Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Weight Solution: The 7 Keys to Weight Loss Freedom

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Ultimate Solution

I have always liked Dr. Phil's approach to things and was very excited to see what he had to say about the subject of weight loss. I was glad to see that this book is a easy read and that this book emphasis on the often neglected behavioral strategies needed to lose we...
I have always liked Dr. Phil's approach to things and was very excited to see what he had to say about the subject of weight loss. I was glad to see that this book is a easy read and that this book emphasis on the often neglected behavioral strategies needed to lose weight. I Combined Dan Robey ¿The Power of Positive Habits¿ with Dr Phil¿s ¿The Ultimate weight Solution¿. This allowed me to learn how to stop eating so much and replace it with positive eating habits. All in all these are great books and I giving them both 5 stars easy.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Little Fiber

I was expecting more than this. He doesn't reveal any earth shattering news about weight loss. I get more from watching him on TV! Despite his protests, he has jumped on the weight loss campaign. Tell me something I don't know...

posted by Anonymous on November 2, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    The Ultimate Solution

    I have always liked Dr. Phil's approach to things and was very excited to see what he had to say about the subject of weight loss. I was glad to see that this book is a easy read and that this book emphasis on the often neglected behavioral strategies needed to lose weight. I Combined Dan Robey ¿The Power of Positive Habits¿ with Dr Phil¿s ¿The Ultimate weight Solution¿. This allowed me to learn how to stop eating so much and replace it with positive eating habits. All in all these are great books and I giving them both 5 stars easy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is good as it works with where you are. I found I so much about why I overeat. Well I no longer do and lost weight from the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Too Little Fiber

    I was expecting more than this. He doesn't reveal any earth shattering news about weight loss. I get more from watching him on TV! Despite his protests, he has jumped on the weight loss campaign. Tell me something I don't know...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    You too can write a book about losing weight and make money!

    As others have stated previously there really isn't much new here. We all know that we need to get off the couch and start exercising and eating better and less. Yes, there may be many psychological reasons why we eat so much but if we think about it ourselves we can come up with good reasons. The questions he has can help some. I got the book and then joined Weight Watchers at work. I think it can be helpful for some people though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    dr phil

    This book mainly reinforces what we all already know However it takes an approach that causes you to truly examine yourself your thoughts and feelings in a way most of us never do in our lifetime-By examining ourselves from the inside out the book leaves you with a whole new outlook on life in general- Not just your journey to permanent weightloss-After reading not only am I approaching my weight differently but my relationships with friends and family as well-I am so pleased and grateful for the opportunity to read this book-It has truly been a life changing gift to myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    A very good book by an excellent man

    Dr Phil is an excellent psychologist who has written a very good book on weight loss.Dr Phil himself is in good shape for his age.Being a psychologist gives him added insight into what are the problems people face with weight loss and how to address them. Dr Phil has made an enormous contribution to empowering people.His weight loss book is filled with relevant information on how to lose weight. Written with the straightforward integrity that is the hall mark of Dr Phil, the advice in this book will prove very valuable to any one seriously interested in losing weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    Excellent Book and Resource from Dr phil

    Weight Loss is a complex and difficult subject for people to deal with. Psychology plays a very important part and Dr Phil correctly addresses the barriers that people are likely to face and what to do about them. Unless you get the internal mental work right , exercising on will power will not work. You need to have a system in place and you also need the help of a support group. Dr phil correctly addresses all the issues pertaining to this complex and difficult issue.

    Weight Loss is not easy and requires a disciplined approach. Dr Phil's book could be used as a textbook on how to deal with weight loss. By using the Dr Phil platform to ensure that this information reaches as large a population as possible, Dr Phil has no doubt helped many people overcome this health problem that affects a large group of people.

    I like Dr Phil and I think his books and shows are informative and useful. His family is committed to the same causes as Dr Phil with his wife Robin and son Jay have written books and provided their own take on what it takes to be successful in life.You will find the Dr Phil resources to be very useful is helping people achieve greater life management mastery.

    As for the book, make it a permanent addition to your library if you are dealing with weight loss issues or you know someone else who is dealing with this major problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    Good book Overall...recomended!

