Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Gift

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The ultimate gift

The Ultimate Gift is the moving story of Jason, Red Steven's nephew. Red dies and leaves a series of tasks for Jason to complete in order to receive his inheritance. It is very moving and makes an excellent gift. Our small group studied the book and grew because of it....
The Ultimate Gift is the moving story of Jason, Red Steven's nephew. Red dies and leaves a series of tasks for Jason to complete in order to receive his inheritance. It is very moving and makes an excellent gift. Our small group studied the book and grew because of it.

posted by glenvan on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Values & uplifting

This was excellent family material but rather predictable - nothing bad, just' a bit slow. Perhaps the fact that I saw the movie on tv midway through my reading alters my review. The movie was more enjoyable for me. People who most NEED this book won't likely be the ...
This was excellent family material but rather predictable - nothing bad, just' a bit slow. Perhaps the fact that I saw the movie on tv midway through my reading alters my review. The movie was more enjoyable for me. People who most NEED this book won't likely be the ones picking it up! Ultimately it did give the reader some thoughtprovoking ideas. I will keep my copy or share with someone else next. It was purchased for a discussion in a club (not specifically a book club, just for a different monthly activity).

posted by 2494913 on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    THE ULTIMATE GIFT-- In the book "The Ultimate Gift" th

    THE ULTIMATE GIFT-- In the book "The Ultimate Gift" the characters are Jason Stevens, Mr. Hamilton, and Ms. Hastings. Jason is a self centered rich brat who only cares for himself. Mr. Hamilton and Ms. Hastings are loving, caring, and respectful to others. Jason is taking life's lessons and making them matter in his life. Red Stevens is Jason's Great Uncle. So far he has leaned the gifts of work, money, friends, learning, problems, family, laughter, dreams, and giving. When Mr. Hamilton was a child him and Red Stevens were the best of friends. Then later in the years Red died at the age of seventy-five

    I liked this book because it has a lot of irony and is funny. I recommend this book because it teaches us the lessons of life and forgiveness. This is my report on "The Ultimate Gift". Aaron Johnson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Nice

    Read your freebies 2014, contemporary fiction with Christian ethics Read 12/27 ebook format 5 stars

    Red Stevens, a mega cattle and oil man, has died and its up to Theodore Hamilton ESQ to oversee the distribution of assets to his rather greedy family. Not able to see beyond what they "get", each inheritor is told, and then escorted out. All but his great nephew Jason, for whom Red has set up a series of Life Lessons that might prove him able to see beyond the money.

    Within the past month I wrote a review of this author's Gift of a Legacy. This small book is its basis, so I knew a lot about the expectations around the inheritance of Jason Stevens from his great uncle Red Stevens. I almost think that helped me see why things were set up as they were in that book, as there is interaction of the same characters in different situations. Legacy also let's us in to see how Jason's ultimate gift has continued to change him.

    This is a great book on life and the lessons you learn and pass on when you least expect them. This book was made into a movie with the late James Garner and Abigal Breslin. I'm definately going to track it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A must read (or listen)

    This is an excellent story! I read it when it first came out and now I've listened to the audio version. This is a book that should be on everyone's bookshelf to read (or listen to)! Tom Bosley did an excellent job of narrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Outstanding- Highly recommended

    This is one of those books that makes a real impact in your life. I honestly can say that it helped cause a turning point in my own life and in the life of my company's business. I've since passed it on to many friends and came online today to order another copy to send to a friend as a gift. If you get just one book today, you need to order this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    A Great Story

    A really great story, I can't wait to read it to my children. I listened to the audiobook and I will say Tom Bosley'Happy Days Dad' does an excellent job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    A must read

    I just finished reading this book. I'm not a fast reader but it only took me two evenings. It is an outstanding book on how to enjoy life second only to the Bible. I plan to read and reread this book many times in the future to help me remember the lessons learned. I also plan to purchase this book and give it as gifts so that others can enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Everyone with a Human Heart Must Read

    This book left me feeling elated. Towards the end of this book I decided that 'IT' was the ultimate gift. You will want your children to read this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    What an inspiration

    What an impact this book has made on my life. I feel like I can head in the right direction now. I didn't feel that way before I read this book. Thank you Jim Stovall for taking the time to write this book. What a blessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    best book in a long time!

    I teach high school reading classes and I had a H.S. student give me The Ultimate Gift to read. He said it was great. It was! It's the best book I've read in a long time. I've been telling almost everyone I know about it. What a way to teach lessons to all ages in all walks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Totally enjoyed this book!

