Customer Reviews for

Unbreakable

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2014

    I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review. 4 1

    I received this book via NetGalley to give an honest review. 4 1/2 rating.

    I have to say this was very paranormal book. Right from the very beginning I was intrigued on the story line. Demons? Ghosts?  Well that is right up my alley of reading. Demons and Ghosts  are creatures that I enjoy reading about when they are written correctly. And the author did this perfectly for me. 
    Now we have Kennedy who is a normal teenager nothing special about her except that she can really draw. But everything changes within a matter of time when Kennedy comes home and her mother is dead. Now the way she died was pretty cool as I didn't even put two and two together until Kennedy met the brothers and they explained the whole ghost thing. Or vengeful spirits as they are known. Along with the Legion group.

    So after the death hits Kennedy and this group of teenagers go on a mission to stop a very powerful demon. They have to piece together a weapon  but the question is what will the weapon do once put together? No one knows truly they only hope that it puts the demon to rest.

    Kennedy is shy and keeps to herself. But when she teams up with the twins, Jared and Lukas, Priest, and Alara Kennedy changes for the better. She becomes more comfortable and you can tell she is going to be good at getting rid of the spirits that need to be gone from our world.
    I loved how the spirits were able to "hurt' or attempt to hurt those that got close to them. It brings that creep factor into play.
    After we get through the death of Kennedy's mother it is action after action, ghost after ghost, clue after clue. And it all works together.
    Now there is a semi love triangle between Kennedy, Jared and Lukas. I kind of wanted to slap Kennedy a bit and tell her not to lead the boys on. She would be with Jared a bit too long, and Lukas would be looking down. Or she would be with Lukas a bit too long and Jared would have a look on his face. Just things like that. And plus your mom just died and you are trying to stay alive so boys shouldn't be on your mind. More like learning how to wield some weapons and fight is what she should be thinking about. 
    I did enjoy the way they all had to work together to get rid of the ghosts. It wasn't just a one person thing it took a team of them. I have to say my favorite two scenes were the one with the children in Mercy Hospital and the prison.  Both totally freaky and cool at the same time.

    Overall a great story and I will be looking out for book two. I want to know if they succeed or not. Will Kennedy become an official Legion member, will Kennedy get the answers as to why her mother never told her about the supernatural? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced, fun novel! I received an advance reader edition of

    Fast-paced, fun novel!

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    4 Stars

    Wow! This book was so much better than I expected it to be. I am not really sure quite what I expected but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The book opened with a bang and the action just never stopped. This was a quick, easy read that ended up being loads of fun.

    Kennedy is an average 17 year old girl. She finds herself chasing her cat, Elvis, after he escaped from the house. Her cat leads her into a nearby cemetery where she see a girl. She quickly realizes that this girl may be a ghost. She pushes the thought aside and continues on with her normal life. Unfortunately, her life changes dramatically and she must deal with her new reality.

    She finds herself joining a group, the Legion, which consists of Lukas, Jared, Priest, and Alana. Each member of the Legion is new to their position being appointed after a family member died. Each of the preceding members died on the same night as Kennedy's mother. Kennedy's mother has never mentioned anything about the Legion and she lacks the training that the other members have had years to acquire. The group works together to solve a puzzle battling ghosts along the way. Kennedy quickly proves to be an asset to the group despite her lack of training.

    This book was not any kind of great literature, but it was fun. For the most part I liked the characters, although I must admit I wanted to smack Kennedy every once in a while. There was a small bit of romance which I really wish had just been left out. Nobody needs another teen love triangle, especially one involving hot twins.

    The pacing of the book was wonderful with lots of action. The writing flowed throughout the book. I found that I was completely engaged in this book while reading. I actually read the book completely within a single day and I did not spend the entire day reading.

    I would recommend this book to others. This is a young adult novel and I would feel completely comfortable with my 14 reading this story. This is the first book by Kami Garcia that I have had a chance to read. I do plan to continue with this series and to read other works by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Start to a Great Series

    What has Kami Garcia got here? With her characteristic style and flare for the unusual, but definitely entertaining, comes Unbreakable, the first volume in the series Legions. If you’re looking to slither into an eery world that moves so fast, your head is doing a 360, a world where only a handful of heroes are what stand between the Earth plane and disaster, you have come to the right place. The ghosts that inhabit this world are not all fluffy and cute, none of them are named Casper, these are dark demonic ghosts with evil on their agenda. No Ghostbusters will come to the rescue, instead, The Legion has been prepared for generations to take the mantle of responsibility on their shoulders, it’s what these kids have trained for all their lives, except for Kennedy. When her world comes crashing down one night, and her life is in danger, two young warriors come to her rescue, identical twins that could cause even the desert sand to drool. Jared and Lucas give Kennedy the most unbelievable news, that her mother was butchered by a demon because of who she is. Apparently, she wanted to shield Kennedy from her legacy and never told her what her destiny was. Big mistake because how could anyone depend on this brilliant, yet very un-hero-like girl? Get ready to buckle in for the ride of your life into the house of horrors created by Kami Garcia.

