Customer Reviews for

UnStrung (Unwind Dystology Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

To answer your question: Lev Calder is a Tithe, someone who is t

To answer your question: Lev Calder is a Tithe, someone who is told
he/she will be unwound (harvested for their body parts by parents order,
but technically "living in a devided state") at the age of 13
their entire life, and was picked by God to be unwound, a...
To answer your question: Lev Calder is a Tithe, someone who is told
he/she will be unwound (harvested for their body parts by parents order,
but technically "living in a devided state") at the age of 13
their entire life, and was picked by God to be unwound, and it is an
honor to be a Tithe (which is a load od BS). In Unwound, the first book
in this series, Lev is "kidnapped" by other unwounds in a
attempt to save him. He eventually parts way with his
"kidnappers" and teams up with a "umber"
(African-American) country-speaking boy, nicknamed CyFi. After they part
ways this short story elaborates on how he got to the
"Graveyard", (a secret hiding place for would-be unwounds)
joins a organization made purely to make chaos, and ends up a clapper
(someone who injects chemicals in thier bloodstream that detonates when
they clap thier hands). I loved this short story about my favorite
character from one of my favorite books, but I think anyone would enjoy
this more if they read the origanal book, Unwound, first. Unwound is
also a wonderful book, and I can't wait to read the sequel Unwholly,
that comes out on August 28, 2012.

posted by My1stEditionNook on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Short but good

3.5 stars

This was a short story of what happened to Lev when he was separated from the others of the first book. Lev hides at a reservation and meets a young man named Wil.

We come to learn about the Native Americans who are now called the People of Chance. These peo...
3.5 stars

This was a short story of what happened to Lev when he was separated from the others of the first book. Lev hides at a reservation and meets a young man named Wil.

We come to learn about the Native Americans who are now called the People of Chance. These people are protected by the goverment and do not abide the laws of unwinding. The People of Chance in fact perfected a new science when it comes to organ transplant.

I only wish this story was longer. I wanted to learn more about the life of these people and wanted to learn more how the outside world saw them as. I also wanted Wil's character to have been expanded more. His outcome was very sad.

In all, this was a decent read that gives the reader other knowledge of the world that Shusterman has created.

posted by VonnieR on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Short but good

    3.5 stars

    This was a short story of what happened to Lev when he was separated from the others of the first book. Lev hides at a reservation and meets a young man named Wil.

    We come to learn about the Native Americans who are now called the People of Chance. These people are protected by the goverment and do not abide the laws of unwinding. The People of Chance in fact perfected a new science when it comes to organ transplant.

    I only wish this story was longer. I wanted to learn more about the life of these people and wanted to learn more how the outside world saw them as. I also wanted Wil's character to have been expanded more. His outcome was very sad.

    In all, this was a decent read that gives the reader other knowledge of the world that Shusterman has created.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Unsrung

    It was an amazing book. Everryone should read. But, if you want to know the whole story read Unwind first. Then if you wish, read Unwholly.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    To answer your question: Lev Calder is a Tithe, someone who is t

    To answer your question: Lev Calder is a Tithe, someone who is told
    he/she will be unwound (harvested for their body parts by parents order,
    but technically "living in a devided state") at the age of 13
    their entire life, and was picked by God to be unwound, and it is an
    honor to be a Tithe (which is a load od BS). In Unwound, the first book
    in this series, Lev is "kidnapped" by other unwounds in a
    attempt to save him. He eventually parts way with his
    "kidnappers" and teams up with a "umber"
    (African-American) country-speaking boy, nicknamed CyFi. After they part
    ways this short story elaborates on how he got to the
    "Graveyard", (a secret hiding place for would-be unwounds)
    joins a organization made purely to make chaos, and ends up a clapper
    (someone who injects chemicals in thier bloodstream that detonates when
    they clap thier hands). I loved this short story about my favorite
    character from one of my favorite books, but I think anyone would enjoy
    this more if they read the origanal book, Unwound, first. Unwound is
    also a wonderful book, and I can't wait to read the sequel Unwholly,
    that comes out on August 28, 2012.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Tearjerker at the end

    Such a good read!
    Wish it was longer!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Do not miss out on this amazing piece of the Unwind Dystology! I

    Do not miss out on this amazing piece of the Unwind Dystology! It is both captivating and NECESSARY to the series. I am so glad we get to learn about what happened to Lev.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    It was ok...

    If you are going to read this book, you will want to read it directly after the first one because some of the topics they go over connect directly to certain parts of the first book. The rest of it was...interesting. The fact that Liv ended up on a reservation was kind of strange and the only true important part in the story was at the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Amazing but stupid short

    50 pages really ? Still very good follows the others but not a novel and doesnt finish the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    How long???

    How long is this book???? RESPOND TO ELIZABETH THANKS IN ADVANCE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Alesia's review

    This book explains a lot I loved it. It explains his better jugdement. Lev that is.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    TO POST NUMBER FIVE

    This story is about the time from when Lev Calder left CyFy anfd found his way to the Graveyard. If you dint understand this, tjen you'll have to reaf the first book, Unwind.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Wats it about.

    I dnt kno wt its about can somone plz tel me,i only gav it a 5 cause it looks intresting

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Amazing

    Another stunning story by Shusterman.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Excellent

    Loveseeing d

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    I totally enjoyed this!

    Now I have a better picture as to what happened with Lev after he ran off from his friend. No matter how hard he tried, he wasn't able to stay. This was so sad, but I loved the story none-the-less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2