Customer Reviews for

Ultimates - Volume 1: Super-Human

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    This series is going to change how people look at comics

    The biggest thing for the ulitmates is the emotional states of the characters. You really see the mental side of the characters and they all have their own demons to deal with. Captain America's demon is he's in a world that's pass him by, Doctor Banner's true demon is not loving himself to the point he feels he has no choice but to become the Hulk to solve his problems, The Pyms abusive marriage, and Tony Stark having a huge issue with achochol this series has a lot of backbone to it that I hope that other graphic novels follow in the future.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Pretty good graphic novel!

    This graphic novel includes intelligence, humor, and even has a bit of politics to give it that more real world feel to it. Reading this can be compared to watching a movie because of how it was organized. The characters that make up this creative team are familiar but have a little twist in how they are. The original characters are more comic book heroes than these. The one's here are more real world and human than the older characters. I liked the flashback in the beginning to WWII with Captain America and explains how he was frozen in ice for awhile. I also liked how it showed that the team really comes together to save the world against the Hulk. The one thing I didn't like was how boring some of the slower parts were. But overall I really enjoyed reading this graphic novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    ULTIMATELY Exicting and Entertaining!

    I love this comic! I recomend this to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Great reworking of the Avengers.

    This is the first and best collection reworking the Avengers for Marvel's Ultimate line as "The Ultimates". It's an excellent updating and retake of the original Avengers. A bit of this book certainly influenced how The Avengers movie was done, and definitely had hand in getting Samuel L. Jackson to be Nick Fury. Fury picked him himself in this book.

    Is Captain America really Captain America. Is Thor really a god or just a crazy man with a very hight tech hammer. Who is going to crack the Super Soldier serum first, Hank Pym or Bruce Banner. Throw in the Ultimate versions of the Wasp, Hawkeye and the Black Widow and you've really got something. Plus, it turns out Cap wasn't just fighting Nazis during WWII.

    Anyway, this is the best volume of the Ultimates. Volume 2 is nearly as good but not quite. After that just forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Just a good story of a team developing to be a unit within their

    Just a good story of a team developing to be a unit within their own personal hiccups. If you love the Avengers, the Ultimate world, or just good story telling, this book is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Outstanding

    As you might have read from the other reviews here, this book is a great view of the Marvel universe from a creative, more realistic perspective. The characters are flawed and three dimensional. There's not much fighting in this book, but you're in for some great action in Volume 2 and Ultimates 2 (the next season).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Hulk is a real man

    The Hulk is the best thing about this book, going from a 98 pound weakling, made to feel inadequate by his girlfriend and the loathsome Freddie Prinze Jr., to the strongest one there is!!! Hulk Smash! Just flat out funny stuff in the midst of a 'serious' comic adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    avengers with a little flava

    This great amazing the only thing is the series ended .This book isn't fighting that much. I mean it takes a while to make a giant organization though this isn't for everyone little kids should not read this book because the Hulk is a potty mouth which cracks older readers like me up so it's excellent5 baby! now excuse while I read volume two

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Awesome!

    This is like one of the best comics I have read. Its cool, creative, the artwork is pretty darn good and it has a cool story line! I really recommend this cause it will change your life.. find out from theses people! Bob: I really enjoy the Ultimates they make my life better Sally: I can't believe I never read these before my life is a sham..Until Now there ya have it,,.... ya, I know im insane.. but you should read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    The Ultimate Avengers

    This is the latest ultimizing of the Marvel universe and it is the best yet. The first issue is a WWll story that ends in Cap riding a German atomic bomb into the ocean and freezing. The next couple issues are origin stories and setup for the Incredible hulk battle it is one of the best superbattles ever. Giant-man get knocked down in one charge. Iron-man gets shelled of his suit. Wasp shows a new side of herself and Captain America drops in a tank from a plan and takes on the Hulk and fairs well. A eco-friend Thor gets in some hits with minoljir before getting slapped down. The maddness only stops when wasp delivers a sting from inside banners cortex.The fun doesnt end there the bout of super-domestic violence between Giant-man and wasp will leave you stunned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1