    Great writing style? Check. Brilliantly quirky character? Check. Dark and brooding character? Check. Brave, yet confused heroine? Check. The perfect and beautiful fighting machine that sees Kennedy as possible threat? Yep, we’ve got one of those, too. Ms. Garcia even tossed in one heck of a plot that will send chills down your spine, so maybe you should read this in the daylight, in a crowded and well-lit place, because you never know when a demon ghost my come floating by, ready to drain you of your essence in about as much time as it takes to eat an ice cream cone on a ninety degree day. I admit it, I like spooky, I like great dialogue and I like deadly things that go bump in the night. A quick word about the ending…I didn’t see that one coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First, Kennedy┬┐s mother suddenly dies. Then, twins Lukas and Jar

    First, Kennedy’s mother suddenly dies. Then, twins Lukas and Jared her life from a poltergeist that tries to kill her, and they tell her that she is the next in line to represent her family as a member of the ancient secret group called the Legion. Now, Kennedy has to use her eidetic memory to work with the rest of the members of the group to collect the Shift’s five pieces that will destroy the demon Andras.




    The character development is not the strongest point in the novel. We don’t get much backstory on the characters; as a result, they fall flat. Kennedy is brave. However, I don’t like how she doubts herself and is preoccupied with insecurities about fitting in with the others, as she doesn't know whether or not her eidetic memory counts as a special gift. I would like to see her undergo more character growth in the next installment. There are hints of a love triangle between Kennedy and the twins, but it's not certain at this point. The romance is not significant in this book. The most distinguishing feature is the good-boy bad-boy tension.




    The horror aspect is the book’s strong point. I liked following the characters on their journey from a haunted mansion to places like an abandoned magic shop, a neglected sanitarium, and a death-row prison. The author describes these places with thoroughly chilling and flawless details that sent shivers down my spine. Additionally, the story is fast-paced with plenty of terror and suspense.




    Unbreakable is a promising start for a new thrilling and exciting series. I am looking forward to reading book two, where there will hopefully be more character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Good Read

    Overall the book was fast past and left you hanging on your sit to see what happens next.....if you have the time then you should check the story out. Can't wait for the next book an how the story will unfold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been so eager to get reading Unbreakable the first novel

    I have been so eager to get reading Unbreakable the first novel in a new series by author Kami Garcia. I loved the Beautiful Creatures series which she co-wrote with Margaret Stohl and right from the description of Unbreakable I was dying to get reading. Especially since it sounded a lot like the best TV show of all time like whoa the CW’s Supernatural. Which I love. So, so much.

    Unbreakable is the story of main character Kennedy Waters who, after leaving to a party, returns to her mother being murdered. At first Kennedy thinks that her mother died of a heart attack up until a ghost tries to kill her in the middle of the night. She barely manages to avoid being killed thanks to twin brothers Jared and Lukas Lockhart and discovers that her mother lived an entirely different life than she thought. Her mother is part of an ancient society that accidentally released a demon and has made it their descendants’ duty to protect the world from the demon.

    Suddenly Kennedy finds herself travelling with what remains of the Legion (a.k.a. the secret society) which includes the Lockhart twins, a young boy named Priest and Alara. The teens, aware that the demon is growing powerful and sending spirits their way, begin a search for the only weapon that could possibly defeat him. However as the search continues, Kennedy finds herself falling hard for one of the mysterious Lockhart boys who won’t let himself get closer to her for reasons he won’t reveal.

    What I really liked about Unbreakable was (first of all) the monsters and the lore in it. I’ll admit that I was hoping that the Legion teens would get to face off against some demons and spirits, but the majority of the threats they faced in the novel were spirits. Creepy, deadly, you-better-hide-under-your-bed spirits. Basically imagine every ghost horror flick you’ve seen and that’s what the Legion teens had to face in Unbreakable. The lore and precautions used to defend themselves from the spirits was both interesting and also reminiscent of Supernatural which I enjoyed.

