any of it. and i am a smart person. i didnt get it and felt like the writer needed to explain more about whatever the frig was going on. but, thats just my opinion.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ugh

    This book was okay but if you read the rest of the series its terrible! I read this book for summer reading it was pretty good so I decided to read the rest of the series. The series was sooo bad that i couldn't finish the series I read all the books except for the last one. Even if the series is bad i always finish it but this one was very dissapointing and sad. I would not recommed this book or the series. Sorry to be a downer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Not as good as i expected =[

    I read this book because my friends recommended it and both of them liked it. When I read this book I found it very confusing and not very interesting at all. The characters were very shallow and it didnt make much sense to me. But I still read pretties because I thought it might be better, but it was worse. Pretties was even more boring and i couldn't even get through it. I thought the summaries on the back of both books were decieving and made the books sound more interesting than they actually were.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Eh

    I didn't really enjoy this. I had to give up half way through because it wasn't exactly exciting. Now, don't get me wrong, it's very...different, but not exactly my style of exciting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    BORING!!!

    i read the first hundred or so pages of this book and i almost fell asleep. it was nothng like what my friends said it would be. it was confusing and unexplained at points and the characters, and setting were unbelievably strange. my conclusion:why did i have to buy the rest of the trilogy in advance!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4