Customer Reviews for

Un Lun Dun

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Enter by booksteps on storyladders"

    I really loved this book. I haven't read anything else by Mieville yet but I now plan on it.
    The set up was perfect so that when the twist evolved, there was no gasping, no "Oh no he didn't!"; it was just seamless.
    I adored everything about Deeba and the other other characters. My favorite chapter was Mr. Speaker and the renegade words. The intangible made tangible and yet still untamable. And "Enter by booksteps on storyladders" was like a call.
    Constant adventure, constant innovation, just as it should be. You don't have to be perfect to be a hero and you don't have to be Destined to do the right thing. This lack of inevitability is what's missing from many other novels like it which makes this wholly refreshing and an absolutely great read.

    Originally borrowed from the library but I am definitely going to buy to add it to my own collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Odd yet unforgetable

    WHen you begin the novel, things may seem a bit odd, but as the novel progresses, you get into the flow of things. it has peculiar characters and unique creative ideas. The book seems to drag out a bit longer than it needs to. It can be compared to alice in wonderland. it is peculiar yet interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Crazy book about a crazy world

    Un Lun Dun is a fantasy book about a girl from London that gets lost (along with her friend) in a parallel world called Un Lun Dun, that is a wacky upside down (in a tame since of the word) version of London, with residents of the strange city calling her "the shwazzy". This book is unique and their is alot of fantasy and adventure, but the characters, despite originality, are forgettable and uninteresting sometimes. The book is so outrageous that it is difficult to get into ( which is saying something because fantasy is mostly what i read). Its an average book that could have been better if something was in it or taken out. What that is I couldn't say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Un Lun Dun Book Review: School Project

    China Mieville's book, Un Lun Dun, is a young adult suspense novel that will have every reader on the edge of their seat! It is a book about a teenager, Deeba Resham, who stumbles upon an unknown universe of opposite worlds with her best friend, Zanna. She soon realizes she will have to make a choice and help her Un Lun Dun pals. This decision has her racing through the city of Un Lun Dun to peculiar places that will assist her in saving the city. No one expects Deeba to succeed, but does she? You will have to read the book and find out! It is an excellent novel that dares to go places no other writer has gone before. After just a few pages you will surely feel yourself wanting more!
    This novel invites you in from the very beginning. Mieville has a unique style of writing that is very alluring. He creates ideas and concepts that most people would never think of. I never knew what was coming next in the book, and I loved that! There is a specific part in the book where Zanna and Deeba are being transported to Un Lun Dun by accident. There is a secret room and an odd wheel that just keeps turning and turning. It is a little frightening yet intriguing. Another time that is very interesting in the book is when Deeba is trying to get back to Un Lun Dun. She starts climbing bookshelves and then never stops! It was the wildest thing. I remember her trying to figure out what the memento from Obaday meant when it said "Brick Wizardry. Pigeons. Difficult to get in. Enter by booksteps, on storyladders." The creativity and brilliance of Deeba, the main character, was astounding!
    Anyone who is thinking about reading this novel should go to the store and buy it now! It is an absolutely riveting novel that is well worth the money. I would have to give it 2 thumbs up! Every teenager should take the opportunity to read this story. So go ahead and get hooked, on Un Lun Dun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazingly wierd

    This book is so out there that when you finish it you will just be plain stumped. You would have loved it very much but it will leave you confused. I love books like that because it leaves open all the possibilities open for you to consider. This is a thrilling book and I suggest it to all older teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Ul Lun Dun

