Customer Reviews for

Unbreakable (Legion Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I received this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    I received this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Unbreakable is an action-packed, suspense-filled, hauntingly good read. This book is exactly why I don't go to haunted houses.

    Kennedy Waters has abandonment issues since her father walked out of her life when she was just a little girl. Her mom and her friend Elle are Kennedy's world. That world is shattered when Kennedy finds her mom dead. Kennedy just wants to spend one more night in the only home she has ever known. Will that choice be the death of her? Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into Kennedy's room, and save her from the same fate that happened to her mother. The twin brothers give Kennedy a crash course in the paranormal world. She learns that her mom was part of a secret society that protects the world from a demon, who is bent on destroying the world. Is it true? Why didn't her mom tell her?

    Kami Garcia has the reader tag along with the characters as they learn more about the secret society, and how to defeat the demon. I enjoyed the adventure that this book takes you on. It had me on the edge of my seat, and I can't wait to read what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers through Netgally in return for an honest review.

    This is the first book in a new YA Paranormal series by Kami Garcia. I loved it!

    Kennedy Waters is an interesting character. I really liked her. She is an ordinary teen, with ordinary problems, but she has a fantastic eye for detail and is an excellent artist. However, her life is about to take a dangerous twist when her mother is murdered, and Kennedy finds out that there really are things that go "bump" in the night.

    I really enjoyed the Beautiful Creatures novels this author co-wrote, so when I found out that she was writing a series on her own I was excited.

    I started to read this book and I was quickly hooked! I loved the first scene, because it was extremely unnerving and creepy. I don't visit cemeteries at night anyway, but reading that scene has completely put me off even trying; it sent shivers up my back!
    I liked meeting the other characters in this book. Jared and Lukas Lockhart may be seventeen year old twins, but they have very different temperaments. Jared is very intense and serious, while Lukas is more laid back and charming. Priest is an engineering genius, even though he's only fifteen, and quite sweet. Alara is also seventeen, but she is good with wards and is quite focused and determined. Together, they are four-fifths of a group called the Legion; a secret group of ghost and demon hunters. Kennedy finds herself becoming the fifth member of this motley crew. 
    This story is full of action and danger, secrets and surprises. I loved watching the scenes unfold. The descriptions of the people and places were such that I could picture them with ease. There is a palpable sexual chemistry between Kennedy and Jared, and the tension is building nicely between them. The book finishes on a cliffhanger that felt a bit tame compared to the scene preceding it, but I am now looking forward to reading the next book in the series as soon as possible.

    Kami Garcia has written a fantastic YA Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy. I loved her fast paced writing style, and the flow was wonderful. Although I loved the Beautiful Creatures series, I think that this book has shown me that she can write stories on her own. I hope she will continue to do so in the future.

    I highly recommend this book if you love YA/Paranormal Romances/Urban Fantasy. - Lynn Worton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    I enjoyed reading Unbreakable. Unbreakable is a fun, young adult

    I enjoyed reading Unbreakable. Unbreakable is a fun, young adult paranormal story to read. Kennedy is a normal teenage girl until one night chasing her cat thru a cemetery leads to her life changing and one night waking up with a couple of boys in her house chasing demons. Kennedy learns that life is not what it seems and tries to find the answers if she belongs to this new world she has discovered or it discovered her however you want to look at it. I am looking forward to reading more of Kennedy's journey and the rest of the pack especially Priest and what he will invent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2014

    I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review. 4 1

    I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review. 4 1/2 rating.

    I have to say this was very paranormal book. Right from the very beginning I was intrigued on the story line. Demons? Ghosts?  Well that is right up my alley of reading. Demons and Ghosts  are creatures that I enjoy reading about when they are written correctly. And the author did this perfectly for me. 
    Now we have Kennedy who is a normal teenager nothing special about her except that she can really draw. But everything changes within a matter of time when Kennedy comes home and her mother is dead. Now the way she died was pretty cool as I didn't even put two and two together until Kennedy met the brothers and they explained the whole ghost thing. Or vengeful spirits as they are known. Along with the Legion group.

    So after the death hits Kennedy and this group of teenagers go on a mission to stop a very powerful demon. They have to piece together a weapon  but the question is what will the weapon do once put together? No one knows truly they only hope that it puts the demon to rest.

