Customer Reviews for

Uglies (Uglies Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2042 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1315)

4 Star

(441)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good!

Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, ...
Honestly, I'm the kind of girl who loves Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars, and anything else fantasy and otherwise. So when I saw the cover of this book and the title, I outwardly laughed at the idiocy! But after much persuasion from my friends and countless begging, I picked it up. I was amazed at the fact that A) This is a Sci-Fi B) It's about false utopias and C) It's good!
The story is unique and compelling. The ideas are challenging and thought provoking and, without giving too much away, the relationship junk (my opinions are mine) isn't the main focus, but instead a great add in and is sufficient to those hopeless romantics (which believe it or not, I am). The author, although male, proves to be able to write brilliantly in the teenage girl voice that even many female writers cannot master.
I give this book an A+ for the stupendous ability to capture a harsh critic like myself.

posted by Ishy on October 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Boring to me

I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was....
I hate book-haters, because negativity just brings those who may love a certain book down. I'll just say I didn't think this book was right for ME. I personally like to read books in which the characters are rebellious themselves, much more like Tally's friend Shay was. I didn't like how Tally was so willing to conform to the stupid system of becoming pretty and all that. It held my interest for a bit, but I was never captivated, or wrapped up in the book so much I couldn't tear myself away.

posted by Reads_a_lot on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1315 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!

    I have read this book and the rest of this series several times. And each time I find or realize something new about the characters or the plot. It keeps you guessing no matter how many times you read it. The basic story is it is set in the future and when you turn 16 you go under the knife and be changed from an ugly to a pretty. This book follows a trouble making uglie's journey before her surgery. Makes new friends and enemies. And not only is this book good but the entire series is good! I reccomend this to anyone in need of a good book to read!!

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as superficial as it may seem...

    Whenever I saw this book a while back, I never wanted to read it because the title sounded so preppy and shallow. I would have expected the book to be more of a "girly" book about beauty, boys, etc. etc. However, there's way more to this book that meets the eye. <BR/><BR/>Once I started reading, I was hooked. This book tells the story about a future world where everyone becomes "pretty" on their sixteenth birthday. It was intriguing to read about such a society that focuses solely on image. It really makes you think about how we see beauty today. So many things had changed from our modern world-- it was interesting to think about. <BR/>The plot and characters were also superb. The main character is Tally, an "ugly" who can't wait to turn pretty. But then she meets Shay. Shay is another ugly who isn't sure she wants to be pretty. She opens Tally's eyes to a whole new world, and Tally is thrust headfirst into it. The characters continue to interest you throughout the story and the plot keeps you at the edge of your seat. <BR/><BR/>Overall, I would wholeheartedly reccommend this book, especially to teen readers. Despite the seemingly superficial title, this book actually has some strong morals and themes. Just goes to show, don't judge a book by it's cover (or title, in this case) ;-)

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible!

    I loved this book! It is awsome! I related to Tally so much. Me being a girl and having to be presurred by super model gorgeuseness. This book helped me realize that if you be who you are nothing can stop you. Stand up for what you believe in and whats right. Tally Youngblood is a smart determined girl to turn pretty.But when one of her friends doesn't want to turn pretty she starts questioning what it will actually mean to be pretty, other than the non-stop fun and parties. I think Tally is a girl to look up to. In the end, Tally makes a decision that does and will change her life forever. Read this book! It keeps people at the edge of there seats! Once i picked it up i couldn't put it down. It is adventures and said 'crap' here and there and had pleasure gardens and kissing but nothing graphic and nothing to into deteail. I recommend for girls ages 10-14. Tally is beautiful at heart.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    Scott Westerfeld has a brilliant imagination. This book was a page turner and left me wanting more. Thank God there are sequels. I can't wait to see what happens when Tally becomes "pretty"! Highly recommended for teens and adults.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awesome

    I read all the books...... so much better than Twilight.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Wow

    This book i must say is amazing gives a true idea of its mot always so bright on the other side ; D

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Full of everything good!!

    This is a great romance, action book for teens. Im 11 and i still love the series. Just finished the third book. The storys get twisted and r just awesome. I highly reccomnd the series!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    Uglies

    The book Uglies by Scott Westerfeld is a good book,i give it 5/5 stars. I like the fact that Tally goes through betrayals and side changes. The problems Tally faces are realistic,like when she has to chose to go or to stay at the Smoke. This book also has loveable characters, like the wild david.

