BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Average Rating 4.5
( 994 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(781)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

DON'T PANIC! Mice rule the universe, but you've still got your towel!

I discovered HGTTG years ago and loved it. I recently found the five-part trilogy bound in one volume, and decided to re-read what I thought had been the best send-up of science fiction ever written. I was right. Beginning with an unlikely starship crew co...
I discovered HGTTG years ago and loved it. I recently found the five-part trilogy bound in one volume, and decided to re-read what I thought had been the best send-up of science fiction ever written. I was right. Beginning with an unlikely starship crew consisting of a two-headed, fugitive Galactic President, a burned-out travel writer, a paranoid android, (who parks cars for 5 billion years while waiting to be rescued) a mysterious beauty, and the last survivor of the late planet Earth, (which was destroyed to make way for a galactic freeway) Douglas Adams has managed to incorporate every science fiction cliche known to man or Vogon. However, unlike most writers of SF, he does not take himself or his subject too seriously. The result is a universe of marvelous silliness and deliciously ditzy characters who zoom along on their improbability drive, carrying their towels, drinking Pan Galactic Gargleblasters, while trying to avoid having a Vogon poetry read at them, or meeting up with the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal. My suggestion? Buy the book, lock yourself in your room, and read it--preferably on the floor, because that's where you'll end up anyway--unless you're the type who still thinks digital watches are pretty neat things.

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

For your consideration

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is arguably one of the best science fiction books of the 21st Century; sadly, I did not feel the same way. Even though I do not enjoy reading science fiction books, this book would have been awful even if it was not science fiction....
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is arguably one of the best science fiction books of the 21st Century; sadly, I did not feel the same way. Even though I do not enjoy reading science fiction books, this book would have been awful even if it was not science fiction. It is rambling/ repetitive, the wording is confusing, and the plot is all over the place. I believe that they should have given the reader a guidebook for the story when they bought it, so that they could find their way through the different tangents that the story alludes to throughout the storyline. I am actually regretting buying the book. One positive thing about this book is that it is a quick read and it had some witty parts.

posted by DANIELoBAUMa on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 999 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    DON'T PANIC! Mice rule the universe, but you've still got your towel!

    I discovered HGTTG years ago and loved it. I recently found the five-part trilogy bound in one volume, and decided to re-read what I thought had been the best send-up of science fiction ever written. I was right. Beginning with an unlikely starship crew consisting of a two-headed, fugitive Galactic President, a burned-out travel writer, a paranoid android, (who parks cars for 5 billion years while waiting to be rescued) a mysterious beauty, and the last survivor of the late planet Earth, (which was destroyed to make way for a galactic freeway) Douglas Adams has managed to incorporate every science fiction cliche known to man or Vogon. However, unlike most writers of SF, he does not take himself or his subject too seriously. The result is a universe of marvelous silliness and deliciously ditzy characters who zoom along on their improbability drive, carrying their towels, drinking Pan Galactic Gargleblasters, while trying to avoid having a Vogon poetry read at them, or meeting up with the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal. My suggestion? Buy the book, lock yourself in your room, and read it--preferably on the floor, because that's where you'll end up anyway--unless you're the type who still thinks digital watches are pretty neat things.

    32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    I loved the movie when it first came out. I was awe-struck as the credits were rolling up. Now that was a great story and even better presentation. I was really excited to get the book to find out the whole story. If you read this you must read the foreword and the introduction first. You have to realize that the film was just an adaptation of the 'real story'. I immediately fell in love with the writing style of Douglas Adams. You really do need a good sense of humor to get through it, because it is laugh after laugh but in the style of Douglas Adams. There is also romance, action, and great characters.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    My Favorite Book!

    If you like British style humor and are scientifically minded, this book is a must. Then again, if you don't appreciate laughing out loud when you read a book, this isn't for you.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    The Most Complete Guide Collection Ever...

    Finally in paperback, the complete five volume trilogy. I was very excited when this title came on the market, and my joy did not diminish as I plunged headfirst into this wealth of Hitchhiker's Guide print, not for the first time, but for the 18th. Still, you don't have to be a HHGTTG veteran to get on board with this...it quite simply is 5 books with one cover. I promise you, wether you've read the Hitchhiker series. Dirk Gently or The Salmon of doubt you can appreciate the beauty (but mosltly humor) of this writing. I thouroughly enjoy it, and encourage you to read it also.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Made for the Nook.

    What can I say this is one of the all time classic Humor books over the past 30 years. May not be for all taste. But if you are looking for a good Science Fiction/Monty Python/Dr. Who type story this is for you. When I first heard about these new fangled things called E-Readers this book came to mind, and was the First book I put onto my Nook Color. To tell any of the story would be to spoil the read. Here in one Book is the compleate Trilogy of 5 books. There is a sixth book but that is sold sepreatly. So sit back and enjoy and remember your Towel.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    WOOO HOOOO!!!!

    Hey you sass that hoopy Douglas Adams? There's a frood who really knows where his towel is!! You must read this book. If you can't laugh at this there's just no point anymore.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Universally Renown Masterpiece

    Ever wonder why man is on earth? Is there life beyond this Earth? What is so important about the number 42?