    Kennedy is shy and keeps to herself. But when she teams up with the twins, Jared and Lukas, Priest, and Alara Kennedy changes for the better. She becomes more comfortable and you can tell she is going to be good at getting rid of the spirits that need to be gone from our world.
    I loved how the spirits were able to "hurt' or attempt to hurt those that got close to them. It brings that creep factor into play.
    After we get through the death of Kennedy's mother it is action after action, ghost after ghost, clue after clue. And it all works together.
    Now there is a semi love triangle between Kennedy, Jared and Lukas. I kind of wanted to slap Kennedy a bit and tell her not to lead the boys on. She would be with Jared a bit too long, and Lukas would be looking down. Or she would be with Lukas a bit too long and Jared would have a look on his face. Just things like that. And plus your mom just died and you are trying to stay alive so boys shouldn't be on your mind. More like learning how to wield some weapons and fight is what she should be thinking about. 
    I did enjoy the way they all had to work together to get rid of the ghosts. It wasn't just a one person thing it took a team of them. I have to say my favorite two scenes were the one with the children in Mercy Hospital and the prison.  Both totally freaky and cool at the same time.

    Overall a great story and I will be looking out for book two. I want to know if they succeed or not. Will Kennedy become an official Legion member, will Kennedy get the answers as to why her mother never told her about the supernatural? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth This is the first book in

    Review Courtesy of April Hollingworth

    This is the first book in The Legion series, and it is extraordinarily brilliant. I can’t wait to read the next book in this fabulous new series. 

    The Review:

    Kennedy Walters never believed in ghosts, until the night one tried to kill her that is. Being rescued by gorgeous identical twins Jared and Lucas Lockhart, after they break into her house, and destroy a dangerous spirit sent to kill her, is a unexpected and terrifying wake up call to the dark forces ruling the supernatural world. A world Kennedy had no idea even existed. Being informed that her mum was part of a secret society called Legion, responsible for protecting the world from a vengeful demon, is shocking to say the least, but finding out that the five members of the group were all killed on the same night, and that Jared, Lucas, along with two other new members of the group, Priest and Alara, have been looking for her, Kennedy, to take her place and join in the battle against evil, is a lot to take in, especially when Kennedy unlike the others was told nothing about Legion or the battle raging against the world by her mother, unlike the others who have trained all their lives for the day they take over the fight.
    The race is on. Kennedy must join the fight, if only to uncover the truth of the legacy she knows nothing about. They must all find a weapon that might be able to destroy the demon, while battling the demons and spirits he controls every step of the way. And as if all that isn’t hard enough, Kennedy finds herself drawn to both Jared and Lucas and the attraction is mutual!

    FTC Advisory: Little, Brown and Company through Net Galley provided me with a copy of Unbreakable by Kami Garcia. Published through Little, Brown and Company. Kindle Edition. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced, fun novel! I received an advance reader edition of

    Fast-paced, fun novel!

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    4 Stars

    Wow! This book was so much better than I expected it to be. I am not really sure quite what I expected but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The book opened with a bang and the action just never stopped. This was a quick, easy read that ended up being loads of fun.

    Kennedy is an average 17 year old girl. She finds herself chasing her cat, Elvis, after he escaped from the house. Her cat leads her into a nearby cemetery where she see a girl. She quickly realizes that this girl may be a ghost. She pushes the thought aside and continues on with her normal life. Unfortunately, her life changes dramatically and she must deal with her new reality.

    She finds herself joining a group, the Legion, which consists of Lukas, Jared, Priest, and Alana. Each member of the Legion is new to their position being appointed after a family member died. Each of the preceding members died on the same night as Kennedy's mother. Kennedy's mother has never mentioned anything about the Legion and she lacks the training that the other members have had years to acquire. The group works together to solve a puzzle battling ghosts along the way. Kennedy quickly proves to be an asset to the group despite her lack of training.

    This book was not any kind of great literature, but it was fun. For the most part I liked the characters, although I must admit I wanted to smack Kennedy every once in a while. There was a small bit of romance which I really wish had just been left out. Nobody needs another teen love triangle, especially one involving hot twins.

    The pacing of the book was wonderful with lots of action. The writing flowed throughout the book. I found that I was completely engaged in this book while reading. I actually read the book completely within a single day and I did not spend the entire day reading.

    I would recommend this book to others. This is a young adult novel and I would feel completely comfortable with my 14 reading this story. This is the first book by Kami Garcia that I have had a chance to read. I do plan to continue with this series and to read other works by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Awesome read!