    The story begins with the main charicter,Tally, sneaks into New Pretty Town to ser her old freind Peris. She meest a nother ugly Shay there. When Shay runs away a organazation calls Tally in to help find her. She gois to a place called The Smoke and meast David. She is forced to make a decision,stay with David in the smoke or go back to the city and become a pretty.

    In This book Tlly learns that sometimes o follow your heart,you have to break the rules. This applied to me when m parnest wanted to get rid of my gold fish. When i found out i hid him under my bed for 3 days. When my parents found out i got in trouble.

    I would recomend this book to people 12- younger people wouldn't understand, and older people wouldn't care about this book. This book has plenty of action,like when Tally and the smoke is atacked my the specals. This book also has some romance, like when Tally and David kiss. In conclution thid book has a ending that will leave you breathless.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Love it

    I read the free sample and i can't put it down. I have to know whats next. ( :?) Ugly )

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Hi spot read this

    U should totally read this book girls can kick but as bad as boy

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great book! ~Greengirl

    Hello. I'm back! I'm that 13 year old girl a while back that said she wasn't sure about the book. Well guess what? IT WAS AWESOME!!! It really brought me into the story. Very well written. I will warn you though, the beginning is a bit slow, but that is only to get you to know the characters better. So don't be put down trust me, you will want to keep reading!

    Oh! If you're wondering about my independant book project...
    I GOT AN A- !!! WHOO- HOOO! XD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Uglies

    This book is so amazing. Evertime i finish it, i re- read it. BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!! THE BEST!!! A MUST READ BOOK!!!

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!! It is well written and is one of the best science fiction i have ever read!! It is exciting and very very good!!! It is about how being ugly isn't always bad just like being pretty isn't always good!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Perfect combination

    This great book has action, drama, romance, suspense, twists and turns that will leave you hanging to that slight ledge the author gives you. The most amazing book i've read in a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Amazing!

    When I read the first sentence of this book, "The early summer sky was the color of cat vomit.", I thought, Oh great, this is going to be another one of those books that try to hook in humor-loving kids. But I kept reading amd I was so glad I did because it was nothing like I had imagined.

    The book was very well written and kept me captivated all the way through. The plot was amazing and it wowed me. This story is not like your usual, average book set in the future, but instead it was a totally different twist. There are technology no one has ever thought of, characters that should NOT be alive, and of course, Tally, the strong female character that is true to human nature. She makes mistakes, decides to make choices, whether good or bad, that we could all imagine ourselves making, and has feelings we would all feel if we were in her situation.

    I love this book so much. I will even admit that I would love to be part of this story. It is so well written that you can imagine yourself in the setting, as the character, making decisions, observing others, doing everyday things. I read this book three times and I don't plan on storing it away. It had everything I love in a book: romance, action, adventure, suspense and betrayal. This was a fantastic read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome book read this whole series it was awesome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    A page turner

    I bought this aas a gift for a teen, but dipped into it, and HAD to finish reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Great book for you and your friends

    This is a great book for all ages. This book is about Tally a young girl who is faced with a life changing desion. The decision to break a promise and help find her friend who doesn't want to be found, or to never get an operation that you receive when turning 16. The operation would make her pretty so she would not have to live alone and die ugly. Tally's choice will change everything. She will learn somethings that make the pretty world look ugly. I loved this book because of the adventure. You will never put it down. The wording is so good I can picture everything that happens from the color of the sky to the party tower in new Prettyvill. The book makes you think what would you do if you had to make that choice. You will be on your toes hoping to read more, but having to put it down you will read it under the covers in bed wishing there was more time to find out what happens next. This story will show you that someone may love you even if you think you're not pretty. Also you will learn that people make mistakes that may ruin everything but if given a second chance they may fix them and make it right.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    !AMAZING BOOK!

    The Uglies is a very thrilling, emotional and adventurous book on a girl named Tally who lives in the Ugly World. The book was fascinating the entire time and some parts you were just like Oh Mi Gosh, I HAVE to read the next chapter. I defiinatley suggest for you to read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Amazing book!!!

    My power went out one day so i decided to go to the library and pick book to read. Well i ended uo choosing uglies and im sooooooooo glad i did. I read it in less than one day and it was absolutely amazing and suspenseful. The whole trilogy was great. I recommend this for people who like books such as matched, the giver, the hunger games and maze runner. Its definintly a distopian society book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1315 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66