Customer Reviews for

Uglies (Uglies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2057 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1324)

4 Star

(444)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

108 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good!

Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, ...
Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

posted by Ishy on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Boring to me

I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was....
I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was. I didn't like how Tally was so willing to conform to the stupid system of becoming pretty and all that. It held my interest for a bit, but I was never captivated, or wrapped up in the book so much I couldn't tear myself away.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shockingly Good!

    Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
    The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
    I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

    108 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Uglies

    I originally became aware of this series (Uglies, Pretties, Specials & Extras) because of my daughter. She was 12 at the time and a little young for the books, I thought. Now that I have finally read the start of the series, I think that belief was unfounded. When I hear that a book is categorized as Young Adult I automatically think 14+.<BR/><BR/>SV, my 14 (almost 15) year old read the first three in the series this past summer. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Tally, Shay David, Croy and all the rest. There world is our world... 300 or so years later. The "ruins" are our cities - crumbled, burned, destroyed. There is a definite message to us, now, in Uglies. We need to stop living like "What I do doesn't matter to anyone but me".<BR/><BR/>As far as the "operation" that everyone has when they turn 16 (everyone except those that have conviction enough to runaway) that scares me. There is already a belief in this country that it's okay to give your children plastic surgery for a high school graduation gift or even a 16th birthday present. I won't go on about how wrong I think this is.<BR/><BR/>There is a total cliffhanger ending to Uglies. I am finding it hard to NOT pick up Pretties which is now sitting in my bookcase since I thieved it from my 14 year old daughter's bookcase. =)

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Uglies

    Scott Westerfeld's novel, Uglies, is about what things could be like after we harm our environment on Earth too much. Don't be fooled thinking this is a book only warning us about global warming, however.
    Tally Youngblood will soon turn sixteen, the age she's been waiting for her entire life. At the age of sixteen, people finally get to have the operation that will make them pretty. However, she will soon learn from a new friend, Shay, that there are risks no one know about when getting the operation. Below is a quote of Shay and Tally talking about the advantages and disadvantages of getting the operation:
    "Shay! Come on. it's just for fun."
    "Making ourselves feel ugly is not fun."
    "We are ugly!"
    "This whole game is just designed to make us hate ourselves."
    Tally groaned and flopped back onto her bed, glaring up at the ceiling. Shay could be so weird sometimes. She always had a chip on her shoulder about the operation, like someone was making her turn sixteen. "Right, and things were so great back when everyone was ugly. or did you miss that day in school?"
    "Yeah, yeah, I know," Shay recited. "Everyone judged everyone else based on their appearance. People who were taller got better jobs, and people even voted for some politicians just because they weren't quite as ugly as everybody else. Blah, blah, blah."
    "Yeah, and people killed one another over stuff like having different skin color." Tally shook her head. No matter how many times they repeated it at school, she'd never quite believed that one. "So what if people look more alike now? It's the only way to make people equal."
    Scott Westerfeld dives into a new world about deception, knowledge, and what true friendship really is.
    The book is very well done. Westerfeld makes up his own new words like "Rusties" and "Smokies" but he does an excellent job at describing what his new terms are.
    Uglies will keep you on the edge of your seat, waiting to see what happens next in this adventurous and suspenseful book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    this was a goood book!

    This was a really good book! It was so good i read all the series! It yiu like adventures and thrilling books you'll like this one.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Interesting Book!

    I have to read this book for a reading class and it is really good so far.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Loved It!

    <3 this book was so good!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good

    Already read it so its good. Going to read the series again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    GOOD READ

    This was a very unique dystopian story. I look forward to continuing in this series. This is a read very much worth your money and time. Kudos to the authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Okay

    The beginning is really good but then it gets a little boring. I am reading the second one now. I hope it is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Good

    A chunk of dry but overall good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Good book! ;)

    This book is very interesting, and keeps u reading it. I couldnt put it down!it is different than any book i have ever read, and is a great scifi futuristic fiction for pre teens!(is the second book good? I havnt read it yet.)



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It has taken me nearly a decade to finally read this series. I r

    It has taken me nearly a decade to finally read this series. I remember this series being all over the young adult section at Barnes &amp; Noble. But now that I'm older, I'm really glad I picked this story up. What I really like about Westerfeld is that his main characters are not &quot;chosen ones.&quot; They don't have super powers or are treated like Mary Sues. Tally is a young girl, living in a realistic, yet unsettling world about no war or disease. While she wants to be pretty, she gets caught in a situation that's bigger than she thought. Tally is likeable, and you sense her confusion as the story unfolds. You get sucked into the world easily. Westerfeld really nails the &quot;image obsessed&quot; society perfectly, with several correlations to our own world now. The only slight complaint is that I felt that David wasn't fully developed as a male character yet. His dialogue is a little too simliar to Tally's. But I loved this introductory book! With all the awful paranormal romances and bland dystopians out there, Uglies is a near future novel that could be possible. While it's almost a decade old series, Westerfeld never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    I havent read it

    How many pages?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    :))

    This is a pretty good series but maybe not the best begining....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    this series is amazing

    this series is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Great quick read!

    This is a great book in that it is a quick read. It is interesting with a theme that hasn't been done before (to my knowledge).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    exciting

    An exciting and interesting read. Recommended for ages 10 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Oh my glob

    I read this book 2 years ago and I was completly in love with it and I re-read it this year it was harder to read this time around because I thought I would already know how it went but I was suprised because it was like I was reading it again for the first times with so many twist and turns and the romance and action! Recomend to everyone over 10 yrs of age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Unique read for me...unexpected enjoyment

    I am not usually one for sy-fy but this plot intigued me. Enjoyed it but had to fast read some of the action bits...just got kind of hard to follow when the technology and equipment were quite complex...and for sy-fy "kinda out there". Read all four books...ending felt a bit rushed like the author hit his page limit and had to end. Kinda disappointed in that but it did come together for a little "ah ha" moment. Still recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Book full of suspense and extremely compelling! 

    Book full of suspense and extremely compelling! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 444 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23