    So great! VERY well written! Read now, worth double what their asking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    This book description appealed to me immediately - almost like a

    This book description appealed to me immediately - almost like a teenage Ghostbusters, only darker, but it was leaps and bounds away from The Da Vinci Code. When all was said and done, some things I liked about this book, some not so much.

    Early on, I connected with Kennedy. She was an awkward teenager, talented artist, child of a single parent who had a great relationship with her mom, just trying to figure out where she fit into the world. Almost immediately after her mother was killed and twins Jared and Lukas came into the picture, I lost interest in her. Her mother was murdered, house destroyed, she had no close living relatives, only the clothes on her back, no money - and she talked about how "gorgeous" the twins were with their "pale blue eyes and full lips". Cue love triangle with brothers.

    What I did like about this book was the pacing, the supernatural scenes with the ghosts, and the unusual and clever ways the characters were able to kill them. Either the author has a highly creative imagination, or I'm just completely unaware of the universal methods of ghost assassination.

    Several reviews have mentioned the strong similarities between the TV show Supernatural and this book. Since I've never seen the show, I can't comment on that, but Unbreakable did hold my interest.

    Unbreakable is by no means a book with deep themes and complex characters. They are superficial, occasionally amusing, and if you can overlook the immaturity and near constant insecurities of Kennedy, this was an okay read purely on the basis of the ghosts, demons, and mystery of the Legion.

    This review is based on a digital copy from the publisher through NetGalley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    I knew from reading the Beautiful Creatures series that I would

    I knew from reading the Beautiful Creatures series that I would like this book. I did not know I would LOVE IT! This had everything you could want in a paranormal book. Death, action, romance and a mystery! Then again, I would expect nothing less from Ms. Garcia, lol! I cannot wait to continue this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Start to a Great Series

    What has Kami Garcia got here? With her characteristic style and flare for the unusual, but definitely entertaining, comes Unbreakable, the first volume in the series Legions. If you’re looking to slither into an eery world that moves so fast, your head is doing a 360, a world where only a handful of heroes are what stand between the Earth plane and disaster, you have come to the right place. The ghosts that inhabit this world are not all fluffy and cute, none of them are named Casper, these are dark demonic ghosts with evil on their agenda. No Ghostbusters will come to the rescue, instead, The Legion has been prepared for generations to take the mantle of responsibility on their shoulders, it’s what these kids have trained for all their lives, except for Kennedy. When her world comes crashing down one night, and her life is in danger, two young warriors come to her rescue, identical twins that could cause even the desert sand to drool. Jared and Lucas give Kennedy the most unbelievable news, that her mother was butchered by a demon because of who she is. Apparently, she wanted to shield Kennedy from her legacy and never told her what her destiny was. Big mistake because how could anyone depend on this brilliant, yet very un-hero-like girl? Get ready to buckle in for the ride of your life into the house of horrors created by Kami Garcia.

    Great writing style? Check. Brilliantly quirky character? Check. Dark and brooding character? Check. Brave, yet confused heroine? Check. The perfect and beautiful fighting machine that sees Kennedy as possible threat? Yep, we’ve got one of those, too. Ms. Garcia even tossed in one heck of a plot that will send chills down your spine, so maybe you should read this in the daylight, in a crowded and well-lit place, because you never know when a demon ghost my come floating by, ready to drain you of your essence in about as much time as it takes to eat an ice cream cone on a ninety degree day. I admit it, I like spooky, I like great dialogue and I like deadly things that go bump in the night. A quick word about the ending…I didn’t see that one coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic book

    A fantastic book Contemporary, Paranormal, Young Adult


    Kennedy Waters never believed in ghosts. When Kennedy finds her mother dead she never thought paranormal forces were responsible. That is until she is almost killed by a ghost but is saved in time by Jared and Lukas Lockhart, mysterious identical twin brothers. They destroyed the spirit sent to kill her when they break into her room.

    Kennedy learns the truth about her mother, and the fact that her death was no accident. Now Kennedy needs to take her place in the Legion of the Black Dove. It is a society of ghost hunters that first came together to protect the world from a vengeful demon. It is society made up of five members. Though all the members died on the same night so now the society is in the hands of the next generation, a misfit group of five teenagers. Each with a unique set of skills.

    The new members are in a race to find the only weapon that is capable of destroying the demon. They need to use their individual talents by battling pararnormal entities so that they can earn their place in the Legion. Their rightful place. The only exception seems to be Kennedy.

    She needs to stay alive long enough to see if she is truly the missing piece of the puzzle. But can she do it without losing her heart in the process?



