BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Unbreak Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unbreak Me delivers oodles of angst and lots of steamy romance w

Unbreak Me delivers oodles of angst and lots of steamy romance while delivering a touching message.  I really love when characters take a bad situation and turn it into something beautiful.  What can I say?  I'm a sucker for a happily ever after. 




Maggie is s a swee...
Unbreak Me delivers oodles of angst and lots of steamy romance while delivering a touching message.  I really love when characters take a bad situation and turn it into something beautiful.  What can I say?  I'm a sucker for a happily ever after. 




Maggie is s a sweet girl who just wants to move beyond her reputation.  Will is a safe straight laced man from Maggie's past.  Asher is the bad boy ex-rockstar with a damning history who thinks Maggie is too strong for her own good.   As the world works against Maggie the men in her life do what they each think is best to help her survive.




I was kept on the edge of my seat waiting for more of Maggie's story to unfold.  I was rewarded with surprises and heart warming moments that made me love Maggie more and more.  I loved how her art reflected her life, even if she didn't see it, and the thing with the note cards at the end, I totally teared up! (You'll see.)




*Sigh* Asher.... I think I love you!  I'm sure there will be a big "Team Asher" vs "Team Will" thing, but I'm telling you right now, I was Team Asher from the moment he first danced with Maggie!




This was a great read.
ARC Recieved from AToMR Tours

posted by sillyitiliangrl on May 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

3.5/5 stars This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart

3.5/5 stars

This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart and emotions were everywhere at some points! I did really like it though. Though- I felt like it read a bit too fast. I didn't quite get enough plot and character development (concerning Asher and Will, an...
3.5/5 stars

This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart and emotions were everywhere at some points! I did really like it though. Though- I felt like it read a bit too fast. I didn't quite get enough plot and character development (concerning Asher and Will, anyways.) Lexi did a great job of showing us how broken Maggie's character really is and how her past has come to form so much of her present.

I want to start by talking about Maggie's character. I really liked her. She was so up in your face, brutally honest, and spunky- but you know from the beginning that it was all a facade. She keeps people at a distance and doesn't want anyone to know the ugly truth of her past. Your heart can't help but break for her once you finally learn about everything she has gone through. Not to mention, living in a small town, where everyone knows everyone's business, she can't escape her past and things that people whisper behind her back.

I wouldn't say there is a love triangle in this book, but there are two guys both interested in Maggie. One is her ex-fianceé who is about to marry her sister, and the other is a former rock star that lives next door to Maggie's mother. I felt myself really torn between the two for most of the book and then later realized who would be the better fit for Maggie. It's no secret I typically go for the good, sweet guys. I don't naturally gravitate toward the bad boys like most women do, lol. So, I was all for Will coming to his senses and realizing he was making a mistake with Maggie's sister. But once Asher came into the picture and we see just how much he wants to get to know Maggie (despite her very forward sexual advances) he really made me fall for him too! He wants Maggie to feel comfortable enough with him to open up, but he doesn't pressure her and he certainly doesn't want to try and fix who she is, especially since he has his own emotional baggage to deal with! He wants her to confide in him and then together work through overcoming her issues.
Both Asher and Will have things they are keeping from Maggie. One secret in particular, while we as readers knew what it was, Maggie didn't and I felt so wrecked for her. She is desperately trying to run from her past and genuinely doesn't want to be the person she once was. And this one secret brings it all back to life for her and I felt so bad!

The steam factor in this book? SO high! Lexi Ryan knows how to write some good steamy, love scenes, that's for sure! :D
Overall, this was a fast read for me and despite some smaller issues I had, I did like it. I love reading about broken characters who feel they have nothing left or nothing of worth to offer and then watch them discover that they do and are able to find love in someone who wants to build them up and help them through their issues.

posted by LovinLosLibros on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    3.5/5 stars This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart

    3.5/5 stars

    This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart and emotions were everywhere at some points! I did really like it though. Though- I felt like it read a bit too fast. I didn't quite get enough plot and character development (concerning Asher and Will, anyways.) Lexi did a great job of showing us how broken Maggie's character really is and how her past has come to form so much of her present.

    I want to start by talking about Maggie's character. I really liked her. She was so up in your face, brutally honest, and spunky- but you know from the beginning that it was all a facade. She keeps people at a distance and doesn't want anyone to know the ugly truth of her past. Your heart can't help but break for her once you finally learn about everything she has gone through. Not to mention, living in a small town, where everyone knows everyone's business, she can't escape her past and things that people whisper behind her back.

