Customer Reviews for

The Ugly Duckling

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, an enjoyable, butt-kicking, fist-pumping, tear-jerking read

    This was unique. The heroine of the story has some serious psychological, mother-inflicted damage before the circumstances of her transformation ever arrive. She goes through what I can only imagine is the worst horror inflicted on someone, the loss of a child coupled with the loss of her spouse. Because of scars received during the attack on her family, she's transformed physically into a stunning woman. But her mind is conflicted by the internal vision she has of herself. So she goes on a violent spree bent on revenge. Uh, what?

    Although most people can understand the desire for revenge (especially in our heroine's case), I find the main character unbelievable. Am I really supposed to buy this timid, bent-low-from-an-overbearing-mother character suddenly becoming Lara Croft the Avenging Angel? Now if she went on a rampage because it had all been far too much for her delicate psyche and she snapped, then I could see it.

    So, why four stars? Because overall, it's an enjoyable, butt-kicking, fist-pumping, tear-jerking read. So you totally get hooked on the main character even if she's unbelievable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Solid Work of Romantic Suspense

    Johansen, like Roberts and Coulter, is one of those that has made it onto the bestseller lists and can be found in other than the romance section--in this case, this novel was found in general fiction and works as a thriller and mystery, and it has a fairly clean style that can hold point of view. It fits in the standard revenge plot, as the titular heroine, Nell, works to avenge her family's death--plastic surgery upgrades her from ugly duckling to swan. Well-paced, often suspenseful, this story zipped along and I cared about the characters, including and especially Nell and her love Nicholas, who works with her against the villains of the story. Nice twist too at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love to read and when the book is good, I don't stop, it really grabs me until the end. I was just starting Chapter 8 when I feel that the writer had a load of laundry to do or checks to fill out and speeded up the writing process with trite and tired 'mercenary' bologna. I sure hope it gets past this nonsense soon so that I can finish the book and realize all of the wonderful things said by former reviewers!!!! Hopeful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was great. It's the second book I've read after Firestorm which is her other work. If it weren't for my delayed of days, I've would've finished it in a weekend. But anyways, yes, I gave it a four stars to recommend anyone who likes to read suspense books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    A Must Read for Romance Novel Lovers

    I have been an Iris Johannsen fan from her first book and have read every book she has published. This one is by far her greatest work! The characters are believable and real, the plot suspenseful, and the book as a whole terrific! I couldn't put it down and have reread it several times. Go get this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Thus du us part

    Ugh sjsdffbgjhwbe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great

    Her mother was a meanie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Great book please read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Read in one day

    Read the whole book in a day, great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay Filler...

    I was looking for a book to fill in a gap while I took a break from a series I was reading. This did the job and I enjoyed the story, but it wasn't the author's best that I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    Nell Calder was shy and she wasn¿t pretty, but as the wife of an upwardly mobile financier, parties and dinner engagements were a given. An evening of socializing was not Nell¿s idea of fun, but she rose to the occasion with a smile on her face. She had her daughter and her husband¿s affection. She didn¿t need to be the belle of the ball to be content. While attending a party on a Greek island, Nell was attacked by the drug cartel¿s hit man. The knife wielding maniac killed four people including her husband and daughter. Nell was left for dead. Nicholas Tanek, a known enemy of the cartel¿s top man, knew something was going down, but hadn¿t reacted fast enough to save Nell. Riddled with guilt, he flew her to safety and paid for the necessary plastic surgery. The ugly duckling was transformed into a swan. With her husband and daughter dead, beauty wasn¿t reason enough to go on living, but revenge was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Great story exciting

    Nell Calder was just an ordinary woman whose world revolved around her child and the simple things of life. Nell was stabbed and pushed from a balcony and the life as she knew it changed. In her new life she found new friends and love, but she ached for revenge on the person who killed her daughter. Nicholas Tanek helps Nell through her trials. Nicholas, who was once a big time smuggler and thief, uses his his knowledge of the underworld to actually help someone as well as getting his own revenge. Nell and Nicholas are a match of fire that cannot be unflamed. This book is about secrets, lies, bravery and a new found look at life. A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    A fabulous love story and a devastating tragic tale

    From the moment you begin to read the story grabs you and places you heart in a death grip. Senses whirling you travel along side a desperate woman as she seeks revenge while rediscovering that life does have meaning and beauty can be found in us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Great from cover to cover

    This is the first Iris Johansen book I had the great pleasure to read. Now I have read all of her suspence novels. This is the one that got me hooked. I an not an avid reader so for a book to grab me and not let me put it down is GREAT. I have passed it on to many friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Recommended to read

    This was without a doubt a really great book. I loved it so much I had to read it again. There are so many surprises in it your never bored with it. Also just picture tanek as a really hot guy and the book will be so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Wasent that great

    When i first started to read The Ugly Duckling by Iris Johansen, it seemed interesting. A girl,Nell, who was brutally attacked, transformed into a beauty. After that her life should of gotten better, right? And after this transformation it seems like she should be able to 'fit in' with all the people who teased her and face her fears that she couldent before.* I would somewhat reccomend this book. If you like storys that have characters become what they always dreamed and face their fears, then i reccomend this book. But, if you like storys that tend to be mysterious and have the main character catch the culpret her/himself and really make you think, i dont reccomend this book. The title may seem like the whole book is about a longtime dream of being beautiful and making that wish come true, but its more of a novel that tells of a girl who takes action and dosent let the man who almost murder her get away. Overall, i think this book was okay. I wouldent read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Excellent Book!

    This book was really good. I loved the chemistry/love hate relationship between the two main characters.Very easy to read. Probably the most enjoyable book I've ever read. Can't wait to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    A Great Book by Iris Johansen

    I liked this book because it held you on the edge of your seat. There were alot of different characters in the book. The main character of the book goes thru many physical and emotional problems starting with her husband and child being murdered at a party. She is thrown over a balcony, hardly surviving and is taken to the hospital of a agent who is trying to protect her. When she is better she begins to learn about the murderer and has revenge on her mind. She learns how to deal with anything that is thrown at her. I had a hard time putting this book down until I was done with it. Every time I had a free moment I would find myself getting this book out to read. I love Iris Johansen's books and am looking forward to reading some more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Captivating

    I just truly enjoyed this one. It is the fourth I've read by Johansen, and have loved all of them. If you enjoy drama, violence and surprising twists, the Ugly Duckling is a novel for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    The Absolute Best

    I would love to see this made into a movie. I have read and re-read this book about 5 times, if not more. I read this book at least once a year. It has got to be about the best book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4