    This is a book that puts a unique spin on ghost stories. The plot is very different and makes for a book that is hard to put down. The world building is fascinating and unique. The characters are interesting and move the story line along very well and with plenty of action it makes for a great read. It is a young adult story that is great for readers of all ages. It will also have readers eagerly awaiting the next book in this series. It has a great mystery woven throughout the book. It does leave some of the story line hanging and with a somewhat of a cliff hanger at the end it still proves to be irresistible. If the other books prove to be this good this is going to be a series of books that will be worth taking the time out to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First, Kennedy¿s mother suddenly dies. Then, twins Lukas and Jar

    First, Kennedy’s mother suddenly dies. Then, twins Lukas and Jared her life from a poltergeist that tries to kill her, and they tell her that she is the next in line to represent her family as a member of the ancient secret group called the Legion. Now, Kennedy has to use her eidetic memory to work with the rest of the members of the group to collect the Shift’s five pieces that will destroy the demon Andras.




    The character development is not the strongest point in the novel. We don’t get much backstory on the characters; as a result, they fall flat. Kennedy is brave. However, I don’t like how she doubts herself and is preoccupied with insecurities about fitting in with the others, as she doesn't know whether or not her eidetic memory counts as a special gift. I would like to see her undergo more character growth in the next installment. There are hints of a love triangle between Kennedy and the twins, but it's not certain at this point. The romance is not significant in this book. The most distinguishing feature is the good-boy bad-boy tension.




    The horror aspect is the book’s strong point. I liked following the characters on their journey from a haunted mansion to places like an abandoned magic shop, a neglected sanitarium, and a death-row prison. The author describes these places with thoroughly chilling and flawless details that sent shivers down my spine. Additionally, the story is fast-paced with plenty of terror and suspense.




    Unbreakable is a promising start for a new thrilling and exciting series. I am looking forward to reading book two, where there will hopefully be more character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Amazing

    I am 12 and read this book in an hour it was that good i ever shared it with my friend who is 11 and it took her a day to read it was that good. Even in class we got in trouble for reading when the teacher is talking. Anyway i recomend this book and I can not wait for the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Good Read

    Overall the book was fast past and left you hanging on your sit to see what happens next.....if you have the time then you should check the story out. Can't wait for the next book an how the story will unfold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    I cant wait

    I just got a fifty dollar barnes and nobels gift card and i cant wait to read this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been so eager to get reading Unbreakable the first novel

    I have been so eager to get reading Unbreakable the first novel in a new series by author Kami Garcia. I loved the Beautiful Creatures series which she co-wrote with Margaret Stohl and right from the description of Unbreakable I was dying to get reading. Especially since it sounded a lot like the best TV show of all time like whoa the CW’s Supernatural. Which I love. So, so much.

    Unbreakable is the story of main character Kennedy Waters who, after leaving to a party, returns to her mother being murdered. At first Kennedy thinks that her mother died of a heart attack up until a ghost tries to kill her in the middle of the night. She barely manages to avoid being killed thanks to twin brothers Jared and Lukas Lockhart and discovers that her mother lived an entirely different life than she thought. Her mother is part of an ancient society that accidentally released a demon and has made it their descendants’ duty to protect the world from the demon.

    Suddenly Kennedy finds herself travelling with what remains of the Legion (a.k.a. the secret society) which includes the Lockhart twins, a young boy named Priest and Alara. The teens, aware that the demon is growing powerful and sending spirits their way, begin a search for the only weapon that could possibly defeat him. However as the search continues, Kennedy finds herself falling hard for one of the mysterious Lockhart boys who won’t let himself get closer to her for reasons he won’t reveal.

    What I really liked about Unbreakable was (first of all) the monsters and the lore in it. I’ll admit that I was hoping that the Legion teens would get to face off against some demons and spirits, but the majority of the threats they faced in the novel were spirits. Creepy, deadly, you-better-hide-under-your-bed spirits. Basically imagine every ghost horror flick you’ve seen and that’s what the Legion teens had to face in Unbreakable. The lore and precautions used to defend themselves from the spirits was both interesting and also reminiscent of Supernatural which I enjoyed.

    The pacing in Unbreakable is very fast and it doesn’t stop for a moment. Just when things start to reach a low point a plot twist is thrown in that changes the entire plot and is bound to keep readers going until the very last page. There are a variety of characters introduced into the story with backstories that are heartbreaking and make them more three dimensional. Plus, readers are introduced to the Lockhart brothers who are described as total badasses who also happen to be very gorgeous and breathtaking attractive. A total bonus.