    I wouldn't say there is a love triangle in this book, but there are two guys both interested in Maggie. One is her ex-fianceé who is about to marry her sister, and the other is a former rock star that lives next door to Maggie's mother. I felt myself really torn between the two for most of the book and then later realized who would be the better fit for Maggie. It's no secret I typically go for the good, sweet guys. I don't naturally gravitate toward the bad boys like most women do, lol. So, I was all for Will coming to his senses and realizing he was making a mistake with Maggie's sister. But once Asher came into the picture and we see just how much he wants to get to know Maggie (despite her very forward sexual advances) he really made me fall for him too! He wants Maggie to feel comfortable enough with him to open up, but he doesn't pressure her and he certainly doesn't want to try and fix who she is, especially since he has his own emotional baggage to deal with! He wants her to confide in him and then together work through overcoming her issues.
    Both Asher and Will have things they are keeping from Maggie. One secret in particular, while we as readers knew what it was, Maggie didn't and I felt so wrecked for her. She is desperately trying to run from her past and genuinely doesn't want to be the person she once was. And this one secret brings it all back to life for her and I felt so bad!

    The steam factor in this book? SO high! Lexi Ryan knows how to write some good steamy, love scenes, that's for sure! :D
    Overall, this was a fast read for me and despite some smaller issues I had, I did like it. I love reading about broken characters who feel they have nothing left or nothing of worth to offer and then watch them discover that they do and are able to find love in someone who wants to build them up and help them through their issues.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Alright, so I bought this book expecting a good story. Instead,

    Alright, so I bought this book expecting a good story. Instead, I got a whirlwind of drama. I might get some flack for this review, but I want to be honest.

    Plot: I had lots of problems with the plot. For one, the plot is very misleading in some parts and very dramatic. For example, there is one part where the girl had a miscarriage and then toward the end of the book she actually had the baby? There is no explanation as to what really happen that night which leaves me to question if she had two miscarriages or what? Other parts of the story didn’t make sense. Again it was a lot of scenes happening and then the author changes the scene completely. It was misleading and very confusing.

    Love: This is the part that nerved me the most. I felt like this characters did not know love. All they did was eff each other brains out and then claim to love each other after ward. Yet, they keep secrets from each other and every time a secret is revealed they fight, yell at each other that they lied and leave back to their old selves. Really? Throw me a bone here! There was no time for romance cause they are too busy hiding from lies, hiding from themselves or from each other. Not to mention that it has a love triangle in the story. The main character is first with William but there is never really any completion of their relationship. They still love each other. ( Every time Maggie was asked if she loved William she never answered) and well I just felt like, how can you move on if you still haven’t finished your last relationship?

    Roller Coaster: Yes, this book will give you whiplash. It goes back and forth between love and hate. Fighting and making up. Leaving and staying. UGH! I got so frustrated with the emotional movement of the story that it left me angry. It left me emotionally drained and not satisfied. Instead of going to bed happy, I stayed up late to read this book that left me angry and unable to sleep.

    Now, what I did enjoy in this story is one aspect that really isn’t written about. Usually, when a girl is rape/ molested in a story, the girl becomes quite, aloof and a loner. Instead, this girl Maggie becomes the opposite. She becomes promiscuous because she felt like since she ask for it the first time, she offers her body to anyone, anytime, anywhere. She’s very open about what she wants and carries the blame on herself. She takes in the name calling and even lives up to it. I like this part of the story cause her story about what happened to her is done well. Despite the other drama in the book, Maggie’s back round story alone is interesting and sad. The reader can see her downfall and really you just want to hug her.

    Overall, this is an okay book. I really had high hopes for it. Even though this book was enjoyable at times, I did find myself having lots of issues with the characters and their actions.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Loved it! I couldn't put the book down. I just HAD to keep readi

    Loved it! I couldn't put the book down. I just HAD to keep reading to unravel the intrigue. Now that I've finished it, I keep having book daydreams about the scenes and my mind feels compelled to extend the story. Fantastic job, now when does the next one come out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Just ok.

    Ended abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Good book. Liked how it was told through 3 of the main character

    Good book. Liked how it was told through 3 of the main characters perspectives. Felt like it ended too soon though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good interesting plot twists

    This book I was unsure of based on the summary but I decided to read it anyway. I was not disappointed. The plot moves quickly and is fast faced enough I didnt get bored but not so drama filled that it got annoying. The story is told from three different perspectives and is done very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Cute!

    Cute book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Bev

    Not bad but I liked some of the other authors books better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1