Customer Reviews for

The Ugly Duckling

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love to read and when the book is good, I don't stop, it really grabs me until the end. I was just starting Chapter 8 when I feel that the writer had a load of laundry to do or checks to fill out and speeded up the writing process with trite and tired 'mercenary' bologna. I sure hope it gets past this nonsense soon so that I can finish the book and realize all of the wonderful things said by former reviewers!!!! Hopeful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    A Must Read for Romance Novel Lovers

    I have been an Iris Johannsen fan from her first book and have read every book she has published. This one is by far her greatest work! The characters are believable and real, the plot suspenseful, and the book as a whole terrific! I couldn't put it down and have reread it several times. Go get this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great

    Her mother was a meanie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Great book please read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Read in one day

    Read the whole book in a day, great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Great story exciting

    Nell Calder was just an ordinary woman whose world revolved around her child and the simple things of life. Nell was stabbed and pushed from a balcony and the life as she knew it changed. In her new life she found new friends and love, but she ached for revenge on the person who killed her daughter. Nicholas Tanek helps Nell through her trials. Nicholas, who was once a big time smuggler and thief, uses his his knowledge of the underworld to actually help someone as well as getting his own revenge. Nell and Nicholas are a match of fire that cannot be unflamed. This book is about secrets, lies, bravery and a new found look at life. A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    A fabulous love story and a devastating tragic tale

    From the moment you begin to read the story grabs you and places you heart in a death grip. Senses whirling you travel along side a desperate woman as she seeks revenge while rediscovering that life does have meaning and beauty can be found in us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Great from cover to cover

    This is the first Iris Johansen book I had the great pleasure to read. Now I have read all of her suspence novels. This is the one that got me hooked. I an not an avid reader so for a book to grab me and not let me put it down is GREAT. I have passed it on to many friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Recommended to read

    This was without a doubt a really great book. I loved it so much I had to read it again. There are so many surprises in it your never bored with it. Also just picture tanek as a really hot guy and the book will be so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Excellent Book!

    This book was really good. I loved the chemistry/love hate relationship between the two main characters.Very easy to read. Probably the most enjoyable book I've ever read. Can't wait to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    A Great Book by Iris Johansen

    I liked this book because it held you on the edge of your seat. There were alot of different characters in the book. The main character of the book goes thru many physical and emotional problems starting with her husband and child being murdered at a party. She is thrown over a balcony, hardly surviving and is taken to the hospital of a agent who is trying to protect her. When she is better she begins to learn about the murderer and has revenge on her mind. She learns how to deal with anything that is thrown at her. I had a hard time putting this book down until I was done with it. Every time I had a free moment I would find myself getting this book out to read. I love Iris Johansen's books and am looking forward to reading some more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Captivating

    I just truly enjoyed this one. It is the fourth I've read by Johansen, and have loved all of them. If you enjoy drama, violence and surprising twists, the Ugly Duckling is a novel for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    The Absolute Best

    I would love to see this made into a movie. I have read and re-read this book about 5 times, if not more. I read this book at least once a year. It has got to be about the best book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    just amazing

    I've read iris's The face of deception, and wanted to read more by her-i thought she was pretty good-but i underestimated her! The Ugly Duckling kept me turning pages all night-i finished that book in a heart beat, and was upset to reach the end. i've gone on to read the killing game-and will definatly stick to johansen's novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    THE LOVELY SWAN COMETH . . .

    Wow. This book was just....wow. I can't say enough about it. I absolutely loved every single page and hated when it was over. I know it's been out for a number of years, but I was at the grocery store and was instantly intrigued by the cover. It took until about the third chapter before I was completely riveted, but the first few pages were enough to keep me more than just passively fixated. After I finished reading the book, I found myself actually missing the principal characters--Nicholas Tanek and Nell Calder. I found myself so wrapped up in these fictional lives that I'm a little embarrassed to admit it, but...well, I want MORE. So, to satisfy my literary lust, I'm going back for more. I'm currently reading it again. What can I say? Ms. Johansen is a masterful storyteller. I would love this to be made into a movie, but I'm certain that much of the detailed passion and captivating characters would be horribly underscored in its translation onto film. In any case, Bravo! First rate all the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Amazing

    The book was great!!! I couldn't put it down; I really liked how the story goes mystery, romance and violence. There should be another book that continues on with the first story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    WOW!!!!

    It took me only 4 hours to read this book while I was babysitting. It is amazing. The kids were sleeping, the lights were dim...i could not put it down. My friend and I LOVED it so much that we are making a movie based off of it. Just for us to enjoy. It is excellent. I think that every Johansen book should be made into a movie! In one word: Phenomenal!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Excellent Book

    It was very thrilling!I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    Thrilling Book

    This is one of her best books. Definitely would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    Another Great Book by Johansen!!!!

    Every one of her books are terrific! Once you pick up one of her books, you can't put it down until you are finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3