    The only issue I had with Unbreakable was Kennedy and some of the romance. While I did like her character for a number of reasons I just felt that she was constantly playing the role of a damsel in distress instead of taking initiative and getting things done. Whenever the going got tough Kennedy would always be the first character to need to be saved by the Legion when the Legion itself is supposed to have members who can defend themselves. Personally, I just felt that she spent a lot of the novel mourning her old life and (later) mourning her destiny. As for the romance, some of it just felt forced.

    Other than that I fell in love with Unbreakable and cannot wait for the next novel in the series.  Readers who are big fans of the supernatural and paranormal romance are definitely going to want to check out this read. Fans of Supernatural the show need to read this. NEED. Understand? Readers who want a novel that has non-stop action, drama and thrills should give Unbreakable a shot. I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kennedy's life changes abrubptly when her mother is murdered by

    Kennedy's life changes abrubptly when her mother is murdered by a ghost that soon is after Kennedy as well. She has never been in contact with anything supernatural before and knows just as much as readers do when they first learn about the special group of people who call themselves the legion. We find out how the legion was founded and learn more about the different types of ghosts they have to fight and the best ways to send them back to where they came from. Sketches of meaningful symbols and inventions of importance to the story are included to underline the books' ritual character and give it another boost of authenticity.

    The legion is a group of five people whose goal is to rid the world of evil spirits and ultimately of the demon Andras, that has been the legion's enemy for many hundred years. Now five teens have to continue their parents' or grandparents' legacy. The twins Lukas and Jared, one introduced as the bad boy, the other as the nice boy next door. Then there's the group's brilliant inventor and youngest member Priest. Alara, the only other female group member. She's very loyal and protective. And now Kennedy's a part of their group, too.
    Together they are set on finding clues that are meant to lead them to the weapon that could destroy Andras. It is a very absorbing quest and a few tasks and riddles demand to be solved.

    It only takes a few days for Kennedy to become an accepted member of their group and suddenly ghosts are everywhere. Supernatural ghost encounters are the common theme in the story as one could expect from a story about ghost hunting kids. And not just your average ghosts. Kami's spirits are freakishly scary just as her ideas to frighten her readers. Ravens, abandoned prisons and old wells. Kami Garcia knows how to write a horror ghost story. Every single evil spirit in the story gave me a good scare.

    The romantic relationship between Kennedy and Jared and the tension their intimacy creates between them and Jared's brother Lukas ,who obviously seems to like Kennedy as well, was generally appealing. But I always had a nagging feeling about their relationship. Not because I didn't like it (I really did), but because it wasn't as believable as I'd hope it to be/to grow. They have very strong feelings for each other from the moment they meet each other. And for me it was too early in the story that they were talking about overwhelming feelings of love and even trust issues. Too many strong emotions in too short a time, considering that both Kennedy and Jared are naturally cautious characters and trying to keep their distance. I'm really curious in which direction their relationship is headed in UNBOUND, the sequel to UNBREAKABLE.

    I was surprised to read a story loaded with action, one ghost encounter following the next without lengthy dialogues or filling scenes in between. One or two more scenes on the characters in between their ghost huntings would've been appreciated, maybe a bit more on their backgrounds and former members of the legion.
    Each chapter is on the shorter side with about eight to ten pages, making it easy to loose track of time and keep reading till the early hours of dawn...when it's more likely you'll be able to close your eyes after a ghost story like this anyway.


    4/5 **** UNBREAKABLE – A spine-chilling, fast-paced and ideal read for fans of Supernatural.

    If you read the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl you know that these two authors can write, international bestselling stories for that. UNBREAKABLE being Kami's first solo project, I was very curious to find out in how far her writing would change without the support of a co-author. The first book in the THE LEGION series was her opportunity to show how eerie ghost encounters can be. Kami Garcia always has another spooky spirit up her sleeve and the legion's five teens are easily my new favourite ghost hunters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Rating: 2 Stars I can¿t think of anything worse than having a bo

