Customer Reviews for

Unbreak Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unbreak Me delivers oodles of angst and lots of steamy romance w

Unbreak Me delivers oodles of angst and lots of steamy romance while delivering a touching message.  I really love when characters take a bad situation and turn it into something beautiful.  What can I say?  I'm a sucker for a happily ever after. 




Maggie is s a swee...
Unbreak Me delivers oodles of angst and lots of steamy romance while delivering a touching message.  I really love when characters take a bad situation and turn it into something beautiful.  What can I say?  I'm a sucker for a happily ever after. 




Maggie is s a sweet girl who just wants to move beyond her reputation.  Will is a safe straight laced man from Maggie's past.  Asher is the bad boy ex-rockstar with a damning history who thinks Maggie is too strong for her own good.   As the world works against Maggie the men in her life do what they each think is best to help her survive.




I was kept on the edge of my seat waiting for more of Maggie's story to unfold.  I was rewarded with surprises and heart warming moments that made me love Maggie more and more.  I loved how her art reflected her life, even if she didn't see it, and the thing with the note cards at the end, I totally teared up! (You'll see.)




*Sigh* Asher.... I think I love you!  I'm sure there will be a big "Team Asher" vs "Team Will" thing, but I'm telling you right now, I was Team Asher from the moment he first danced with Maggie!




This was a great read.
ARC Recieved from AToMR Tours

posted by sillyitiliangrl on May 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

3.5/5 stars This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart

3.5/5 stars

This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart and emotions were everywhere at some points! I did really like it though. Though- I felt like it read a bit too fast. I didn't quite get enough plot and character development (concerning Asher and Will, an...
3.5/5 stars

This book was an emotional rollercoaster! My heart and emotions were everywhere at some points! I did really like it though. Though- I felt like it read a bit too fast. I didn't quite get enough plot and character development (concerning Asher and Will, anyways.) Lexi did a great job of showing us how broken Maggie's character really is and how her past has come to form so much of her present.

I want to start by talking about Maggie's character. I really liked her. She was so up in your face, brutally honest, and spunky- but you know from the beginning that it was all a facade. She keeps people at a distance and doesn't want anyone to know the ugly truth of her past. Your heart can't help but break for her once you finally learn about everything she has gone through. Not to mention, living in a small town, where everyone knows everyone's business, she can't escape her past and things that people whisper behind her back.

I wouldn't say there is a love triangle in this book, but there are two guys both interested in Maggie. One is her ex-fianceé who is about to marry her sister, and the other is a former rock star that lives next door to Maggie's mother. I felt myself really torn between the two for most of the book and then later realized who would be the better fit for Maggie. It's no secret I typically go for the good, sweet guys. I don't naturally gravitate toward the bad boys like most women do, lol. So, I was all for Will coming to his senses and realizing he was making a mistake with Maggie's sister. But once Asher came into the picture and we see just how much he wants to get to know Maggie (despite her very forward sexual advances) he really made me fall for him too! He wants Maggie to feel comfortable enough with him to open up, but he doesn't pressure her and he certainly doesn't want to try and fix who she is, especially since he has his own emotional baggage to deal with! He wants her to confide in him and then together work through overcoming her issues.
Both Asher and Will have things they are keeping from Maggie. One secret in particular, while we as readers knew what it was, Maggie didn't and I felt so wrecked for her. She is desperately trying to run from her past and genuinely doesn't want to be the person she once was. And this one secret brings it all back to life for her and I felt so bad!

The steam factor in this book? SO high! Lexi Ryan knows how to write some good steamy, love scenes, that's for sure! :D
Overall, this was a fast read for me and despite some smaller issues I had, I did like it. I love reading about broken characters who feel they have nothing left or nothing of worth to offer and then watch them discover that they do and are able to find love in someone who wants to build them up and help them through their issues.

posted by LovinLosLibros on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Really good

    Great story and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This story was really sad to read. It wasn't a devastating, make

    This story was really sad to read. It wasn't a devastating, make me cry book, but just sad. Knowing what happened to Maggie as a teenager was sad, but the things her dad said to her afterwards and the way her parents treated her was heartbreaking to me. I could truly understand why Maggie acted as she did after the pain just those two things caused her. Add in everything else that happened to her, whether she was partly responsible or not, and you have one confused girl with very little self worth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Angsty and steamy for sure!