    I thought Un Lun Dun was a good book, and very entertaining. In Un Lun Dun, Zanna, short for Suzanna and her friend Deeba life a normal life in London. Then strange things start to happen. Animals stare at Zanna, strange people seem to know her, and they even see a cloud that seems to look exactly like her. Then Zanna and Deeba follow a broken umbrella to the Basement of their apartment building, and end up un UnLondon, a place being menaced by an intelligent smog. There they learn that Zanna is the ¿Chosen one¿. However, when Zanna can¿t continue, Deeba has to do it herself. At first it seems that Mieville¿s world of ¿Unlondon¿ is pretty self explanatory. Everything is the opposite of London. However, we learn that UnLondon is also the place where anything old, obsolete, and broken goes. The UnLondoners do many things with this Moil (mildly obsolete in London), build houses out of it, sell it use it as money, etc. The world itself is entertaining, but the plot is also an important part of what makes the book so good. At first, it seems that this is typical ¿chosen one fantasy¿. However, Mieville goes on to break most of the rules. When was the last time the chosen one was put out of commission? The authors writing style is also engaging, with lots of clever dialogue and descriptions. i enjoyed this book, but like lots of other books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    China Mieville¿s Un Lun Dun is one of the most exciting and fiction filled books that I have ever read. China Mieville did a great job when it came to including the problem of pollution in this book relating to actual life. When I read this book it was like being in a magical realm, I could see the scenes so clearly it was as if I was there experiencing was happening. The main plot of this story was the destruction of pollution. In the beginning of this book it was mainly about Deeba and her friend Zanna, trying to figure out why all these bazaar things were happening, such as animals following Zanna around, and the attack of smog pretending to be fog. The middle of this book was about Deeba and Zanna learning about Un Lun Dun and about the later explained prophesies, that they latter find out are wrong. The ending of this book is all about Deeba and Zanna¿s fight with the smog and about how hardships can bring together people, the ending of this book was thrilling, beyond words. I feel that this book was very inspiring because of the relations with real life situations and the courage of the main characters. In this book Deeba, the main character, was faced with a life or death situation. This situation was focused on the destruction of the smog. I feel that this is inspiring because she could have run away from the smog situation and let the people of Un Lun Dun suffer but she didn¿t because she knew that she had to be like a ¿slaterunner¿, and step on new ground, stand up for herself so the people of Un Lun Dun could too. I also feel inspired because of the similar hardships with pollution. I feel that Mieville had a big concern for this because of all the detail that was but into the smog¿s being, such as when Deeba was saying how you could almost ¿feel it¿ by just looking and how you ¿couldn¿t stop it without the Un Gun¿, a gun that would someday be the destruction of the smog. I think that the writing style of Mieville is odd because he uses words from the English dictionary and rewrites them to form new and exciting words. He also has bursts of action scenes in different parts of the book, as if he were writing his emotions. The characters in this book were a variety of personalities such as timid, hardworking, all knowing, and hardheaded. I think that the plot of the story was the hardships with pollution and the effects of listening to lies. The main message of the book Un Lun Dun was to work through your problems not try to run away from them. I would say that this book is a must read kind of book. People who like books that are fiction filled and have awesome action scenes you guys would love Un Lun Dun. I would give it 10 out of 10 class-marks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Un Lun Dun: a fast paced and original fantasy

    I was extremely surprised with China Mieville¿s young adult fantasy, Un Lun Dun. This book definitely had me hooked. It is smart, witty, fresh, and original. I suggest this book to those that love fantasy and don¿t mind letting themselves go. Unlike most young adult fantasy novels, Un Lun Dun brakes away from the crowd and takes up its own path. The book takes the reader on a complete departure from reality to a place called UnLondon. In UnLondon, flying busses guarded by conductors are at the risk of being attacked by bandits on giant flies. Tropical jungles exist in houses with rivers flowing from toilets. The sun is ten times the size of the earth¿s with a hole in the center of it, and the moon is actually called the ¿loon¿ and is shaped like a cat¿s eye. But a cloud hangs over UnLondon and its name is the Smog. The Smog terrorizes UnLondon with random chemical attacks. Deeba, a teenager from London, discovers that she may be the only hope to defeat the Smog. This book was very exciting. I was excited to read it because it didn¿t include the clichéd elements that most young adult fictions thrive on. No heavy romances, no one¿s heart was broken, and there were no cliques. These books are plagued with predictability, not so in Un Lun Dun. Zanna was considered to be the chosen one to defeat the Smog and received special attention because of this. I was surprised when Mieville chose to have Zanna fail miserably and an unlikely hero ended up saving UnLondon. I was also surprised when the people that society thought would never amount to anything rose up and fought against the Smog¿s minions. Specific rules were laid out to defeat the Smog Deeba took a risk and disregarded those rules. The plot was interesting and very well developed. I thought the writer was ingenious. I enjoyed the British slang used in the book, and he wrote very clearly. The characters seemed like normal, everyday people. The message of the story is that the people you least expect could end up saving the day. This is a good read if you are looking for something out of the ordinary. After reading this book, you will never think the same about giraffes and umbrellas again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Stunning

    When I'm at the library, I usually just skim the shelves for an interesting cover, read the summary, and check it out if it sounds decent. But I usually only like the book about half the time, and rarely find one that is worth rereading. After reading the summary for this book, I was a bit doubtful, but decided to give it a try. I LOVED IT! I liked how much thought and ingenuity was put into it, the crazy characters, and the amazing worlds China created. I would definitely recommend this to a friend, and I'd like to try another of China's works in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    When one of my friends bought this book I started reading it. It was unbelivable!I didn't finish reading the novel so I found out it was in our library so I checked it out an dI absolutley fell in love for it. I mean just the book itself was indescribable! I really think that all the directors out there should make a movie about it. I also hope that all of the reviews give an inspiration to China to write a second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    i loved it

    i loved this book. it was one of my favorites(out of the few) and i just cant explain how much i loved it. its very unique and may seem somthin unreadble at the begging but once i started reading i just couldnt stop! it was great and i hope you will enjoy this book too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    It's Pure Perfection

    I honestly can not do this book justice with words, it is too good to describe. From curdle the milk carton that acts like a puppy dog to Hemi the half-ghost boy, I am sad to see all of the characters (with the exeption of a few such as the smog) go with the end of the book. I loved the strangness of it and the uniqueness as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2