Customer Reviews for

UnEnchanted

Average Rating 4.5
( 2481 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1742)

4 Star

(462)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

191 out of 218 people found this review helpful.

This is a fantastic tale. I've read many Smashwords books and

This is a fantastic tale.

I've read many Smashwords books and have been hugely disappointed with them. This is not the case for Unenchanted. Mina's story is very well written and grips the reader. I have one complaint on that the story was not finished. The book abrup...
This is a fantastic tale.

I've read many Smashwords books and have been hugely disappointed with them. This is not the case for Unenchanted. Mina's story is very well written and grips the reader. I have one complaint on that the story was not finished. The book abruptly ended as if nothing had happened. This left me wondering if there was more or if that was it. I do hope the author finishes the story. However, Mina's story is worth reading if you ignore the slamming on the brakes when you hit the last page and realize that's all there is.

posted by NickyDuvyrda on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

61 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

YA, continued...

Ok, if your a teenager, probably gonna like this book. Young girl, high school, magic...school geek, hot boy, bla bla bla... Good book, just make sure you are not looking for more than what I wrote, you wont find it here.

posted by Boo0493 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2482 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 125
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Wow

    This book drew me in from the first sentence, and did not let go until the end. I want more!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Fluffer nutter! this was a great book!

    Holy. Fluffer. Nutters. This is an amazing book and a GREAT series! Minas sweet, nans boss, jareds annoying but i like him and think he has a great personality, brodys just annoying and like super possesive and treats mina like a little kid but other than brody all the characters r super likable. Made my bff read ans she ADORED IT!!! (Just like me!!!!) Read the whole series in like 2 days!!!!!!! Ps:does anyone else think charlie would make a great ninja??? XD!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Teen book

    Just wasnt my cup of tea.Perhaps for the tween an young teen they might find in interesting.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Ridiculous

    At first I thought I could deal with the disjointed writing style because I thought perhaps the plot was going somewhere. My hopes for this book completely fell apart for two reasons that happened almost simultaneously in the story line. The main character all of a sudden knows the name of some fairy-like character that has never been mentioned before-ever-in the book. Even worse for me than this amateur writing mistake is the sudden and ridiculous Twilight-like, completely contrived love triangle. I couldn't finish reading this book and deleted from my library-thank goodness it was free!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Boring book

    This book was awful. There were tons of spelling errors and I didnt enjoy it at all, the plot was confusing.. i wouldnt recommend this book

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    UnEnchanted

    I just absolutely loved this book! I could not put it down. I recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy. It's a great read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    A fairy tales adaption worth reading

    I love fairy tales, and pretty much any adaption of them. Unenchated is no exception.
    This is a story of a teenager who must live through the stories that kept us awake at night and haunted our dreams; the Brothers Grimm stories.
    With the help of select friends she tries to make sense of her famlies curse and save he brother, and in turn herself, from being casualty in her Grimm war against fairy tales.
    All in all a good read with a suprise ending!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I was looking for something to fill the time while Jeff Oden pla

    I was looking for something to fill the time while Jeff Oden played fantasy battle, before D&D started. I grabbed his Kindle and fond a freebie that could possibly entertain me for a few hours. I was very happy with UnEnchanted. I finished it right up and really enjoyed the different characters. I purchased the second book because I really want to see what becomes of Mina, Brody, Charlie, Jared and Nan. The story concept is unique and has the chance of going in so many imaginative directions Any fan of fairytales, traditional or reimagined should give this novel an honest chance. I'm looking forward to how the author develops her style and the characters in upcoming books. Plus it is free so how can you really go wrong?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Horrible writing. Worse editing.

    I like a good teen fiction once in a while. It's my guilty pleasure, but this book is so badly written, I couldn't bear to read more than a few pages.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Christinook

    This was an amazing and intriquing novel, it was absolutely impossible for me tostop reading and put at rest. The book starts off perfectly from the start and I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone. The author is an amazing writer, although there are a few gramatical mistakes, that were clear, and could probably be caught by the publisher. The errors are few, but they're able for you to automatically change in your mind and keeping on reading the fantastic teen novel. I am a teenager, of 14 myself, and I would recommend this writing to anyone of my friends ornfamily members. Even if you have the slightest doubt aabout this book, I know that I did, it's worth the read. You'll be impressed with the author, won't be able to put it down, and you'll automatically want to purchase the next book in the series. Mina will be waiting for you to.help finish her story and see if she ends up with her biggest crush who may of maynot betray the poor girl... only one way to find out, read the books...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Woe

    It was a great book !!! I couldnt put it down . I never read but when i found this book i was attached !!!!*

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I would strongly recomend this book for young teens or adults i stay up late reading it . The first night i got this book i got done with more than half

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Hey Y'all!! I absolutely loved this book. I know that sounds rea

    Hey Y'all!! I absolutely loved this book. I know that sounds really cliché but it’s OK because it's true.  I think the characters were very well developed and the story line was pretty good. I absolutely love how there was a little romance thrown in without being too overpowering (like Tabasco sauce in soup, a little goes a long way). Another thing that I liked was the humanism aspect of it. Without the whole being-a-descendant-of-the-Grimm's thing, Mina was almost perfectly normal. The reader can almost always relate people in a book to people that they know in real life and that is what i did here. I definitely know someone like Brody, Mina, Nan and Jared without having to think too badly about it. It is a really good book for teen girls in particular because it talks about being strong and standing up for what you believe in and having the courage to do whats right even though it may not be the easiest thing in the world. Mina starts out a little weak and wimpy girl but turns into a wonderful, strong, courageous young lady. I would say to use her as a role model and don’t let anyone too significant stand in your way. 
    This is the first of a trilogy (haven’t started the next ones yet but I will post a review when I’m done) I  would definitely recommend it and if you decide to read it i am glad I could help find a book that is worth your while. 
    -jrotclacrosse 


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I advise you to save your time and pass this book up.

    This book was highly unsatisfactory to me. It was poorly written, with minimal plot/character development. The ending was also very sudden and didn't make much sense. Instead of making me want to buy the next book, it made me lose any interest I had in the characters and plot. It felt to me as though this book was a hastily written rough draft, certainly not ready for publication. I would not reccomend it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    What...

    Why would you say the ending in a review? The book is ruined for me now. Thanks.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    Im twelve and i absolutely loved this book! Finished in three hours, i was so hooked! definitely reccomend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Not free

    I was charged 1.49 for this "free" book. The story was ok, but not something I wiuld actually pay for. Not the first time this has happened.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am in 6th grade and i finished it in only 2 days!!!! If you are in love with sad, exiting, romance, fairly tales this is for you! But i garintee you will not expect the ending! I FELL ENCHANTED BY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    G

    Unenchanted 3 is coming in spring 2013 look on the website

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Luv it

    I love this author and this book!!! This series is amazing!!! This book has the perfect balance of romance,fairy tales , and immense fighting! Warning: lots of kissing. I would say it is for about 10 and up. This book is thankfully free but the next ones not so if you can't buy stuff getting sucked into this series isn't the best idea. -prettygirl

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2482 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 125