Customer Reviews for

The Ugly Truth (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 487 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

92 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

Read The Book

Diary of A Wimpy Kid is one of the best books I've ever read. I would highly suggest that you read it too. It's a really good book. It's good for everybody.

posted by Batboy on August 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

I'm a 6th grade student- Glendale,Az - The Ugly Truth about The Ugly Truth

I'm going to talk about Diary Of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth. This book is by Jeff Kinney. I have read every one of the Diary of the Wimpy Kid books. This book is about a boy named Greg who goes through middle school. Greg is not a nice friend and does not want to be a k...
I'm going to talk about Diary Of A Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth. This book is by Jeff Kinney. I have read every one of the Diary of the Wimpy Kid books. This book is about a boy named Greg who goes through middle school. Greg is not a nice friend and does not want to be a kid anymore. He wants to grow up, but not face the changes on the way to become an adult. Rowerly was Greg's best friend and now is nerdy more than ever. Greg really wants a friend so at the end he and Rowerly are friends again. That's really the main part in the book. The setting is a lot of places. The main place is school and Greg's house. The minor setting is Greg's Gamie's house. Gamie is like a protagonist and minor character at the same time. Gamie is Greg's great- grandmother. This book is all over the place. It is not an organized book in my opinion. There is a rumor that there might be another Diary of a Wimpy Kid book coming up. I would highly recommend not buying it. I also think that the author Jeff Kinney, needs a break. I think he should also revise his stories. The reason I recommended the other Diary of a Wimpy Kid's is because they have a plot. You can find out more by reading their reviews. I would recommend for girls Dear Dumb Diary, that series actually has a plot, and a theme. Let's talk about Diary of a Wimpy Kid-The Ugly Truth's theme. There isn't one. Every book is supposed to have a theme or moral, this book doesn't. If you need the theme for this book then do not do it as a book report. I can not stress enough about NOT BUYING this book. DON'T BUY THIS BOOK. It has nothing to offer - it's not even funny. That is my review. Here is my tip to the author: take more time on your books. I can tell you rushed on this book. The ugly truth about this book is it's not a good book.

posted by 5142264 on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 361 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great book




    Yeah!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Love it

    IT IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO COOL I COULD PEE MY PANTS AND POOP ON SANTAS LAP (ps i acualy peed on santa once dont you ever do it!) By fart face age (100)

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    A AMAZING Book

    It's a GREAT Book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Awesome

    Read it all in one night!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Great book for kids

    My 9 yr. old son read the book in 1 day, he enjoyed it that much.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Cgvbhg

    I wish I had it at home but my school library has it and it is very funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Love it

    This book is very funny you'll enjoy it.Just like I did!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Just because

    Lovvve it!!!?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    So excitaed

    I am so excited to read this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Cooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllll

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Best book ever

    It is so funny and does not have bad words

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I read the real one

    Its realy funny so funny i mean the little brother is to funny the older brother is normal !!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Diary of a Whimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth

    Greg had a big fight with his best-friend, Rowley . Then he finds out that Rowley's parents found a replacement best friend, a hired role-model from a company called "Cool Brian". Now without a best friend, Greg's tries to become popular in various ways, most of which are immediately backfired. Another struggle that arises, is that Greg must attend his uncle's fourth wedding, and when his wedding comes, Greg will have "The Talk" with his great-grandmother "Gammie", a polite but sly and clever old woman. "The Ugly Truth" picks up on the theme that kicked off the series in 2007: Greg's ex-friendship with the portly, innocent Rowley. Rowley, an only child whose parents have coddled him, has spent the summer with a new best friend that his mom and dad hired through a mentor rental service. And Greg, with just a couple days left before school restarts, is considering his options for a substitute friend who could cushion his discomfort at being 52nd most popular in class. "When you're a kid, nobody ever warns you that you've got an expiration date. One day you're hot stuff, and the next day you're a dirt sandwich," Greg writes. Told from Greg's point of view, "The Ugly Truth," like all previous "Diary" books, is presented in journal form on ruled paper in a font that emulates handwriting. Complementing and, in many cases, literally drawing out the action, every page has at least one pen-and-ink illustration. Many of them are accompanied by word- and thought-bubbles, making these cartoon-enhanced novels easy to read and popular with boys. No one said growing up was easy. In Kinney's hands, it's not only difficult but laugh-out-loud hysterical. The author plans to pen two more "Diary" books. What isn't funny is having to wait for the next one. "The Ugly Truth" brims with uncomfortably funny and cringe-worthy situations such as Greg's transition from a pediatric dentist to oral surgeon Salazar Kagan, whose office is filled with horrific specimens of inadequate dental care, such as the rotting tooth in a jar of soda. Or the time Greg is forced to do laundry and to fold his mom's underwear. When Greg's mom decides to go back to school and leaves Greg, his dad and two brothers to make their own dinner, it ends with a visit to the emergency room.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    I love this book

    I think he should make more books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Xmas gift for my son

    This was part of his wishlist - he LOVES it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Diary

    I love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    By sydney

    This is a awesome book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    LOVE THE BOOK!!!!!!

    Love the book it is halarius

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    So good.

    I have all the dooks so i can tell you its one to get no matter what so get it you will love it



    And am a girl

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    My favorite

    This is my favorite book series i have ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 361 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 19