Customer Reviews for

Ulysses

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Proof of Joyce's ingenuity

What people don't understand when reading Joyce's Ulysses- is that it is not so much the plot of the book that is important but way the book is written; people claim that it's boring. It is complicated but that is what makes the book the third most researched piece of l...
What people don't understand when reading Joyce's Ulysses- is that it is not so much the plot of the book that is important but way the book is written; people claim that it's boring. It is complicated but that is what makes the book the third most researched piece of literature...right behind Shakespeare's work and the bible. That alone says a lot about the work. The complicatedness was intentional. Joyce is a genius and this proves it. How many authors can claim they've parodied the greatest figures in literature--Homer, Shakespeare, Dante, and the bible? Does anyone realize that each chapter is written from a different character's point of view, each chapter is written in a different style, each chapter's is written to follow Homer's Oddyssey?

Ulysses is not made for people who want to sit back and just read and not think. It is not made to entertain people. It is written for people who APPRECIATE LITERATURE.

posted by rnary on October 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not getting it.

I've tried, but I have not been able to finish this. It's not easy reading, so it may just be that it requires longer spans of reading time than I am willing to give.

posted by TimHeckman on October 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Lezies party

    Come at pg3 book 3 bring swim suits and family

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Cody

    Hey mom can you whatch the kids for me.tina-yes of corse

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    NEW TOWN RP

    Rambles all results

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Ulysses

    Confusing
    What's a gunrest?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    Undisputed Champ of Writing

    The best prose I've seen in a book by the greatest author ever. Though not much happens and the things that happen aren't noticeable or forgettable it is a must read based on prose alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Joyce's Gift to the World

    I view Ulysses not just as a piece of literature, but the most eloquent and amazing vision of life, love, fidelity, and compassion set over the course of one day in Dublin. Beauty through alliterations, allusions, and metaphors are scattered throughout the text that light up each page and set the bar for what literature SHOULD be. Joyce modeled himself after the two key characters, Stephen, being the young Joyce, and Leo, being the much older and wiser Joyce. Through this work we see a kaleidescope of wonder and amazement and sheer honesty of society as this work paralells Homer's The Odyssey. I strongly urge anyone who has the dillegence and patience to read this book and take time doing so this work was not meant to be an easy read, but rather a fulfilling journey that will touch your soul unlike anything in history of literature. I can truly say that this book changed my life, and I love it dearly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Horrible!

    This review refers to the audiobook reading, not the text. First-- Jim Norton has a British accent, not an Irish accent. Anywhere I read has that it is so much more enjoyable read out loud 'with a brogue'. Second-- He rushes through the reading. It seems his intent is just to get through the text as fast as possible, rather than convey each word or phrase. Third-- There is no emotion in his voice (this is a problem with many audiobooks.) Each word has the same emotional weight. He might as well be reading a phone book. My advice if you want to hear this read aloud--call me and I will read it to you over the phone. Maybe the long distance charges will come to less than the cost of this collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    American Literature at its best

    Perhaps the toughest book you will ever read, James Joyce's 'Ulysses' stands as a crowning achievment in English literature. Though tough to interpret, after completing this novel the reader will fill a since of achievment upon completion of this book. A must read for any serious English Literature student.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    not so tough as beautiful . . .

    I think people need to 'know' what they are reading too much, and I think Joyce wanted readers to just relish in it and to feel it . . . the language grooves; just read it aloud and feel it! What do you mean, 'What does it mean?' It's beautiful . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    is this a bestseller?

    i happen to pass by this book in the bookshop one day and i picked it up for a read .. it is wonderful had it not been for the too many latin or greek references ,all those weird lines boggles our minds. and the word CONTRASMAGNIFICANJEWELBANGTANTIABILITY IS A WEIRD WORD unable to decipher ,could anyone who reads this be able to help me ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Five stars are not enough.

    All things extraordinary in one day, yet one day of such ordinary things. This book encompasses all! This edition is especially good for a paperback. Even the size of the book is perfect to handle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    Jethro Madison

    Pardon me. I am not very articulate. Ulysses is a very fine book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    If you want a jigsaw puzzle or a riddle that encompasses 600 pages, read Ulysses

    Masterly done. One of the greatest novels I have ever read. James Joyce always hides another story, an image that passes us during the first read, that envokes us to read the novel a second time. And as soon as we pick the book up again, just when we thought we knew the allegory, another story surfaces itself from the pages. Stunning. An example of this facade method Joyce uses in his story is the first chapter. We see Stephen Dedalus shaving himself while he talks to his friend Buck Mulligan, but after a second read of the chapter we don't see Stephen Dedalus shaving but as a reciever of communion from Buck Mulligan who is actually a Protestant priest that consecrates the host at the beginning of the chapter. Only a master can put two stories in one chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2001

    One of Joyce's Finest Novels!

    Joyce's Ulysses is the epitome of modern literature and i highly recommend this novel. This book is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    A TRUE CLASSIC.

    Ulysses, James Joyce's seminal work,has had a profound effect on millions of readers. Ulysses is crude and sensitive, lyrical and blunt, funny and sad. It shows the reader a glimpse of one man's struggle to define himself amidst the chaos of modern experience. Ulysses is the most important contribution that has been made to fictional literature of the 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    Such a cruel pleasure to be driven slowly mad...

    Joyce said this about the Big U (maybe I'm paraphrasing) - 'I think I've put enough little literary tricks and devices in there to keep 'em occupied for years...' Who could disagree? Quite simply, it's THE book of the last century. Read it in the bath. Read it at Maccas. Read it in the private study of the Oval Office, or read in this new Space Station they're bunging together. Wherever, you'll still end up happily nuts. Which is nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2001

    Greatest novel of all time?

    Joyce's masterpiece not only encapsulates and parodies a shockingly wide range of literary styles, not only pushes the reader further into any other character in literature, not only hurls language into new and dazzlingly original constellations, but does all these things while remaining true, poetic, and hilarious. If you read Ulysses as a tragedy or a comedy, it becomes each effortlessly. His understanding of the human condition is unparalleled, as is his genius. We should all consider this book as a gift from the God's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    (headline for review)

    the waves shocked ripples through my veins the greatest book ever .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    Deeper than The Abyss

    Truly the most symbolic book I've ever read. I required a companion study to fully comprehend the full meaning of Joyce's opus. Yet, the language can also speak for itself. A wonderful book and a comparatively swift and smooth read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    Absolutely Incredible

    The compositing of the hundreds of literary mechanisms in this incredible modern epic novel makes it not only aesthetically pleasing but also important as it tells both the story of artistic progression through history and the path towards psychological fragmentation. Anyone that is at all interested in the origins of contemporary prose should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8