    This book was a wonderful book that I think Oprah should even do a show on. My father-in-law passed on a lot of wealth to his sons and as a result, my daughter will benefit from his wealth also. I do not want her to be spoiled and take things for granted. This book was exactly what I needed to help me in teaching her what is truly important in life, what matters most, and how to be fulfilled in ways that don't have anything to do with money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Excellent book

    We read this book as a family and it enabled us to have some discussions about many significant issues in life. Both entertaining and delightful, this book captured us from beginning to end. The author did a very good job of being succinct and yet did so with very good stories. I could not have imagined what the Ultimate Gift was going to be and loved the suspence. We were not disappointed with the ending. The author left out the gift of faith but other than that, I highly recommend this book; especially for children and young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Highly recommended for young and old alike

    I found this book at the library, and thought it would be a quick reader. After I finished the book, I wanted to reread! I even started reading it out loud to my husband on a car trip, and he would continually ask me about the ultimate gift....I'm ordering the book so he can read for himself, along with one for a friend, and then on to my kids....This book moves your inner spirit to be a better person. I have done some of the requests in the chapters. What a great feeling. A must read for all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Fantastic , Fantastic, Fantastic

    As a middle school reading teacher, I am always on the lookout for good books for my students. This time, my student brought it to me. He wouldn't tell me what the "ultimate gift" was. He told me I would have to read it for myself. (I have taught him something.) I read it in a couple of hours. I simply could not put it down. My students will be getting a book talk in class tomorrow. I will definitely be getting this book for my classroom and recommending it for the school library. If an 8th grader recommends the book, it has to be spellbinding. Try it, you will definitely like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    Fantastic

    I couldn't put it down. Although a short book, I have never read a book straight through until this one. I have given 10 copies and all the persons also couldn't put it down. It was wonderful, inspiring, and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    Captivating, Inspirational. Well worth the read.

    I started this book by looking at the Table of Contents. In the Beginning. A Voice from the Past. The Gift of Work. The Gift of Money. The Gift of Friends. What is this? Is this the kind of book I want to read? I flipped to the back cover of the book for insight to the contents. 'Ladies and gentlemen, we are here to read the last will and testament of Howard 'Red' Stevens..' 'Red Steves was a self-made man who gave his family everything-and ruined them in the process. Now, as his estate of oil companies and cattle ranches is divided among the greedy and self-serving relatives, one member is singled out for something special: Red's great-nephew, Jason. In a darkened room, isolated from the rest of his family, Jason is confronted by the image of deceased great uncle on a video monitor . . .' I began Chapter One out of curiosity. It was a story, not a touchy-feely book, like I feared. The narrative comes from an eighty-year old attorney who is reading the will of a very successful long-term client who had become a close, dear friend. As part of the inheritance, the old man's grand-nephew, a spoiled brat sort of young man, is given a special bequest. Each month he is to return to the attorney's office for a learning assignment. If he stays with the program successfully, meeting the approval of the attorney, he gains the Ultimate Gift. If he quits or doesn't meet the grade at any time, he loses his opportunity for the Ultimate Gift. As the book progresses through the chapters, the young man, Jason, transforms from an insolent know-it-all to a much different person. The series of learnings, prescribed each month by the old man by videotape, gives a new meaning to Jason's life. Each of the gifts, a learning, is described in Jason's words as he gains new realizations. I found myself surprisingly captivated by this book. I couldn't put it down. No, it's not a mystery or thriller, but it certainly held my attention. I can think of a number of people I know who would surely benefit from this book. One will receive my copy shortly as a very meaningful gift. A word about the author. Jim Stovall has overcome blindness to become a national champion Olympic weightlifter, a successful investment broker, and entrepreneur. He is co-founder and president of the Narrative Television Network, which makes movies and television accessible to our nation's 13 million blind and visually impaired and their families. With revealing more about this man's incredible background (see page 124), I 'got' that this is a man to be listened to. You'll gain the same feeling as you read The Ultimate Gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Awsome!

    I too read this book in about six hours. I would recommend it to anyone and will be ordering a copy for each of my children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    Great Book

    I too could not put this book down. I wanted to see what the next lesson was that Jason would learn. It was interesting to see the transformation in this young man. I'm going to be giving this book to several friends and relatives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    Awesome read!!

    This book was a book that I could NOT put down! I was eager to see what Jason would learn. I am looking forward to applying what Jason learned and, hopefully, have the same results! I will definitely give this book to some of my loved ones!--The Gift of Giving ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3