    These questions highlight Douglas Adams', Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, which is the fun and riveting tale of Arthur Dent, an average human life form from the average United Kingdom of the average planet Earth. A simple man with simple needs, Arthur has never marked his life with anything extraordinary until the day the city decided to tear down his house for the construction of a new bypass. On this same day, Ford Prefect pays Arthur a visit. Here begins Arthur's great adventure across the universe and back, literally.

    Adams' takes the age old question, "Why are we here?" And presents his answer in the form of a thrilling adventure through the stars. The first installment of this quest is the critically acclaimed novel, The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy. His witty dialogue and good old British dry humor make the novel a classic. He brilliantly blends seriousness with complete silliness, a ploy that so rarely works in modern literature. Adams creates a bizarre and crazy story, and then makes it crazier and more nutty than imaginable. His aliens come from the deep recesses of his imagination, and even they do not believe its craziness. It seems that this out of control book is not appealing, but there is an endearing quality about it. Its acceptance of craziness is almost too lovable to deny, and for this reason, this nutty space adventure is a must read for men, woman, aliens, and robots of all ages.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Classic!

    This is - bar none - my favorite series of books. If you have a "Monty Python" sense of humor, throw in a ton of space travel and aliens and you have the phenomenal classic: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy:-)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Read this or you'll lose a huge amount of fun.

    If you are not obsessed with logical and perfect storylines, this book is absolutely a modern classic that you just HAVE to read! That's all you need to know.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Shouldn't have liked it but couldn't help it.

    I'm not gonna lie. The first time I read this book (well, this series) was to make my dad happy. He kept going on and on and on about it with all of the references. So a couple of years before the movie came out, I read it. Boy, was I missing out not having read it earlier!

    This is a great British humor book. It's got just enough details for the cerebral and enough ridiculousness to make you chuckle. Almost ALL of it is younger-viewer-friendly humor and that's probably half of the fun of it. For as serious as some of the topics are, they're never treated with half of the intensity as a typical person would have over receiving the wrong order at a fast food restaurant. It's all light. It's all random. It's completely hinged to the unreal while simultaneously tacked to reality.

    There are, as with all books, some parts you could have lived without. I will say, though, that with all books in the series that the parts I cared to live without were never the same as the ones as others did. "Oh, you really didn't like that? I loved it! I didn't like ____." That's almost always the conversation you're going to have about the downsides. You'll also be surprised how much more you'll love the series after you start talking about it with someone else.

    Seriously, though, at least give the first book a shot. You'll know in the first chapter if you hate it. My reaction to novelty isn't the best but this was just novel enough while tempered enough to make an odd sort of sense while providing an odd sort of adventure.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best ever!

    No need to say more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Awesome

    Im 11 and its a little hard to understand at parts, other than that..... its a freakishly awesome book! Really funny if you understand that kind of humor.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    For your consideration

    The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is arguably one of the best science fiction books of the 21st Century; sadly, I did not feel the same way. Even though I do not enjoy reading science fiction books, this book would have been awful even if it was not science fiction. It is rambling/ repetitive, the wording is confusing, and the plot is all over the place. I believe that they should have given the reader a guidebook for the story when they bought it, so that they could find their way through the different tangents that the story alludes to throughout the storyline. I am actually regretting buying the book. One positive thing about this book is that it is a quick read and it had some witty parts.

    4 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Very interesting, and a good read.

    For all sci-fi fans. (Slartibartfast and Zaphod Beeblebrox FTW!) Also, don't waste money getting each book seperately. Get this one instead.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    42

    I loved this book, so very fun!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    DO NOT PANIC

    H2G2-A fantastic an explosive opening sends a lover of tea, a hitchhiking reporter, a president of the galaxy, a girl, and a maniacally depressed robot from the smoking remains of the Earth on a quest for the meaning of life. Hiijinks ensue.

    Restaurant-Desperate to not meet the ruler of the universe, Zaphod drags the gang to the end of the universe... To find a bite to eat. Also, Arthur almost dooms them all to destruction to get a cup of tea

    LUE-The gang is now sent to stop a perfectly pleasant alien race that as one small problem - they don't like the idea of a Universe. So, logically, these aliens want to get rid of it.

    SoLong-The Earth pops back into existence and Arthur gets a girlfriend. Something must be wrong with th Universe... Let's make fun of humanity!

    MostlyHarmless-The Guide is taken over. The Earth is about to go boom once more. Arthur has a daughter. Can he save the day one last time, or will he sit and watch the apocalypse unfold? Let's find out.

    How can you nit love this trilogy?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Will always be my favorite

    I have read the whole series. I then purchased the ultimate guide and have read it atleast a dozen times. Whenever I want a good laugh or even something to contemplate this is the first book I pick up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    .

    .

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book

    Nuce read. Every other sentence blows my mind. Just an amazing series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Pure fun

    The subject says it all. This is a satirical look at the British body politic and how absurd we all are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 999 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50