Customer Reviews for

Unbearable Lightness: A Story of Loss and Gain

Average Rating 4
( 604 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(300)

4 Star

(167)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A book all women should read!!!

I really applaud Portia for sharing her story with all of us around the world on Oprah and also on the Ellen show. I have not been a victim of any eating disorders but I truly feel that is for all women out there. I believe 95% of women always worry about their weight a...
I really applaud Portia for sharing her story with all of us around the world on Oprah and also on the Ellen show. I have not been a victim of any eating disorders but I truly feel that is for all women out there. I believe 95% of women always worry about their weight and media in today world has made us focus so much on our appearance. I will be purchasing this for my nieces that are now in middle school and High School and always talking about their weight, which includes myself as well. Thank you Portia for bringing awareness to such an important issue that many of us do not know other women are going through.

posted by lovelylady14 on November 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I guess this is good if you are interested in eating disorder rituals

This book was okay...it got kind of boring though reading page after page of the author doing repetitious excercises and ritual preparation of meals??? and the dishes to eat them with. I did feel really sorry for the author and others with this kind of disorder. I am ...
This book was okay...it got kind of boring though reading page after page of the author doing repetitious excercises and ritual preparation of meals??? and the dishes to eat them with. I did feel really sorry for the author and others with this kind of disorder. I am not sure if the book would help anyone with the disorder....might just give them a few more hints on losing weight.

posted by Kit6 on November 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    A book all women should read!!!

    I really applaud Portia for sharing her story with all of us around the world on Oprah and also on the Ellen show. I have not been a victim of any eating disorders but I truly feel that is for all women out there. I believe 95% of women always worry about their weight and media in today world has made us focus so much on our appearance. I will be purchasing this for my nieces that are now in middle school and High School and always talking about their weight, which includes myself as well. Thank you Portia for bringing awareness to such an important issue that many of us do not know other women are going through.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A Great Easy Read

    A well written story that completely engulfs you from page 1. I couldn't put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    LOVE LOVE LOVED it!

    I have never experienced an eating disorder, but this book was hard to put down. I really felt for her in ever aspect, and her portrayal of her downward spiral was so believable I felt like I was there with her. It's an AMAZING book, and I highly recommend this book to anyone, no matter what their background or life experience.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Hard Not To be Inspired By This Book

    We all have a need to fit in. In the world of Hollywood, this often comes with a painful price. Rossi delivers a moving, yet insightful look at her journey with unflinching honesty. Buy it. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It is an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness and one that every woman deserves to read. Buy it and find out why for yourself.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Great read for everyone

    Wonderfully written. Portia really bares her soul. I am going to rethink my attitude of "dieting". She makes so much sense with the idea that you should stop worrying and just eat what you want but in moderation and get your body moving outdoors where you can enjoy the world and feel good too

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    This is a book I recommend everyone. It was very good written. Enjoyable to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I have been a fan of Portia de Rossi since her days on Ally McBeal. I was fascinated by her story and could relate to her obsession with not eating. I think she and Ellen have a real love and that love has saved them both. I look forward to hearing of her future successes.

    Take a chance on this book, you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

    Thanks so much to Portia de Rossi for writing a book about how it really is in the spotlight. The story was beautifully written and heartbreaking in many spots. It made me want to find her, put my arms around here and just protect her from this crazy world. Thank goodness she made it through, I love her honesty!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    A must to read!

    I watched Portia on Oprah. My heart was breaking for her as she told her story. My 22 year old daughter has been battling an eating disorder for over 3 years. She weighed 85 when we were finally able to get her to a treatment facility. She is doing well, although I know its a long road. Many praises to Portia for having the courage to talk about this. There is no telling how many women nationwide she spoke to yesterday going thru the same thing she once battled. I truly believe Portia is beautiful inside and out. Will be purchasing this book for my daughter as well as myself.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great read and highly recommend

    Great book about her struggles an easy read loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Fantastic!!!

    This book is so beautifully written, so captivating, so interesting, and overall just wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have never personally had an eating disorder, but I still feel like I learned something by reading Portia's journey. It's a story of self discovery and growth, and I think anyone can relate to that. It was very positive and encouraging. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Honest

    I give 5 stars to anyone willing to write about this subject with as much honesty as Portia did. She did an excellent job articulating what she went through in a way for anyone to understand. Girl's got balls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Touching.

    Awesome read. I could totally relate. I wish the ending were a little more well written. Kind of just ends, but didnt make the book any less special. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I loved every word of this story. I do not have a eating disorde

    I loved every word of this story. I do not have a eating disorder, but truly enjoyed the candid way that Portia makes me feel like I can actually relate. Highly recommend reading this book. Also, My very best wishes to Ellen and Portia. Be blessed with many years of happiness together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book changed my life.  It turned me from accepting of gays

    This book changed my life.  It turned me from accepting of gays to an advocate for them.  It's inspiring and triggering, a book that should be handled with care - but worth the read.  It is repetitive for some people, but that's eating disorders for you.  They lock you away.  I'm so happy for Portia, for breaking free.  I strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Soul bearing and well written

    A great perspective of anorexia and Hollywood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm going to be really honest right now.  When I asked Allison @

    I'm going to be really honest right now.  When I asked Allison @ The Book Wheel for a "U"-titled suggestion in order to complete my A-Z Book Challenge, I was kind of underwhelmed about the idea of reading Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi, the actress that I basically have no idea about except for the fact that she's married to Ellen.

    I was so wrong about my first impressions of this book.  It was REALLY good.

    Portia de Rossi (born Amanda Rogers, a name so boring and common that she wanted to change it in order to be unique) started out as a model then turned actress.  From the time she was a young teenager, Portia battled with weight issues, dealing with forms of anorexia, bulimia, and extreme exercise and dieting.

    She also was a closeted homosexual, hating basically everything about herself.  But she knew it would be better once she reached that "perfect" weight.

    Portia de Rossi really let you inside her mind for this novel.  I've read books about eating disorders before, but I have to say, this is the first book where I UNDERSTOOD what was really going on inside the mind of someone with a severe eating disorder.  She gave me a viewpoint that I hadn't received before, and it was enlightening.

    And the Epilogue was really good, discussing issues with dieting and her path to healing.  Don't skip it if you read the book.

    The only thing I would warn you is that if you personally have battled an eating disorder, be careful about choosing to read this book.  I felt like I understood Portia's rationale, which could be challenging for someone who has dealt with an eating disorder, maybe even at some points reminding you as to why you felt that way in the first place.  Read a sample first before making the decision to read Unbearable Lightness.

    I loved this book, and sped through it.  I really connected with it as a woman, since we are all thrown images of "perfect" women all the time.  Should I gain weight?  Lose weight?  Have some plastic surgery?  Go to the gym?  Eat that cookie?  Eat the vegetables?

    Portia was able to find happiness and acceptance.  And I know that once we're all happy with ourselves as we are, then we can find the same.

    Let's build some self esteem here: What do you love about yourself?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Percy

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Asha

    Wassup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    PERSEPHONE CABIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15