Customer Reviews for

The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Breath Deep Poetry

It was one of those books that you wanted to read over and over again so that you could quote it to everybody you talked to.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Almost the best philosophical novel

When I first read this book I thought it would be one of those best novels that conveys deep and meaningful thoughts. But as I kept reading it the story keeps switching back and forth to different characters and I finally was about to put the book down. The erotic event...
When I first read this book I thought it would be one of those best novels that conveys deep and meaningful thoughts. But as I kept reading it the story keeps switching back and forth to different characters and I finally was about to put the book down. The erotic events of the book some-what kept me going, but for a while the book can be kind of boring. It can drag the reader very slowly to the end and the reader may not know how many of those events relate to the title or the theme. The book is deep, and it requires some deep thinking to understand and connect the events to the title. I personally think that I didn't spend enough time connecting the events into one huge philosophical theme, and I don't think many readers have that kind of time or would wanted to. Overall it's a decent book but since I'm a highschool student my reading level barely matches with the book's. I would reccomend it to those who are high level readers or simply to book-smart folks. I would like to put a warning sign for dim-witted readers who like to read cliche books, almost like me, so 'beware the unknown'

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wow - breath-taking

    Please read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Breath Deep Poetry

    It was one of those books that you wanted to read over and over again so that you could quote it to everybody you talked to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    If you like to read stories that make you think about life....

    you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    very good

    Enchanting, engaging, provocative... this is a very good novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Brilliant Novel!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I began to read this book, but I know now that it's amazing. It's very original, and Milan Kundera is a wonderful writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Amazing

    One third novel, one third philosophic discussion and one third European history book. Milan Kundera is one of the best authors of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    stimulating

    this book is awesome. this book is a must read and a must have for me. 'the unbearable lightness of being' is one of the worst descriptive book i've read but this book is on a mental plane, of the higher mind. this novel is about thomas and tereza's umbilical love and thomas urgency to be with tereza as thomas continues his ifideities. kendera interjects his theories along the story that makes me look at life through a new perspective. makes me qestion life as it untwines. i strongly recommend this book. to date 'the unbearable lightness of being,' is the best book i have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Philosophy Meets Real Life...

    This book by Milan Kundera combines the best of philosophy interwoven with an entrancing storyline. In the first chapter, the author introduces the idea of polar opposites that exist in life, most generally, lightness and weight. Light individuals foster the idea that, since our lives transpire only once, events are essentially meaningless, or at the very least, carry no significant ramifications. They do not begrudge the weighty, as even this would be burdensome and over-analytical. Dangerously, though, these individuals border in the verge of insignificance and pettiness for all their actions. Those weighted down though, the cautious, forethinking, and responsible, find a great sense of purpose in every action, no matter life's transience. Yet even these people can find their own existence too pedantic, and need flight. These tensions serve as background for Tomas's and Tereza's marriage. Ironically, it is their very opposition that seems to bond them together, not with intimacy, but by the comfort that they are supplying to each other the needed amount of respective lightness and weight. They are a balanced scale, not indulging in their own stances. Through these characters, Kundera wrestles with the ideas of misunderstanding, irresolution, intentions, corruption of purity, indecision, and human weakness. Besides this omnipresent dichotomy, Kundera also explores the idea of body vs. soul, a sought-after paradise, and the inconsequence of most humans actions (what happens when ideals we value are defiled, when the poles of life near). The lyricism in this novel is undeniable, adamently conveying the realities which define people's lives, and people's lives which define reality. This interchange between the influenced and influencing persists, leaving the reader in a suspended paradox, unable to determine what is right, and what is wrong. A clever narration chronology sheds light on this illogicality. I strongly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Intelligent yet entertaining

    In the Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera not only tells a gripping tale, but also gives readers interesting philosophy and an ambiguity and deepness more characteristic of high level literary masterpieces. This one is definitely worth reading and thinking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    do you know what it means to feel?

    Some people say that they experience a profound moment of epiphany or euphoria through a sunrise, a symphony, a near-death experience. Try this novel. If you are one who thinks you may be incomplete, or have made mistakes and misdirected your love, you will feel the passions of these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    writing as art

    My friend lent me this book, telling me it changed the way she saw so much. And it did the exact same for me. Kundera has this amazing way of incorporating his amazing philosophy into an intense story of loves. Kundera truly confirms that writing is a form of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    The Best Book I Have Ever Read

    Upon being dumped by the man I was in love with, I picked up "The Unbearable Lightness of Being" and it made me do a 180-degree turn. When a book can make me feel better, I know it is very special. This book made me THINK about all the conventions of society that us humans pursue but take for granted: love, work, sex, democracy, safety, friendship, etc. etc. I underlined so many sentences in this book - it will be a point of reference for many conversations to come. I have nothing but good things to say about this book. Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Great Book About Life

    This is a great book about the meaning of life, and the complexities of relationships. It's an awesome book that helps to clear your mind and discover yourself. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    My new favorite book

    This is an amazing book! We go inside the head of the four main characters and not only learn everything they do or have done, but why they have done them. They are the most real characters I have ever read. This is not a sad book, it's not particularly happy either, but everytime I would pick this book up, after about ten minutes of reading I would be in tears. I guess it was just how humaine and real the characters were. I cannot reccomend this book enough, it is full of insight and metaphors, and it just blew me away! Email me to talk about this book, or for any other reason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Great Book

    Definitely would recommend reading this book. It¿s breath taking, very deep, yet very easy to read and follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    unbearably brilliant

    Some criticize that Kundera is supposed to be writing a novel, and this does not follow the exact structure, who are we to tell the man what is work is to become. The insight into the human mind heart body and soul and the tying together of them are done masterfully by kundera using Franz, Tomas, Tereza, and Sabina as the vessels in which to express his ideas. breathtaking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    ********

    this book blew me away on each page. much of it encouraged me to think about and understand myself and my own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    3 stars?

    I was shocked to see 3 stars for this book. I never like reading until I found this master of story telling, or maybe should I say the voice I never knew how to use. The same feeling, the same emotion, said in a way you never knew it can be. It's beauti

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3