Customer Reviews for

Ultramarathon Man: Confessions of an All-Night Runner

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Captivating

    Dean Karnazes' autobiography chronicling his life as a runner was a great read. The simple language and humor he used to describe his sometimes terrifying experiences as a long distance runner helped captivate me as a reader. This was the first I'd ever read about a person completing Ultra Marathons. I don't generally enjoy books about athletics, but this was a highly recommended read. Not only did I enjoy every page, but I have since purchased this book for family and friends as gifts. Dean is beyond inspirational, he is a super hero. Full disclosure: This book will make you want to run until you can't run anymore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Plantar Fasciitis

    Runners who have plantar fasciitis that interferes with their running might also be interested in "The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution."

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Motivating!

    I could not put this book down. There was a lot of common ground I found with the author. It's excellent depiction of a little-known (and growing) underground sport of extreme endurance athletes. These ultra-marathoners (runners who race in excess of the 26.1 popular races) come from all walks of life and each have their own reasons for doing what they do. These are everyday people, doing everyday jobs in society but share one thing in common; the mental ability to push themselves beyond what they thought they were capable of. This book demonstrates a true no-quit attitude that inspired me to take to the road for my first 30 mile race. Not only do I recommend this for motivational purposes or just a good read, but there are numerous how-to's included to help you prepare for your own running aspirations. 5 stars!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best sports books

    I usually do not read sports books, and to be honest, when I do it's because I'm looking for some motivation. This book definitely delivers on that. With each page that I read, I wanted to go out for a run (unfortunately, I'm nowhere near the conditioning of Dean). Beyond that, it opened up a world of running that I did not know even existed. The events that he competed in were just amazing. But what held it all together was the way that the book was written. With each page, I felt as if I was there, watching all of the events unfold. A definite winner.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Get Up and Move.....

    This book was recommended to me by a friend that has been into running for several years. I figured that it would be a dissertation on why I need to run. What it ended up being was a book that inspired me to run despite the fact that I haven't in run in many years. The book is very much in line with Lance Armstrong's "It's Not About the Bike." It makes you see how hard work can pay off, not in victories, but in personal triumph. I would recommened this book to runner's and non-runners alike. It is as entertaining as anything that I have read in a long time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Wonderful Book

    I picked it up and read it straight through. A peak into the mentality of an ultra-distance runner. Inspiring in a genuine, not a rah-rah manner. Simple prose, touching and funny, self-deprecating and yet wise. It deals, of course, with running but also touches on the theme of excellence and achievement for their own sake.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Hard to put down once you start reading it. Very inspiring and m

    Hard to put down once you start reading it. Very inspiring and motivational. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    The gratest

    The gratest book i have ever read.
    I am a runner my self and it enspired me to find a pation and to go with it. As he said the prsuit of a pation is grater than the pation it self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Standard reading for Ultra-runners

    If your planning on running ultra's this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Awesome!

    This guy is NUTS, but very inspirational...especially for someone who really wants to be a runner! Funny and fun and a great read! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Amazing

    Could not put this book down! Dean Karnazes has helped this 50 year old lady to keep pushing herself to see just how far she can go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I read this book in two days and enjoyed every bit. Well worth it. I am a casual runner and this inspired me to take my running further and inspired me in general! I will be reading it again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    What a ride!

    This was a great book and was impossible to put down until I had read every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Amazing Book- All Athletes Must Read!!

    Dean Karnazes, writer of this autobiography isn¿t your average ultra-marathoner, he is probably one of the most extraordinary athletes out there. All he thinks about is pushing his limits. His thirst for more challenges is never slowed. He has completed the Western States (100 mile race through the mountains in California) multiple times, finished the Badwater run, he even ran the first marathon to the South Pole, and let us not forget the 199 mile relay which he completed by himself. He finds a true connection with running and it isn¿t just a hobby to him, it¿s a passion. Karnazes puts the runner¿s perspective into the non-runner¿s view and changes the way people think of ¿that runner running by outside the window¿ simply by telling of his difficult mental battles and of his amazing experiences that he has seen and heard while running. This inspiring biography is more about him having the guts to push himself both physically and mentally and it makes you want to do the same. It is a must read for all serious athletes who know they are capable of doing more than they think they can.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    What an inspiring story

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Great read for runners

    I was lucky to get to run a few miles of a race with Dean and he told great stories during it. The book is written where I can hear his voice telling more stories. If you enjoy distance running, this is a great read of stories including how he got started. I wouldn't reccomend doing his first run when he returned, most would have gotten injured!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    True inspiration for all runners

    I read this book and it brought tears to my eyes. To FEEL what Dean was saying during some "dark moments" in his head comforts me as a runner. We've all had moments that the last wall we push is always our greatest one, yet... Go back to basics and don't make it complicated, "just put one foot in front of the other until you finish"... I love this book so much, as soon as I finished.. I threw on my shoes and went for a quick run myself in homage to Dean :o)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    inspires you and your sport.

    If your looking for inspiration and human achievements for any sport, read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    Extremely motivational, excellent inspiration!

    Dean does an excellent job of keeping the reader engaged. If you are planning any long distance event, in any sport, this is a great compliment to your preparation. Crazy or not, if this man can endure this much, any task we do should seem effortless in comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5