BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Umbrella Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Best book ever!!!

I loved this book. It is about a a ten year old who's brother died. The girl, Annie, thinks she has all the diseases, when she meets an old lady who helps her overcome all her worries. The old lady also helps Annie close her "umbrella". This is a cute story and I highly...
I loved this book. It is about a a ten year old who's brother died. The girl, Annie, thinks she has all the diseases, when she meets an old lady who helps her overcome all her worries. The old lady also helps Annie close her "umbrella". This is a cute story and I highly reccomend it.

posted by book-addict98 on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

:)

LOVE IT!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Best book ever!!!

    I loved this book. It is about a a ten year old who's brother died. The girl, Annie, thinks she has all the diseases, when she meets an old lady who helps her overcome all her worries. The old lady also helps Annie close her "umbrella". This is a cute story and I highly reccomend it.

    58 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Amazing!!

    This is an amazing book! Trust me! I never used to like reading and when I bought this book at my school book fair I read the back and loved it! The beginning is kinda confusing but in the end tears almost fell down my face! This book made me want to start reading! Enjoy!!!!:)

    42 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    This Is A Awesome Book

    I think it has a lot of humor in it. I think teachers should have thier students read this. Annie is sooo catious. Beacause,her brother Jared died. But if you had someone pass away you should read this book. Or if someone you know if one of thier friends or family members died. So you could tell them about it. Please read this book I LOVED it! So try to read this book.

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    BEST BOOK!!!!!

    This is a book about a girl named Annie who thinks she has all these diseases after her brother dies in a skating accident. She meets a new neighbor and they instantly click. Will this lady hep get Annie to open her umbrela and see the world, orwill she be stuck under her umbrella for the rest of her life?

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    To: Hi guys

    You should definitely get this. It was great and amazingly awesome! I am 10 too and I loved it

    25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Amazing

    One of my friends told me to read this book and i am glad i did. It is a good story. It is ok at the beginning but keep reading it just gets better and you cannot put it down. UMBRELLA SUMMER is an easy and great story.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Almost made me cry

    This is a wonderful book about a girl and how she coped after her brothers death. After making an unlikley friend , the death of a beloved hamster and re - making a best friend Annie and her family and friends learn how to cope with death and remember there loved ones.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    To: hi guys and other person

    Sould i buy it i am 10 to ?

    13 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Incredible, heartwarming, and exciting.

    I am only on page 70 and i can't put it down! Everything in here is amazing!

    Ages: 8-15
    Amazing: YES!!!
    incredible: YES!!!!!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Joanie

    This book will make you want to dance in the rain:)

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unmistakable!

    The summer after her brother died from a rare accident, Annie Richards is overprotective and far too careful in everything she does. She wears a helmet when she is walking down the street, uses all of her allowance on Band-Aids, and isn't herself anymore. What if she got a scratch and it became infected? What if she got gangrene? Anything and everything can bring a sickness, deformity, or future medical problem. When an old lady moves into the house across the street, Annie realizes that maybe, metaphorically, she could shut her umbrella just a smidgen.

    Told with sincerity and clever similes, Umbrella Summer is the best book I've read that shows the aftermath of the death of a loved one in the most truthful way. One of the reasons this book was brought to my attention was the cover. It's vibrant and, I have to say, fits with the book well. The storyline was fast-paced and only told through two weeks. Annie is a spunky, refreshing character and all of them are so realistic. The writing was unmistakable and the author's talent was put to good use. I thoroughly enjoyed all this book has to offer! It's adorable, memorable, and teaches more than one great lesson.

    Contains:

    Things that might scare younger readers
    *different diseases
    *mention of maybe-amputations

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Amazing

    I could not put this book down. It was one of the best books i have ever read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Pretty good over all

    Read this book last year it took me two weeks to finish starts out slow but gets better sometimes a little boring

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Umbrella summer Umbrella Summer

    Umbrella summer is a good but sad book im glad she was brave enough to open her umbrella

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    By Aspen age 12

    Umbrella Summer is one of the best books I've ever read.Its about a girl named Annie.Her brother died just a year before of a rare disease.Now Annie thinks she has all these outrageous diseases.Then an old lady helps Annie see she needs to leave her own life and take a few risks.Annie helped guide me through insecurities,leaving me feeling good about myself at the end of the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Excellent book!

    The plot was more heartwarming than intriguing, but it taught a lesson so any of us have forgotten - it's OK to be cautious, but sometimes you need to let down your umbrella of worry and let the sunshine stream down, even if it means letting the raindrops fall as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great

    Heard it was great,im so excited to read it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Awesomest book

    I love this book and i recomend it to girlss and women all over the world i love this book:)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Read this:) :)

    This book is soooo amazing. I highly reccommend it to anybody who has lost an importaint person in your life. A well written story. Do you have an umbrella up?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Adorable

    Cute and really funny!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12