Customer Reviews for

The Ugly Truth (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(347)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Read The Book

Diary of A Wimpy Kid is one of the best books I've ever read. I would highly suggest that you read it too. It's a really good book. It's good for everybody.

posted by Batboy on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

I'm a 6th grade student- Glendale,Az - The Ugly Truth about The Ugly Truth

I'm going to talk about Diary Of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth. This book is by Jeff Kinney. I have read every one of the Diary of the Wimpy Kid books. This book is about a boy named Greg who goes through middle school. Greg is not a nice friend and does not want to be a k...
I'm going to talk about Diary Of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth. This book is by Jeff Kinney. I have read every one of the Diary of the Wimpy Kid books. This book is about a boy named Greg who goes through middle school. Greg is not a nice friend and does not want to be a kid anymore. He wants to grow up, but not face the changes on the way to become an adult. Rowerly was Greg's best friend and now is nerdy more than ever. Greg really wants a friend so at the end he and Rowerly are friends again. That's really the main part in the book. The setting is a lot of places. The main place is school and Greg's house. The minor setting is Greg's Gamie's house. Gamie is like a protagonist and minor character at the same time. Gamie is Greg's great- grandmother. This book is all over the place. It is not an organized book in my opinion. There is a rumor that there might be another Diary of a Wimpy Kid book coming up. I would highly recommend not buying it. I also think that the author Jeff Kinney, needs a break. I think he should also revise his stories. The reason I recommended the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid's is because they have a plot. You can find out more by reading their reviews. I would recommend for girls Dear Dumb Diary, that series actually has a plot, and a theme. Let's talk about Diary of a Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth's theme. There isn't one. Every book is supposed to have a theme or moral, this book doesn't. If you need the theme for this book then do not do it as a book report. I can not stress enough about NOT BUYING this book. DON'T BUY THIS BOOK. It has nothing to offer - it's not even funny. That is my review. Here is my tip to the author: take more time on your books. I can tell you rushed on this book. The ugly truth about this book is it's not a good book.

posted by 5142264 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Wow Seriously?

    I'm really exited to get this book. I'm buying it today. But really people you can't give it a 5 star rating if you haven't even read the dang book! I know it will probably be good but I don't know so 4 stars just because I don't know.

    20 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    :)

    Best Book Ever! Try the last straw, even better!!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Storyguy

    Out of 10 i give this book a 8 i like how it turns sideways to another point of view the other two point that were taking off was beacause the end of the middle was boaring

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    truely a hilarious

    The book Diary of a wimpy kid the ugly truth is by Jeff Kinney is a great book. In the beginning you meet the characters Greg Huffley and Rowley Jefferson. They are fighting and ended the friend ship in the beginning of the book. Greg goes to his first mixed girl boy parties at the school, and things turn out really bad. Greg is looking forward to a dentist appointment because he likes his dentist but his dad changes how Greg is going to see for his check up. I believe this is a humorous book and I think everyone should read it. One funny part is when Greg has to talk to his grandmother about the changes he will be experiencing. Another is when he thinks he will be a grooms man and becomes the assistant flower boy. You might want to start at the beginning of the series because the first couple will give you more off an idea of who the characters are. I believe it is a truly great book. If you like humor you will probably love this book I know I did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    The best book

    Read it guys it is cool

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    like it .. :)

    like it .. :)

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Frustrated that I ordered this "nook book' that won't work

    Frustrated that I ordered this "nook book' that won't work on my version of the nook.  Now we can't read it.  Please make the "type" of nook needed more clear please!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Good book

    This book is cool because it is great. Also its very good for kids
    Also i haave all the books and it is hillarious..!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Edjhcndhx

    Dairy of a wimpy kid the ugly truth is about how greg and riowly are in a fight

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Funny book

    This is a funny book i think any age could injoy this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    The Ugly Truth is Awesome! One reason I liked my book because it

    The Ugly Truth is Awesome! One reason I liked my book because it was hilarious, and the characters were funny. Also I liked this book because it has really awesome pictures. There are a lot of weird comics that are fun to read. That’s my summery for Diary of a Wimpy kid Ugly Truth

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    You have to read this book

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Diary of a Wimpy Kid the Ugly Truth, Jeff Kinney
    Title of review: Diary of a Wimpy Kid the Ugly Truth Review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    If you love humor books, then you would love this book that I¿m writing about. It is called Diary of a Wimpy Kid the Ugly Truth by Jeff Kinney. It¿s full of humor and wimpy kids. I feel like the main idea of the book is what the authors thinking about, and is told in a first person view. I like the book and I also think that it is a funny book.
    Description and summary of main points
    This book is like a diary about this kid named Greg Heffley. It¿s about him going through middle school. He made a popular chart and in this book he¿s in the middle of the chart. He wants to get this one girl, Holly Hills, to like him. That¿s the summary of this book.
    Evaluation
    ¿The main problem in this book is that he is trying to get past middle school without getting picked on. But he doesn¿t do a great job.
    Conclusion
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid the Ugly Truth is a funny humorous book. This book is really great and you will like it. Greg Heffley is trying to get Holly Hills to like him. The main problem is that he is trying to get past middle school without getting picked on like I said in my evaluation.
    Your final review
    I give this book a 4 star review in humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    My Review on The Ugly Truth

    This book is basically about a boy in middle school named Greg Heffley. Greg has always been in a hurry to grow up, but in this book, he discovers all the hardships and pressures. He is being pressured with boy-girl parties, more responsibilities and weird changes that occur with getting older... all with out his best friend, Rowley.

    I would definitely recommend this book to a friend because people can relate to it and it is very funny. I liked this book because it is a realistic book and most middle-schoolers can relate to it very easily. Many times kids have changes in their middle school years and are also pressured with going to the coolest parties with the coolest people, reading this book will help the face "the ugly truth".

    Other books that I recommend from this book's author, Jeff Kinney, are the Diary of Wimpy Kid Series. The whole series is interesting, amusing, appealing and teaches life lesson to kids that might have just started middle school!!! It's so good that i find it hard to put down!

    By: Priya Rana

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Great summer read

    My ten year old granddaughter had stopped reading for pleasure about a year ago. Found it too much like homework. Then she discovered the Wimpy Kid diaries. She can't get enough of them. Here it is summer, and she read The Ugly Truth from cover to cover in one day last week, foresaking television, Wii games, Nintendo...all the other distractions to which she has succumbed in the past. We're anxiously awaiting #6 to hit the shelves. This series has reignited her love of reading. As a former teacher of English, I'm most grateful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Good but short.

    My review is on "Dairy of a Wimpy Kid The Ugly Truth" by Jeff Kinney. The book is about a middle school student named Greg Heffley who faces the fact that he is growing up when his grandma plans to give him "the talk". Then there's his ex-best fiend who he has to reunite with. Now he has all these issues and the horrors of middle school.
    I really like this book because I could relate to I sometimes, like when his dad helped him with his homework like my dad when I was little. The funny comics at some parts are funny too.The only bad part of it is that it's really short. A fast reader could finish this in an hour or so. I'm always disappointed in the length of the Dairy of a Wimpy Kid books. Overall this book is great for anybody is looking for a funny short read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid the Ugly Truth

    This was a wonderful book to read it does cost a lot of money but worth it if you like the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    J

    J

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Good book

    This book is perfict for me and maybe your kids im 11 but this book i good FYI read the first to th 8th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Hatergirl4522

    Was happening guys its hatergirl i love this book i repeat i LOVE this book !!!!!!!!""!!!!!!!!!!!!"" Get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    warthog

    I read it and thought it was good but my brother wrote in it!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3