    Angsty and steamy for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved the book! I do wish the ending had a little more detail......do they get married, does Asher get cusody of his daughter, and does Maggie get to meet Grace?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ever read a book that when you finish it ur speechless. Unsure w

    Ever read a book that when you finish it ur speechless. Unsure whether u liked it or not? There were parts you question what the author was thinking but yet thankful they gave you a real story line that wasn't bad boy chasing the girl but the girl barely holding it together n realize its okay to break.....its how you heal....I think I have to let this one sit a bit before I write a review. I'm a bit lost....




    Now that this book has had time to sit with me overnight....I feel like this was for sure one of the better books I have read. Maggie has had a rough life thanks to the influence of those around her. No one has asked if she's okay or see that she's not as strong as she acts. But Asher does. This is for sure one of the better Triangle books I have read. I mean sure I wanted to slap Maggie a few times and maybe Asher too for being a little dense, but it was a goodread. It didn't feel like a book written with complete fairy tale in mind. But rather a story where the girl was trying to fix herself the only way she knew how.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Very good book! I loved Asher! Maggie's heartache, dealing with

    Very good book!

    I loved Asher! Maggie's heartache, dealing with her family, all compelled me to keep reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Heartbreaking redemption tale

    I really enjoyed the book, so much so I finished in one day. I loved the triangle love story, and really was torn on who I wanted to see Maggie end up with. Although the ending seemed a little rushed to me, I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Looooved it

    This book was so achingly romantic and real. I loved it but i felt like it ended kinda abruptly. But overall it was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    good book.

    good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good romance. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Hey everyone! CLICK HERE

    Who wants to be my ebtb? (Erotic book trading buddy)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    "Small time slut with too much baggage" that's the way

    &quot;Small time slut with too much baggage&quot; that's the way that Maggie describes herself. This girl is keeping secrets, big ones. She's not your doe eyed innocent virgin and I LOVE THAT about her. She comes back home to start all over - Project New Me. Unfortunately, not everyone in this small town is willing to let her live down her past. This includes her judgmental mother. She left her fiancé, the good and virtuous Will Bailey, practically at the altar. No worries - her sister, Krystal was there to pick up the pieces and comfort him. Almost one year to the date, she's back at the altar with Will except this time she isn't the bride. Will is marrying Krystal. When I read that - I was like - EXCUSE ME! Yuck! Then how dare she?! How dare he?! Then her stick up the butt Mother was okay with this sh*t?!

    Okay - sorry. Back to my review. Much to everyone's disgust, during the wedding &quot;someone&quot; releases a stink bomb. Yes, you read correctly - a stink bomb - which sends everyone running for the door before the couple is officially married. THAT boys and girls is where it all goes to hell in a hand basket.

    To get away from her family, Maggie sneaks over the fence of the rich dude next door, who owns the big house with the gorgeous pool because he's never home. Except the rich dude is home and she's busted swimming in his pool. Enter Asher Logan! Not only is he a gorgeous, hot, rich dude, he's also a famous retired rock star. Maggie offers herself on a silver platter. He wants to get to know her better and refuses. Maggie is so taken aback that it's funny.
    What happens next? Watching Will and Krystal's new life unfold makes Maggie feels cheated out of what should have been hers. Krystal is insecure and unsure of Will's love. Will as it turns out may not be over Maggie after all. Oh but wait - there's more. Remember those secret that I mentioned earlier - it's a doozy. There are even a few twists thrown in by Will and Asher. Ooooh it was good. I liked Maggie with all her flaws. I liked that maybe Will isn't such a goody goody after all. I liked that Asher saw beyond Maggie's past because he has one too. I liked it! I really really liked it (a la Sally Field at the Academy Awards).

    This was my first Lexi Ryan book but it will not be my last. She brought the heartache, the angst and the sexy just the way I like it. Do we get an HEA? You'll have to wait until almost the end of Unbreak Me to find out. I'm not telling but I will say it was a sweet ride. It was a 4.5 star out of 5 read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Before I ever opened this book and began reading, I was drawn to

    Before I ever opened this book and began reading, I was drawn to this story. The cover is absolutely stunning and I couldn’t resist the chance to explore what lay beneath that eye-catching image. By page two, I was hooked.
    If I had to describe Unbreak Me by Lexi Ryan in three words they would be: 
    · 1. Tragedy· 2. Captivating· 3. Haunting

