Customer Reviews for

UnEnchanted: An Unfortunate Fairy Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 2525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1775)

4 Star

(469)

3 Star

(149)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

199 out of 226 people found this review helpful.

This is a fantastic tale. I've read many Smashwords books and

This is a fantastic tale.

I've read many Smashwords books and have been hugely disappointed with them. This is not the case for Unenchanted. Mina's story is very well written and grips the reader. I have one complaint on that the story was not finished. The book abrup...
This is a fantastic tale.

I've read many Smashwords books and have been hugely disappointed with them. This is not the case for Unenchanted. Mina's story is very well written and grips the reader. I have one complaint on that the story was not finished. The book abruptly ended as if nothing had happened. This left me wondering if there was more or if that was it. I do hope the author finishes the story. However, Mina's story is worth reading if you ignore the slamming on the brakes when you hit the last page and realize that's all there is.

posted by NickyDuvyrda on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

61 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

YA, continued...

Ok, if your a teenager, probably gonna like this book. Young girl, high school, magic...school geek, hot boy, bla bla bla... Good book, just make sure you are not looking for more than what I wrote, you wont find it here.

posted by Boo0493 on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 469 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Need help

    This book was great, but that's not what I came to write about. I am aspiring to become a writer, and I'm at a mental block, here. I need a few names for some of my characters. It can be last names, first names, nicknames, middle names, or anything you can think of would be helpfull. It would be best if you could donate fake, MADE-UP names, as I do not wish to steal anyone's actuall name.
    If you have any ideas, please respond to "Book Worm" as soon as possible. Thanks for all of your help!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Great read!

    Fantestytastic! Hehe... that was me trying to be clever... but in all seriousness, this book was such a great read. The complex plot with the added edge of danger and the unbreaking romance of the two main charecters made for a beautiful story. Granted some of it was just frustrating, like reading through the main charecter's biased views of society and her unappreciation/mistrust of the main male charecter was just awful, while the main male charected was just too forgiving at times. I almost wanted him to snap the relationship, but that's just me. However it does get better the more time you spend with it, and every one of the (over 500) pages pulled me in. I nearly read it too fast!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Brilliant

    A great book with an interesting plot. Most teenagers would like this as it includes the hot guy, nerdy girl, gorgeous best friend, and nerdy guy that most teen books have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    Awesome the third book needs to hurry up and come out!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good read

    Great book! Hard to put down. I can't wait to see what's next!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    highly recommended

    Good read for teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Good read

    I was looking for something lite to read and found myself enjoying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great

    Good book for teens:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Wow

    It was amazing.i have never wanted to keep reading so badly.i need to read the second book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly surprised...makes me want to read the sequel.

    I didn't know what to expect from it, but after finishing it I am completely taken with the story and am looking to get the sequel to it. It's a twist on the whole 'modern boy/girl who is a part of the Grimm family line and must contend with creatures from the fairytale world'. It has a unique concept and was very well written. Loved the heroine Mina, who is, grant it the cliched 'awkward, clumsy, unpopular girl in high school', but she's so endearing you can't help but pull for her. There's a nice mix of humor, courtesy of her best friend Nana (who is the current prototypical teen who loves to text and is constantly obsessed with Twitter) and Mina's younger brother Charlie (who doesn't speak and loves to eat a bowl of mix cereals). There's also a touch of romance, which by the end of the book you have to feel for Mina with how everything turns out. Although I do get the sense of a Twilight-like love triangle between Mina, Brody (the popular guy in school), and Jared (the mysterious boy who seems to know what is going on and tries to help Mina in his own rude way). Overall, this is a great book with a good flow that will keep your interest. It manages to pack a lot of story in this short book. I would recommend this book if you're looking to be preoccupied for a couple of hours or for a day or two. Looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Nicely done modern fairy tale!

    This is a great YA book, suitable for young eyes and minds to enjoy. There are a few grammar errors, easy to over look. Overall I feel it gives a wonderful modern twist to fairy tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Great read!

    It was really an enjoyable story. I cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I started reading this short story because I wanted to try somet

    I started reading this short story because I wanted to try something new. An Unfortunate Fairy Tale sounded tragic but yet eventful and exciting. I like how this author incorporates the first fairy tale (an no I am going to spoil it by naming it) into her character's lives. She starts off with one best friend and then tries to fit in by essentially being a "nobody". Well, she soon finds out, that she is far from being a "nobody". She is a Grimm which means that she has a lot of fairy tale catching up to do.

    While reading through this story, I found Mina to have some characteristics that I could relate to. She is shy and love sick of a boy who seems out of her league. That sounds a lot like me in high school. She is strong-willed but has a kind heart which helps her decide what must be done to save the people that she cares about.

    Overall, I very much enjoyed the story. It has a fantastic plot and I envy the creativity that was put into writing it. It did jump a bit quick for my liking; for instance, sometimes, I found myself having to go back and read the previous paragraph in order to understand some of the emotions that drive the story forward. I recommend this book to any of my club members who enjoy their fairy tales because it is certainly one that you will not regret!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Awesome

    A
    Must reread and read next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Cute story

    Not a bad spin on fairy tales, and I liked that the author kept it fairly clean. Much more age appropriate for my teenage girls than some others I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Great!

    Can't wait to read the other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Really liked it!

    Thanks for a free amazing read! Really really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Wish there was a whole series completed to back this one up!

    Wish there was a whole series completed to back this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Lovdd it

    I hope mina gets togethe eith jared but then i hope brody remebers her! But its an amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Ok

    It was an ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 469 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 24