    Dr Phil's book on weight loss is comprehensive and quite detailed.People who are immature like to criticise Dr Phil for being overweight himself, but the truth is that Dr Phil is a big man so he looks a little heavy. He appears quite healthy on TV.<BR/><BR/>Many people think that weight loss is mostly about exercise and discipline. Athough this largely true, you need to have the right mind frame to achieve those objectives. Dr Phil therefore spends a fair amount of time explaining why healing feelings and having the right attitude are important to weight loss. He then moves into diet,exercise and having a support group to help you.<BR/><BR/>I would have given more importance to exercise and kind of play down the need of a support group. I think people need to find the motivation inside themselves. Perhaps I am a more motivated kind of person and maybe Dr Phil in his wisdom recognizes that people do need help and encouragement, which is why he devoted a chapter to it.<BR/><BR/>Dr Phil's book is a good one and I would encourage people to read it with an open mind. Dr Phil is good at explaining how to improve your life as he has a lot of expertise in the area of self development and self management.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Disappointed..

    I was very disappointed with this one...would not recommend it to anyone!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Valuable info in this book- here's why.

    Finally a weight loss book that takes a good long look at the psychological side of losing weight. It may not be the end all in weight loss books, but I feel that this aspect of weight loss is just not talked about enough these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Worth its weight.

    I have always liked Dr. Phil's approach to things and was very excited to see what he had to say about the subject of weight loss. Needless to say, I was very pleased with the book. Without going into a lot of detail, the forte of this book is its emphasis on the often neglected behavioral strategies needed to lose weight. We all know to stop eating so much, but this book makes you think about such things as enlisting a circle of support and eating for emotional reasons. All in all its a great book and I give it 5 stars easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    it works

    this book is awesome. It works. The things in the book are within reach and a lifetime change

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    Worth a look.

    The value I found in this book is its emphasis and attention to the behavioral aspects of weight control. Most everybody knows to cut calories and exercise, but things such as eating for emotional reasons or recruiting a circle of support can sometimes mean the difference between succeeding and failing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    I GOT MANY TIPS,ON HOW TO EAT.

    THE ULTIMATE WEIGHT SOLUTION BOOKS,IS REALLY GOOD,FOR PEOPLE WITH EMOTIONAL PROBLEMS.I AM OVER WEIGHT,BUT I DON'T HAVE ANY EMOTIONAL PROBLEMS WITH FOOD,LIKE SOME PEOPLE,BUT I READ ALOT OF HELPFUL TIPS TO LOOSING WEIGHT AND TO START EATING HEALTHY. I STILL DON'T KNOW HOW TO LOOSE 27 POUNDS IN 8 WEEKS? I'VE BEEN EXCESISING 6 TIMES A WEEK AND EATING HEALTHY,I'VE BEEN WORKING MY BUTT OFF,AND LOST 7 POUNDS IN 5 WEEKS. I'M STILL VERY PROUD OF MYSELF,FOR ALL THAT EFFORT I'M DOING. I RECOMMEND YOU TO BUY THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    A Sensible Approach to Eating and Weight

    Dr. Phil has a way of making things simple and his diet plan is that way. I like his ideas and have found the plan to be helpful. Dieting is often hard for me if I am too strict or eliminate too many types of foods, and I like Dr. Phil's ideas about moderation and being real. I even find myself using his ideas if I experiment with other diets. This is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Great Book

    This book really opened my eyes to the underlying feelings and emotions that were driving my eating. The key to finding success through this book is yourself. You have to be honest and willing to evaluate your life and change bad habits. The guy that gave this book one star was probably unwilling to change. I hope Weight Watchers works for him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Doesn't even deserve one star

    This book is nothing. Worthless. Yes, I am overweight I have said it for years. But I have lost over 100 pounds and this book didn't help me do it! This book is worthless and I followed all the steps it told me to, and it didn't work! I am just saying save you 20.00 for a weight watchers program. That is what really works. They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and Dr.Phil can tell us we are beautiful all we want but he hasn't seen us so he should hush up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    Ultimate weight loss works!!!!!

    This book has changed my life. I have been doing the 14 day rapid weight loss and have lost 27 pounds in 8 weeks and lost many, many inches.I have gone down 2 dress sizes. Dr Phil helps you with the 7 keys to know who you are and where you are going. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    A Realistic Approach to Eating

    Dr Phil really helps us explore our habits and emotions. He gets us to realize why we do what we do, binge etc. He reaches in to depths that we have not gone before. Weight Watchers is good, but it doesnt take away the emotional reasoning for our eating habits like Dr Phil does. He's honest and very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Practical AND Inspiring

    I know there are already many reviews on this book, so you don't really need my input...but I couldn't pass up the chance to recommend this! There were many passages in this book that inspired me and that I return to regularly, in addition to just great practical advice. Dr. Phil doesn't preach, but he also doesn't enable you to keep fooling yourself either. He tells you everything you wish your best friend did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3