    Tragedy: a dramatic composition, often in verse, dealing with a serious or somber theme, typically that of a great person destined through a flaw of character or conflict with some overpowering force, as fate or society, to downfall or destruction.
    After a series of unfortunate events and poor choices, Maggie Thompson is burdened with consequences in the wake of her sordid past. One of those consequences is attending her sister’s wedding to Maggie’s ex-boyfriend, William. 
    “Girls like me don’t get happily-ever-after.”
    Maggie is the kind of character I fell in love with instantly. Deep down, she is a kindhearted, selfless woman. However, these characteristics are buried beneath layers of defense mechanisms, tragedy, and self-loathing. 
    She is the black sheep in her family as well as in the town where she grew up and still resides. Having never escaped New Hope, Maggie is surrounded by constant reminders of mistakes from her adolescence. Nosy older women make her the focus of their gossip, while her peers continue the harassment that began in high school. 
    “Maggie’s too busy hating herself to love anyone.”
    My heart broke for Maggie. The pain she has endured is enough to shatter a soul, yet she has found a way to cope. In order to push aside the negativity, Maggie has constructed impenetrable walls that no one can break through. 
    Captivating: to attract and hold the attention or interest of, as by beauty or excellence
    “But your beauty? It’s the kind that radiates from your heart Maggie, and it’s so damn bright it shines beyond these walls you’ve erected to protect yourself.”
    Enter Asher Logan. The former rock god sought refuge in New Hope to escape his violent past in hopes of building a better future for himself. In order to do this, he must stay out of trouble. His plan is foolproof until Maggie stumbles upon him by chance. The moment he lays eyes on her, any hopes of avoiding trouble are demolished. 
    “There are plenty of gorgeous women in the world. Maggie is more than that. She’s a study in contradictions and I am an eager student.”
    Can Asher break through Maggie’s apathetic exterior and help her cope with her inner turmoil? Once her secrets are unearthed, will their burden be too much for Asher to handle?
    “It would feel so nice to have someone on my side. To have a little help carrying the weight of my secrets.”
    The story held my attention from the very start. Each of the characters was complex and their stories entwined with one another to form this dynamic web of deception, mystery, and heartbreak. 
    “Some of us are just too cold inside to be capable of real love.”
    Lexi Ryan methodically reveals snippets of background information about the characters, one spoonful at a time. Each taste is a different flavor ranging from gallant to deceit. Ryan gives the reader just enough time to digest each bite before serving another.
    Haunting: remaining in the conscience; not quickly forgotten
    With each page turned, another layer of Maggie’s damaged psyche is discovered. In true dramatic fashion, I found myself gasping out loud at each skeleton from Maggie’s past. The harder she tries to keep the walls around her heart erected and her past concealed, the deeper the cracks travel, ultimately crumbling her walls and unearthing the secrets she desperately tried to conceal. 
    Summary:This story was powerful and consumed my thoughts leaving me with one hell of a book hangover. I agonized over writing this review. Not because I didn’t like the book, but because I loved the story so much I was afraid my words wouldn’t be enough to convey how astounding this novel is. 
    Unbreak Me is a MUST READ book, so add it to your TBR list and purchase your copy today!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Not gonna lie, this book definitely peaked my interest with the

    Not gonna lie, this book definitely peaked my interest with the cover. The cover is fantastic. This is the first Lexi Ryan book that I have read and it was great. I finished in one sitting because I couldn't stop reading, which is always the best kind of book.
    I really liked the main character. She had her more annoying moments, but overall she was great. I felt like her backstory really flowed and made sense. The boys, William and Asher, were both great. Both were different and both in love with her, but good guys.
    I was actually nervous as to which she was going to end up with throughout the book. Towards the end I got it, but I was actually questioning what I had first assumed about the guys which never happens. I really loved that part of Ryan's writing. I read a lot of books and if you can get me to question which guy she will end up with then I am an immediate fan. 
    I liked the flow of the story and the different perspectives. Sometimes I felt like we hopped to one to another without a finish of the day before, but not a big deal because the story was good. This was a really complex story with a lot of different aspect and characters and I was worried at first that it would be too much, but it was written well enough that it was fine. 
    Some negatives...at the beginning I noticed that she said &quot;little sister&quot; and then later she calls that sister her &quot;older sister&quot; and it threw me off. Also it seemed like Maggie went back and forth between loving and hating her sisters and her family. I felt like more could have been done with her dog and just more detail in general. I think she could have added twenty pages in just detail and it wouldn't have taken anything away from the book. The timeline was also crazy. I am still a little confused, but it seemed like the event she ran away from came about after a month of the relationship. Also the sister and her old beau started dating and got engaged in only a year? LIke the wedding was a year later? That seems really soon. So I wish the timeline was more broad. I also wanted to know how old these guys were because its something that I am always just interested in. It wasn't that big of a deal here, but it just bothers me in general when authors don't do this. 
    I feel like this is a mixed review, but I really did enjoy the book. It was great and I am hoping for follow up books with these characters to come out.
    flag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    :)

    Loved this book! I love Asher!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2