Customer Reviews for

Uglies Box Set (Uglies, Pretties, Specials) [3 Volume Set]

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

:D

All three books were just amazing!
You see Tally going thorugh all the stages of her life (Uglie, Pretty, and Special) and usually people are only uglie and pretty
and its so adventurous and exlirating
you get to feel that future-ness of the book.
Theres...
All three books were just amazing!
You see Tally going thorugh all the stages of her life (Uglie, Pretty, and Special) and usually people are only uglie and pretty
and its so adventurous and exlirating
you get to feel that future-ness of the book.
Theres hoverboards, walls talking, walls shooting things out, and so much more!
I <3 these books and i would read them over and over again (:

posted by Nikki_08 on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Series

The series is well written, and a good sci-fi, yet closly realilistic story. The series is related to how the world we live in now is completely transformed into a futuristic and bubbly world, where people are programmed and categorized depending on age. The series is...
The series is well written, and a good sci-fi, yet closly realilistic story. The series is related to how the world we live in now is completely transformed into a futuristic and bubbly world, where people are programmed and categorized depending on age. The series is a quick read that has a good backbone to it. I would recommend this series.

posted by Rachaelreader on February 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    :D

    All three books were just amazing!<BR/>You see Tally going thorugh all the stages of her life (Uglie, Pretty, and Special) and usually people are only uglie and pretty<BR/>and its so adventurous and exlirating<BR/>you get to feel that future-ness of the book.<BR/>Theres hoverboards, walls talking, walls shooting things out, and so much more!<BR/>I <3 these books and i would read them over and over again (:

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Series

    The series is well written, and a good sci-fi, yet closly realilistic story. The series is related to how the world we live in now is completely transformed into a futuristic and bubbly world, where people are programmed and categorized depending on age. The series is a quick read that has a good backbone to it. I would recommend this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2008

    UGLIES SERIES: A TWISTED PERSPECTIVE ON AN UPCOMING FUTURE:

    Scott Westerfeld completely changed my view and opinion of the world we live in through his outstanding series: Uglies. It takes an extremely creative mind to be able to come up with such an interesting futuristic society. Not only did he have to create new politic, economic, and social systems. He created new perspectives, labels, and language. Some of which have been added to my own personal diction and slang. Each of his books features a different version of Tally and each Tally gives a different point of view of the future. In Uglies, Tally was a victim of an unwanted responsibility. In Pretties, Tally was a rebel to the constraints of society. In Specials, Tally was an authority whose only goal was to keep society under constraints. And just when I thought I had seen all the possible perspectives and personas Tally had to offer, Westerfeld surprised me once again with the cold, short-tempered, Tally in Specials. This series also reinforces the idea of yin and yang because with all the benefits Tally¿s society gives, such as high end technology and less violence, it also takes away from the basic rights of humanity: such as freedom and the right of choice. It also shows how de-sensitized our society is to war and violence by portraying it as ¿brain-missing¿. All in all, Westerfeld¿s series, Uglies, is a lesson to be learned hidden behind the façade of a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    Amazing Seris

    This seris couldn't make me stop. Being transformed into pretties I loved it! A must read for teens!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Uglies Series

    OMG this is the bestest series EVER i just LOVE it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    These books are soooo good! They're very very thought-provoking and it really makes you think about our world. I read pages from these books every night because that was when I found enough time to read them. I finished them in about 1-2 months. I extremely recommend them, and you won't regret reading them.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Scott did the best job on these books! I Love it!

    Scott I one of the best writers i know! I stay up late in the night reading these books, and around 12am I have to force my slef to put the book down! I absolutely love this book and i totally recamend this book for younger teens and adults. You can see Tally going thourgh a outrageous life step by step! Play tricks, running away, getting into trouble with Special Circumstances as an Ugly. Taking dangerous pills, getting a cure, running to find the Smoke, sticking her hand in a Hot Air furnace to get a tracker off as a Pretty. Burning down the Armory, burning down a whole city, losing Zane-la, and cutting her self as a Special. Tally finds out life isn't going to get any easier as it is... it's only going to get harder. Tally has betray so many places, so many people... Shay, David, Cory, Maddy, Az...Now she has to fix it. But how will she do it? Go find out...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    5 stars? I think not.

