Customer Reviews for

UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2577 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1812)

4 Star

(479)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

204 out of 232 people found this review helpful.

This is a fantastic tale. I've read many Smashwords books and

This is a fantastic tale.

I've read many Smashwords books and have been hugely disappointed with them. This is not the case for Unenchanted. Mina's story is very well written and grips the reader. I have one complaint on that the story was not finished. The book abrup...
This is a fantastic tale.

I've read many Smashwords books and have been hugely disappointed with them. This is not the case for Unenchanted. Mina's story is very well written and grips the reader. I have one complaint on that the story was not finished. The book abruptly ended as if nothing had happened. This left me wondering if there was more or if that was it. I do hope the author finishes the story. However, Mina's story is worth reading if you ignore the slamming on the brakes when you hit the last page and realize that's all there is.

posted by NickyDuvyrda on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

YA, continued...

Ok, if your a teenager, probably gonna like this book. Young girl, high school, magic...school geek, hot boy, bla bla bla... Good book, just make sure you are not looking for more than what I wrote, you wont find it here.

posted by Boo0493 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Good story - horrible editing

    My pre-teen daughter and I liked the story but I am hesitant to buy her the next in the series because the editing is so sloppy. It seems as though the editor stopped working after the first few chapters. There are numerous words misspelled and numerous words dropped completely. The sloppiness makes this reader feel insulted. If the author and publisher did not care enough to proof-read then why should the reader care enough to read the book? I hate the bad example this sets for my daughter even more so because I found the story imaginative.

    31 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Good story, horrible spelling

    I almost couldn't finish this book because of all of the spelling and grammar errors. It was a good story with a good plot, but some spell check and editing would have given this a higher rating.

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Clever story but typos and grammatical errors detract significan

    Clever story but typos and grammatical errors detract significantly from it (Nook version).  How can a book be published with such poor editing?

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    loved the concept-very unique

    "Truthfully this whole morning is kind of a haze."

    Truthfully this BOOK is kind of a haze. I loved the whole story about how Mina has to live through the Grimm fairy tales and how they adapted overtime to fit the modern era. The follow through is where this book is lacking.

    Mina is a high school girl who has moved around a lot. She has one close friend, Nan. After some odd events happen, her mom finally fesses up with the history of her family. Mina is definitely stubborn and does care about her family. At the same time, she is naive and kind of clueless.

    The guys in the story are Brody and Jared. Brody is Mina's crush from school. At first he seems cocky and the typical jock. They then become friends and he seems very protective and possessive, but still nice. Jared kind of pops up out of nowhere and it's not really explained in depth what or who he is. He uses Nan to stay near Mina.

    While I absolutely loved the idea of the story, the writing itself kind of killed it for me. Mina jumped to conclusions really randomly and without any sort of explanation. There were certain parts that weren't really explained; things just happened, but you weren't quite sure what. There were a few grammar and spelling issues, but not anything major. With a little more revision I'm sure the story could have been much better. I'll probably still give it a try to read the next in the series since I do love the concept and am curious about what happens.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Should i read it

    Is it aprproret for a 10 year old?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Decent for a free book.

    I had mixed feelibgs about this story. For a free book, it was well-written and it definitely has promise. But a lot of the major plot points and story arcs seemed like they were being made up as the author went along. The ending was really strange and it didn't make a lot of sense to me; it seemed forced.

    As for characters, it was somewhat refreshing to see a female lead with flaws and imperfections, but that was the only trait of the main character. She was clumsy and messy, and that was it. There was no further development with her - she had no notable positive traits. The other charcters are static and not at all notable. I was highly disappointed to see that the author took that "you're not like other girls" route with the main character's romance (which, as a whole, was badly written.)

    In all, this was somewhat entertaining, but definitely nothing I would pay for.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Weeesyly great

    Love the book and im in the middle of it AWSOME!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    To: `:|)?|

    I hope this is close eniugh for you. I have read the sisters grimm books and i would assume this is like it but i have yet to read the book for myself. It sounds very good though. I want to read it asap.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    aPesonwasreally confuse.d

    I liked it it was a lot better than trying to read war and peace at 12 years old. But the plot kept chging and not really in a smooth way. I also didnt like how sara wasnt really supportive and was alwats trying to hide things from mina. One thing i really didnt like was how mr and mrs wong were teasing her and how brody was too protective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I decided to try this book based on the great reviews it got and

    I decided to try this book based on the great reviews it got and so far not thoroughly impressed yet. Maybe it's because I'm a writer and can spot these things early on, but I was amazed at how unrealistic some things were. I may be biased in this sense, but I loathe when main characters (or any character for that matter) wake up from a dream. There are so many other ways to open a chapter, and her falling out of bed was odd. I can count on one hand how many times I've fallen out of bed -- yeah, none. If she was a little kid, maybe, but at 15 you don't do that anymore. I also couldn't understand why the author stuck with calling her mother "Sara". She should have been referred to as "My mom" or just "Mom". I guess it’s how you interpret it but the bag getting caught on the chair and ripping seemed off too. Considering how clumsy the author painted the main character, my first instinct was the chair was going to tip over or go flying. Not the other way around. As for the field trip, do high schoolers still do this? And if so, would they leave right away from the school parking lot? Wouldn't they meet inside first and leave together before boarding the bus? It sounded like it was a school requirement to go on this field trip (re: she has to write areport about it), so I was unsure why her mother told her she shouldn’t go.

    From the standpoint of social media, I liked the author including Twitter in the story since so many include Facebook in their stories. However, one of the characters tweeted a picture and “in an instant there were many chirps on the bus”. For one thing, unless ALL of the kids on the bus had a Twitter account and a ring chime set up for each tweet that this girl posted, this would not happen. For Twitter, you don’t get a notification every time someone you follow tweets something. You would have to go to your account to see this.

    Why are the kids so mean to Mina? If they don’t know her, as her best friend claims, why would they all give her the death stare and call her “loser” or “nerd”?

    I’m sure the author was trying to convey a sort of spell from Claire that took over the cute boy, Brody, but it seemed a little on the inappropriate side instead the way this lady touched his arm or bicep and whispered to him. I might be in the minority with that, though.

    I hate to be picky about some of the small things, but as a writer, you have to realize that some of the small things are the big things, and when those don’t ring true, the reader quickly can pick up on it. One good thing about this, though, is that a critique group or a very honest beta reader can help find these so the author can tighten them up.

    I love fairy tale types of books, so I'm going to continue in hopes it gets better.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    IT LOOKS BORING

    Thats rigtht judjing books right back to me Lol :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2015

    Clan sign ups

    Go to unhappy mediam res one to join

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    For PRE-teens.

    Kind of cute for ages 8 to about 14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Great story but desperately needs editing

    Storyline is great, but the writing style and technical errors are very awkward - lots of grammatical mistakes, typos, improper phrasing, and even plot holes. Needs re-drafting, desperately.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Ehhh...

    I just started this book today and it is not all that great. It startes pretty intresting , but turned boring as you read more into the book. It is not a great and amazing book, but it is decent. This book just was not my liking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Horrible

    I thought it would be better i usually love grimm but this dragged on and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Got bored

    Did not finish

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    They

    Should make a third and fourth books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    L

    L

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Miss cutie

    Boooooorrrrrrriiiiiinnnnnggghh

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3