Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Sales Machine: Turbocharge Your Business with Relentless Focus on 12 Key Strategies

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book should have been called the Pigheaded Executive

The Ultimate Sales Machine is the most implementable business guidance I have ever red. It is one of those books that makes your life easier, if you have your own business and need to police it. Sometimes, you need guidance. Make it your business bible. The only thing ...
The Ultimate Sales Machine is the most implementable business guidance I have ever red. It is one of those books that makes your life easier, if you have your own business and need to police it. Sometimes, you need guidance. Make it your business bible. The only thing I am afraid of is that if everyone would follow this books chapters with full dicipline, the competition in any field of business would be an ocean full of business baracudas.

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I REVIEW THE BOOK WELL BELOW, PLEASE READ: HOWEVER 1ST ... I J

I REVIEW THE BOOK WELL BELOW, PLEASE READ: HOWEVER 1ST ...
I JUST GOT A NEW GLOW 2 WEEKS AGO AND HAVE A HUGE HOLE IN THE SCREEN !!!! THE NOOK DOES A 0.0 CHARGE ON YOUR CREDIT CARD EVEN IF YOU HAVE GIFT CARDS !! IF YOUR CREDIT CARD GOES OUT OF DATE, EXPIRES, OR YOU J...
I REVIEW THE BOOK WELL BELOW, PLEASE READ: HOWEVER 1ST ...
I JUST GOT A NEW GLOW 2 WEEKS AGO AND HAVE A HUGE HOLE IN THE SCREEN !!!! THE NOOK DOES A 0.0 CHARGE ON YOUR CREDIT CARD EVEN IF YOU HAVE GIFT CARDS !! IF YOUR CREDIT CARD GOES OUT OF DATE, EXPIRES, OR YOU JUST WANT TO CUT THEM UP, THE GLOW WON'T TURN ON, AND THE BOOKS WON'T OPEN !! PLUS SOMETIMES THE GLOW ASKS FOR YOUR ENTIRE CREDIT CARD NUMBER TO OPEN THE DEVICE !!! IMAGINE DOING THAT ON A BUS !! TERRIBLE IMPOSSIBLE RETURN PROCESS !!!

Onto the review:
Chet markets this book very very very well. He certainly has a talent for marketing his products. He has top names referring the book including tony robbins and these are not your typical referrals they seem almost written by Chet. I'm sure that;s not the case but its obvious he influenced/guided the referrals testimonials. You can't read any of the book with the peek view, just a few of the pages saying how great the book is. Gosh don't ya hate that?. So that was a bit of a red flag but what the heck I wanted to give it a try. The book seems kind of scrapped together a bit but thats ok cause he is not a professional writer, and most of this is really common sense, like have a customer service team that can help customers. Have meetings. have more meetings, have those meetings go well. Train, train and more training. More workshops for training, and training for workshops, and more lead sheets for sales to read off. Give your employees pop quizes. even if they answer right ask them over and over .... and over again until they can never forget the quiz even after they left the company (ok thats how you make your workers go "postal) ... Every question a customer asks has a canned and ready to deliver answer. So a bit boring if you are experienced in sales already. .... I love sales but I think sales also need to be ethical and this is a negative point for Chet. The think I don't like about Chet is he is wiling to sell anything and everything to anyone, pretty much no matter what, selling some old lady some carpet pad, ... selling another person every single option on the list, (why???!!! you don't feel something wrong there when you over use your rapport with a lonely customer??) and upselling everyone all the time, and upselling those upsells and then upselling that. I got the book for 5 bux cause of a free barnes and noble gift card but I am trying my best to get my own 5 dollars worth here. Where I think this book goes wrong is in 3 areas. He never has an audience targeted, no ethics which I think hurts the company in the long run, and way too many vague examples. I wish he would have just focused on start up biz, and followed this process through instead of jumping all around like a chicken from start up to fortune 500 back to start up, back to family stories, back to start up back to personal stories, .... ug .... too much coffee ? He mentions one many armies a lot and thats a great idea ...... but rhe arely deals with it actaully expect constantly in passing. Its more geared towards large companies with CEO and CFO and huge sales staff but its a 101 sales book that natural sales people know and experienced sales people know also, ... at the same time execs knew these basics years ago. So the target audience seems foggy to me. I donno I'm trying to get value out of this book . Im not saying I want my 5.00 back but I think the book title is good and the cover is cool looking and the testimonials are good and the book kinds sux. Still it makes you think, gosh maybe anyone can write any terd and if they super market it you can get a lot of money. Dont let people read inside, and once they buy ... too late ? Which brings us to the master lesson in this book it would be it has a bit of a creepy factor. All these guys have super egos but when Tony Robbins talks about his karate belts and things he did it somehow comes off as kinda cool When chet talks about being such a great karate expert it just comes off so creepy somehow !! I can't explain it but it just makes my skin crawl a bit. So the lesson I get from this book is selling without actually caring (selling without love for others) is like the difference of giving someone some donation with a kind smile or tossing the money in their face and calling them a scumbag.

posted by HOLE-IN-SCREN on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 32 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 32 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2