    This series (including the recent addition of the Extras)was at first an interesting read. It was different and gave an engaging futuristic view of what could be. It was to the point and not too confusing. However after reading my second time around, I realized this was , in lack of a better and not too harsh a word, insulting. It pointed out all the flaws and atrocities of the modern-era world, or in other words, us. It only rambled about what we did wrong. I could be called a bit of an idealist, so it bothered me that Scott Westerfeld rarely thought to dig a little deeper into the human potential for good. Good people are there, the bad just buries them out of sight. Yes, we are doing horrible things. However, many people strive to do good everyday. So have a little faith. Speaking of which, it also tossed away religion. I do consider myself fairly religous, so it bothered me to read about the world casting off the truth and scorning God or even the idea of religion. That I believe is a serious and grave flaw in the society that Scott created. In this world it would lead to terrible consequences. It obsessed with beauty (yes, I know that's the title and theme) which in my opinion is highly overrated in a obsessive way. Manipulating the brain is also a wrong in their society. Not giving an individual the ability to choose whether they want to be, well, an airhead, or cruel and feeling of superiority. ( *Pretties and Specials) Their concern for the environment is too much. Yes, we should keep the world clean and healthy, but the world was created for US. We weren't created for the world. They have the sophisticated technology to keep the Earth clean. Not using the abundant resources created for our use is a shame.<BR/>I suppose I should talk about a few good qualities in the book. It was well-written and was kept neat. It was fast-paced enough to keep you reading, but not so fast that you barely could absorb the information. It good for readers who just want to relax and sit down with a book and not worry about it. But for the rest, who look a little deeper into the story, that is NOT the future we want. I would prefer this world to the Uglies series world.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    L-O-V-E-luv!!!!!!

    Best series I have ever read!! That's saying something because I am always reading something!! I luv the action and conflict in these books, by the end of the first book I was in luv with david!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    omg

    uglies was the greatest book i have ever read in my life. i have never been a big fan of reading until now when i got to the end i was so dissapointed and now im dying for the next 4 books. im asking for all 4 of the books for my birthday!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    these books rule

    i read these books to my 5th grade class they loved it and now i am buying them for my daughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Uglies series book 1 - 3

    In a world where when you turn 16 you get an operation that turns you into a pretty and if you can prove yourself special you get turned into a special. For Tally she goes through each stage in each book and in these books there are surprises and shockers. While going through these stages in her life she meets Shay and David as an ugly and later David as a pretty. Her world and life will never be the same again. Love the way Westerefeld writes and you can imagine herself with the characters and know them by each book. love this series and read for yourself to see what these three are all about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Fantastic

    I loved this book.It really can teach you something about the era we live in.This book is very uplifting it showed me a couple of things while was reading it .I recommend it to any body who loves to read. this is a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    These are worth the read

    These books are amazing. They're about a fictional utopia city, and in all three the journey of a girl named Tally continues inside and out of the utopia. In my opinion, it's impossible to read only one, because each book has a cliff-hanger ending. So getting this box set is probably not a bad idea. I love these books and would recommend them to any teens just looking for something good to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    these are the three best books i have ever read.

    Uglies: This is the first book in the series. I think this book does a good job drawing you into the real life of the utopian community scott w. is trying to portray. Pretties: The second book, just as good as the first. I think this book was also really exciting, and a real page turner, it is showing you that even a perfect society has flaws.Specials:3rd book. really good i finished it in two days, a definate must read. It is very exciting and keeps you wanting to stay up just to read it. .. i havent got a hold of the specials yet, but i am sooo excited to read it i am positve it will be as good as the others. 3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    An absolute 'Must Read' book!!

    These books are so outstanding. They really made me think about how our planet would be if we lived in a Pretty era. While reading these books I tried to put my self in Tally's shoes and see if i would make the same decisions as her. Tally is an inspiration to me. These books are so absolutely fun to read and totally bubbly-making.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS! they are absolutely my favorite books!Once i started one i could not stop. i had to stay up really late one night to finish uglies.I definately recomend this book for someone who likes adventure books with a good plot. Scott Westerfield is a magnificent author and deserves the best book award!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Best Books

    These are my favorite books ever. They have so many different genres in one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Best series ever!!!!!!

    My friend recommended this series to me, and I was skeptical but I have to say, this is the best series I have ever read! Tally is an amazing character and it's just a perfect series full of action, humor, romance and probably alot of other things I can't think of right now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    I really enjoyed reading Uglies. It was captivating and extremel

    I really enjoyed reading Uglies. It was captivating and extremely interesting. There was a twist at every turn and lots of science fiction elements. It had lovely characters and was written extremely well. It had a wonderful story line and was never disappointing. I truly enjoyed it and I am excited to continue the series  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5