    Rating: 2 Stars
    I can’t think of anything worse than having a book that you were anticipating disappoint you from the beginning to the end.
    Okay, I kind of lied. It didn’t disappoint me in the beginning. At least, it didn’t until the characters mentioned the Illuminati. From there I kind of knew that it was going to go downhill. I don’t know what it is about the Illuminati that makes me feel as though the author kind of lazied his/her way out. I mean, there are so many other conspiracies out there that hasn’t been done to death by media. The only thing that kind of salvaged it was the twist that she offered regarding the Illuminati (which, by the way, I have to google to see if she made it up or if it is based on some facts).
    Characters-wise, I liked it. With the exception of the twins, I thought that every character had an unique voice and stood out in their own little way. Personally, I thought the whole each member had one speciality thing to be a little bit too convenient for my taste but the interaction between them made up for it.
    And, now, getting to the twins. I know that the twins are supposed to be the love interest and that it will be hard to physically distinguish them two, but I thought that their personality was eerily similar to each other as well. Only in the beginning did I get a feel for what their different personalities were going to be then *boom* they merged and swapped some characteristics throughout the novel. It totally confused me and I didn’t know who to root for in the romance department (which is a first because I always find someone, usually the underdog, to root for).
    Generally, there were some parts in the books that gave me chills. Like, some of the ghosts were downright creepy and I had to turn on my brightest light while I was reading those passages but, sadly, there weren’t too many of those gems. In fact, I felt as though she rushed through a lot of the scenes. I know that it was marketed as a Supernatural meets The Da Vinci Code and I kind of saw the Supernatural angle and I saw a glimpse of the The Da Vinci Code as well too. But, here’s the thing about trying to write something like The Da Vinci Code, you can’t rush through some of the information otherwise your readers are going to get lost.
    Overall, it’s a good book for light reading but try not to open it with any expectations. If you’re a fan of Supernatural, you probably might be a little disappointed by the story. If you’re a fan of Beautiful Creatures, you’re going to be majorly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Lee lee chooses

    I attended the Miami Book fair to here about Mrs. Kami's latest solo book; although i may be only 14 i am still entitled to my own opinion. This book was Amazing. Kennedy went through months of making trial and error mistakes. I agree that they were all extreme however they are still ones that kids my age can relate to. Ever heard the saying "learn from your mistakes?" That is what Kennedy was doing as the story continues to unfold.
    Now the love triangle has my complete attention. I believe that there could have been more intimacy between Kennedy and the twins. Im hoping for more in the sequel when she and Jared find eachother (im keeping my fingers crossed). They are perfect for eachother. Btw i love jared.
    I only didnt like the end. No offense i hate cliff hangers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unbreakable was my last try at reading anything by the Beautiful

    Unbreakable was my last try at reading anything by the Beautiful Creatures author duo. I've tried Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margret Stohl as well as ICONS by Margret Stohl but really disliked both. Which is why I was a bit hesitant in starting Unbreakable, especially with the "twin brothers" plot line which obviously involved a love triangle… *sigh*.. KIDDING! I LOVED Unbreakable. It got me out of a reading slump and I somehow managed to make time to read it in a couple of days, which is an ACHIEVEMENT with my current responsibilities. Some books have the most fascinating plots but the storytelling is what is lacking, however Kami Garcia's way of writing is engaging and keeps you going. I would aim to read a chapter but end up reading a couple more. This book centers around ghosts.. I KNOW.. I am not a big fan of these paranormal novels but I honestly felt like I was watching a movie. I was able to visualize everything (also, the some symbols, devices are actually drawn in the book), as well as feel like I was part of the action. The main protagonist, Kennedy, just lost her mom and apparently she wasn't the only one. A group of kids her age rescue her and she ends up entangled in this "legion" business. The legion was established by 5 families and each one of the kids are a descendent. I loved the action with the ghosts and how Priest, a 14 year old, creates the most epic weapons out of the most useless objects. Other than the plot, I think he characters were definitely part of the reason of me loving Unbreakable. I loved Kennedy, she didn't take any crap from anyone. However I loved Jared. He was the brooding twin to Lukas, who is always a ray of sunshine. Lastly is Alara, who you all might think is the pain in the butt jealous character who is out to get our main protagonist, but surprisingly she wasn't like that. Along with Priest, they all felt like such a family, especially since they lived and traveled together. We don't get a ton of background history on each character and I must admit Alara and Luke felt a bit flat to me but Jared and Priest won me over. I actually looked up whether Unbreakable had a sequel while I was still reading it and was relieved when I found out it IS part of a series. Usually you expect the opposite, but for Unbreakable I was happy that it isn't a standalone. I recommend it to all YA fans since I feel that it'll appeal to everyone, but since it IS October, you should definitely pick it up, especially with that cover! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2