Customer Reviews for

The Ugly Truth (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

86 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Read The Book

Diary of A Wimpy Kid is one of the best books I've ever read. I would highly suggest that you read it too. It's a really good book. It's good for everybody.

posted by Batboy on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

I'm a 6th grade student- Glendale,Az - The Ugly Truth about The Ugly Truth

I'm going to talk about Diary Of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth. This book is by Jeff Kinney. I have read every one of the Diary of the Wimpy Kid books. This book is about a boy named Greg who goes through middle school. Greg is not a nice friend and does not want to be a k...
I'm going to talk about Diary Of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth. This book is by Jeff Kinney. I have read every one of the Diary of the Wimpy Kid books. This book is about a boy named Greg who goes through middle school. Greg is not a nice friend and does not want to be a kid anymore. He wants to grow up, but not face the changes on the way to become an adult. Rowerly was Greg's best friend and now is nerdy more than ever. Greg really wants a friend so at the end he and Rowerly are friends again. That's really the main part in the book. The setting is a lot of places. The main place is school and Greg's house. The minor setting is Greg's Gamie's house. Gamie is like a protagonist and minor character at the same time. Gamie is Greg's great- grandmother. This book is all over the place. It is not an organized book in my opinion. There is a rumor that there might be another Diary of a Wimpy Kid book coming up. I would highly recommend not buying it. I also think that the author Jeff Kinney, needs a break. I think he should also revise his stories. The reason I recommended the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid's is because they have a plot. You can find out more by reading their reviews. I would recommend for girls Dear Dumb Diary, that series actually has a plot, and a theme. Let's talk about Diary of a Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth's theme. There isn't one. Every book is supposed to have a theme or moral, this book doesn't. If you need the theme for this book then do not do it as a book report. I can not stress enough about NOT BUYING this book. DON'T BUY THIS BOOK. It has nothing to offer - it's not even funny. That is my review. Here is my tip to the author: take more time on your books. I can tell you rushed on this book. The ugly truth about this book is it's not a good book.

posted by 5142264 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Read The Book

    Diary of A Wimpy Kid is one of the best books I've ever read. I would highly suggest that you read it too. It's a really good book. It's good for everybody.

    86 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series

    This entire series is fantastic and I would highly recommend it to any parent who has a reluctant reader in their house. Sure, it's great for the highest of readers, too, and that's what a great author does. Similar to the Harry Potter series in that it appeals to a large group of readers, all the books were funny and dealt with humorous issues on so many levels of understanding. Funny for the 8-year-old and equally funny for the 13-year-old. I have a lot of trouble finding books for my 9-year-old son and he is very picky. This will be a sure hit. Another book I'd recommend to those of you in my situation would be "Did You Ever Wonder" by Brendan Lynch. It's one of those humorous books that my son loves. The day he got it he kept reading entries to my husband and I. I'm always on the hunt for books for him though so I'll keep searching!

    51 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very good book, very funny!

    These books are very funny and fun to read. There so good I pre-ordered this book in January. All these books are funny and I am positive this will be just as good. (mabey the best of all)

    36 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    This book

    I have read all of the books and so has my family and we all enjoyed them all i can't wait till this one sells i am going to be the first one to buy it!

    32 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    I love when I see my kids reading this book, they had so much fun laughing together, for a change :) and they have the collection. a g fun book to read and share with siblings and friends :)

    25 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Funny!

    Me and my family have all the books including the do it yourself and the movie diary. I cant wait for this one to come out

    23 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Fun to read

    THIS BOOK IS FUNNY, AND FUN TO READ.
    GREG and Rowley are funny in this story.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is the best of the best, your children will laugh even you, I know this book will be funny I definitely recommend this book for anyone.

    All of his books are funny ,and this one will still will be funny.All the pages are funny my son read one of his books in like one day, great cartoon pictures and everything.

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Stuff that people like!

    Dear Fans
    I know all of you love this book and heres a tip for you it is a good and my friend all read all kids of good books so I would pufer to get this great book!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Wimpy kid

    Very good book I would highly recomend it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Egg stareing

    I saw this book and thought about why the cover has a picture of greg lookin at an egg ,


    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Awesome Book

    I think this book is like sooooooooooooooo awesome! Ikr
    ( i know right)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    this book is amazing. hard to put down, Can't wait to read the next.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    DIARY OF A WINPY KID

    Cool and inspiring.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Diary of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth, which was written by Jeff K

    Diary of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth, which was written by Jeff Kinney, was published in 2010. It was a funny book that young teens and even adults will enjoy. This book is the fifth one of the Diary of A Wimpy Kid series. In this particular book, Greg Heffley, who is one of the main characters, deals with the absence of his ex-best friend, Rowley, as he begins another school year. Greg and Rowley were best friends before, but they got in a fight over their lawn service idea, which is talked about in the previous book. Greg tries to find other boys to befriend, but all them have their own groups of friends or are to weird for Greg to hangout with. His ex-best friend even has a new friend, who is someone that is part of a mentoring service, and Greg has a hard time grasping this concept. As Greg faces different scenarios throughout his middle school life, both at school and at home, he struggles not having his best friend by his side. He was in such a hurry to grow up, but now that he has no best friend he doesn’t know how to handle certain situations or how to fit in. Does Greg become friends with Rowley by the end of the book? Well you will just have to read it and see for yourself. You definitely won’t regret reading it. 
    I recently read this book with my sister who is in the fourth grade. Overall, I thought this book was funny and it definitely kept my sister and I engaged. While we were reading the book, we were constantly laughing or talking about how we could relate to Greg in different situations. It was hard for us to put the book down because we were so caught up in the book. I would definitely recommend this book to any young reader. The book had different pictures for different scenarios that Greg encountered, which helps readers mentally picture what is happening throughout the book. It has situations that young readers can relate to and this is a great characteristic about this series. I believe the authors aim was to attract young readers, while informing them about possible middle school experiences. Young readers will usually only read books that they can relate to or that interest them, and this is one of those book any child would enjoy reading.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Great book

    This book was really, really good. All of them are so funny and a great read so you should totally get this book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    yeah

    I love diary of a wimpy kid even through teacher say its not good indepndent level

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I love seahawks for ever

    It was cool and i liked it see ya!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    All of them are aeesome

    I think that you should read each and every one of them with really good detail.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Hah

    HA

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 350 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18