Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Gift

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The ultimate gift

The Ultimate Gift is the moving story of Jason, Red Steven's nephew. Red dies and leaves a series of tasks for Jason to complete in order to receive his inheritance. It is very moving and makes an excellent gift. Our small group studied the book and grew because of it....
The Ultimate Gift is the moving story of Jason, Red Steven's nephew. Red dies and leaves a series of tasks for Jason to complete in order to receive his inheritance. It is very moving and makes an excellent gift. Our small group studied the book and grew because of it.

posted by glenvan on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Values & uplifting

This was excellent family material but rather predictable - nothing bad, just' a bit slow. Perhaps the fact that I saw the movie on tv midway through my reading alters my review. The movie was more enjoyable for me. People who most NEED this book won't likely be the ...
This was excellent family material but rather predictable - nothing bad, just' a bit slow. Perhaps the fact that I saw the movie on tv midway through my reading alters my review. The movie was more enjoyable for me. People who most NEED this book won't likely be the ones picking it up! Ultimately it did give the reader some thoughtprovoking ideas. I will keep my copy or share with someone else next. It was purchased for a discussion in a club (not specifically a book club, just for a different monthly activity).

posted by 2494913 on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    The ultimate gift

    The Ultimate Gift is the moving story of Jason, Red Steven's nephew. Red dies and leaves a series of tasks for Jason to complete in order to receive his inheritance. It is very moving and makes an excellent gift. Our small group studied the book and grew because of it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    Good Values & uplifting

    This was excellent family material but rather predictable - nothing bad, just' a bit slow. Perhaps the fact that I saw the movie on tv midway through my reading alters my review. The movie was more enjoyable for me. People who most NEED this book won't likely be the ones picking it up! Ultimately it did give the reader some thoughtprovoking ideas. I will keep my copy or share with someone else next. It was purchased for a discussion in a club (not specifically a book club, just for a different monthly activity).

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Ultimate Gift

    This story was ahmazing. Our class just read this and it was a heartbreaking, touching story. I couldn't recommend a better book than this one. Also, we watched the movie it's beautiful. Everyone has to watch it, it is similar to the book. It started out great, ended great and I cried at the end. Love IT.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!!!

    This is like the best book ever, well it is one of the best.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Changing my life

    I recently visited my best friend from my childhood. She is currently in Arizona. I lost my husband and one of my dogs in a house fire in May of 07'. She recommended that I read this book and gave me her copy to read while I was visiting. I finished it in two days. I can't wait to start applying the 'gifts' to my own life. This is a definite read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Had to buy for school, finally i am thanking school!

    It is a very good story, i like it alot! I only wish it was cheaper, to me its a little steepnfor only 85 pages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Provides great lessons for everyone's life

    This is a book that adults of every age can read, enjoy, and learn a valuable lesson. It makes one realize that money is not the greatest gift but so many other things are of greater importance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    What I liked about this moving book by Jim Stovall was the encom

    What I liked about this moving book by Jim Stovall was the encompassing of all the tenets of character a person
    needs to balance life with purpose and passion. As it has been stated and said many times over, this is a great
    study for anyone whether they are starting out on their life journey, or lost in the midst of it. Red Stevens, although
    he speaks posthumously throughout the text, represents a person to some and the embodiment of the Father, God, 
    to others, having given his family every single thing they needed to live life at ease, recognizing the end of his own time with them that he hasn’t given them enough of  these important characteristics. How often in life do we get to a roadblock because we don’t know how to move forward? That’s where we are missing one of these integral characteristics. Red’s grandson, Jason, represents each and every one of us. I think every reader can find self in him. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A story to make you think.

    I really liked this book, it was a great story that will make you think and examine your own life. This should be required reading of every high school kid. About selfishness, that everyone can learn from. This is the story of Jason who had a billionaire grandfather. When the grandfather dies, Jason expects an inheritance. Instead, Jason is given an ultimatum, a series of twelve tests or gifts (depending on how you look at them). If he fails, he looses everything. It makes you think about what is really important in life. The movie was good too-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this story

    This was a great story about how we put to much importance on things that don't matter and don't make us happy no matter how much money we have. I loved this book so much that I am giving it to everyone for Christmas. It is good to remember what is important in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    A reviewer

    One of the most inspirational books I have read. We often forget what is truely important in life. It is easy to be distracted by one's selfishness and obstacles we run into. This story will help you realize the beauty of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A book for everyone.

    This is one of those 'feel good' books that everyone should read. It doesn't matter what is going on in your life, you will get some sort of benefit from it. Whether you are rich or you are poor, whether you are grieving or are a new parent, whether you are happy or sad, you will be a better person for having read The Ultimate Gift. I sat down today to read this wonderful tale and I ended up reading it straight through in one sitting. It spoke to me, it spoke directly to my soul and it gave me what I needed that day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A simple but amazing description of what is important in life

    This is a book for all who yearn to know what is missing in their lives. It is an easy read and appropriate for every age group. Take time off from your busy schedule and bring everything back into perspective. It is a great stress reliever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Ultimate is not a big enough word

    I finished this book in one sitting. Everyone should endulge themselves in this novel. It expresses the true importance in life, especially when one has so many open doors and does not realize it. You will automatically fall in love with Red Stevens and his ultimate gift he leaves Jason in his will. This book is a life changing story for readers alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    'Ultimate Read'

    From age 8 to 80, this is a must! A very short read, but filled with forever thoughts and inspirations. I'm going to write a list of the 'gifts' and place it on my refridgerator as thoughts for the day, or if you will, a daily prayer. I'm also going to send a copy to family and friends who need support and inspiration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Feel better?

    If you're needing a good boost to continue life here's one for you. After reading this book you'll begin to appreciate what you have. It doesn't take long to read and even it did it would be well worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    Used in MIddle School for 3 years

    I have used this book in my 8th grade reading classes for the past 8 years. This is the one book that all of my students have read all the way through. They can't put it down. Just as it changed Jason's life, The Ultimate Gift has changed my life and is constantly changing the lives of my students. Excellent for students of all reading levels. I have recommended it to all of my colleagues. It is currently being used in the reading program at the High School across town. They love it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    This Book Is the BEST!!! -->ExCeLlEnT<--

    I am 14 yrs old and my class read this book at Virginia Middle School, and I swear after they read this excellent story. They walked out of there with a different point of view and heart. It is a wonderful story. It changed my life and it will urs 2. read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2001

    Excellent...A Must Read for Young Adults!

    I read the book on the plane from Florida. I wanted to read the ending, but knew I would miss a lot. Very inspiring! I will be using the book in my classroom for years to come. I truly believe Jason's story can benefit many other young adults. Thanks!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    A terrific gift for the ones you love!

    A book that puts 'life' into perspective. This book helps you appreciate where you are, where you've been and where you want to go as a person. If applied - this book can change the quality of your life and those around you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5