    The pacing in Unbreakable is very fast and it doesn’t stop for a moment. Just when things start to reach a low point a plot twist is thrown in that changes the entire plot and is bound to keep readers going until the very last page. There are a variety of characters introduced into the story with backstories that are heartbreaking and make them more three dimensional. Plus, readers are introduced to the Lockhart brothers who are described as total badasses who also happen to be very gorgeous and breathtaking attractive. A total bonus.

    The only issue I had with Unbreakable was Kennedy and some of the romance. While I did like her character for a number of reasons I just felt that she was constantly playing the role of a damsel in distress instead of taking initiative and getting things done. Whenever the going got tough Kennedy would always be the first character to need to be saved by the Legion when the Legion itself is supposed to have members who can defend themselves. Personally, I just felt that she spent a lot of the novel mourning her old life and (later) mourning her destiny. As for the romance, some of it just felt forced.

    Other than that I fell in love with Unbreakable and cannot wait for the next novel in the series.  Readers who are big fans of the supernatural and paranormal romance are definitely going to want to check out this read. Fans of Supernatural the show need to read this. NEED. Understand? Readers who want a novel that has non-stop action, drama and thrills should give Unbreakable a shot. I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kennedy's life changes abrubptly when her mother is murdered by

    Kennedy's life changes abrubptly when her mother is murdered by a ghost that soon is after Kennedy as well. She has never been in contact with anything supernatural before and knows just as much as readers do when they first learn about the special group of people who call themselves the legion. We find out how the legion was founded and learn more about the different types of ghosts they have to fight and the best ways to send them back to where they came from. Sketches of meaningful symbols and inventions of importance to the story are included to underline the books' ritual character and give it another boost of authenticity.

    The legion is a group of five people whose goal is to rid the world of evil spirits and ultimately of the demon Andras, that has been the legion's enemy for many hundred years. Now five teens have to continue their parents' or grandparents' legacy. The twins Lukas and Jared, one introduced as the bad boy, the other as the nice boy next door. Then there's the group's brilliant inventor and youngest member Priest. Alara, the only other female group member. She's very loyal and protective. And now Kennedy's a part of their group, too.
    Together they are set on finding clues that are meant to lead them to the weapon that could destroy Andras. It is a very absorbing quest and a few tasks and riddles demand to be solved.

    It only takes a few days for Kennedy to become an accepted member of their group and suddenly ghosts are everywhere. Supernatural ghost encounters are the common theme in the story as one could expect from a story about ghost hunting kids. And not just your average ghosts. Kami's spirits are freakishly scary just as her ideas to frighten her readers. Ravens, abandoned prisons and old wells. Kami Garcia knows how to write a horror ghost story. Every single evil spirit in the story gave me a good scare.

    The romantic relationship between Kennedy and Jared and the tension their intimacy creates between them and Jared's brother Lukas ,who obviously seems to like Kennedy as well, was generally appealing. But I always had a nagging feeling about their relationship. Not because I didn't like it (I really did), but because it wasn't as believable as I'd hope it to be/to grow. They have very strong feelings for each other from the moment they meet each other. And for me it was too early in the story that they were talking about overwhelming feelings of love and even trust issues. Too many strong emotions in too short a time, considering that both Kennedy and Jared are naturally cautious characters and trying to keep their distance. I'm really curious in which direction their relationship is headed in UNBOUND, the sequel to UNBREAKABLE.

    I was surprised to read a story loaded with action, one ghost encounter following the next without lengthy dialogues or filling scenes in between. One or two more scenes on the characters in between their ghost huntings would've been appreciated, maybe a bit more on their backgrounds and former members of the legion.
    Each chapter is on the shorter side with about eight to ten pages, making it easy to loose track of time and keep reading till the early hours of dawn...when it's more likely you'll be able to close your eyes after a ghost story like this anyway.


    4/5 **** UNBREAKABLE – A spine-chilling, fast-paced and ideal read for fans of Supernatural.

    If you read the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl you know that these two authors can write, international bestselling stories for that. UNBREAKABLE being Kami's first solo project, I was very curious to find out in how far her writing would change without the support of a co-author. The first book in the THE LEGION series was her opportunity to show how eerie ghost encounters can be. Kami Garcia always has another spooky spirit up her sleeve and the legion's five teens are easily my new favourite ghost hunters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Good story, but a novella.

    Great story line and likable characters. My only disappointment was the length. At less than 200 pages, it is more of a novella than a fully developed story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1