Customer Reviews for

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Average Rating 4.5
( 5047 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3224)

4 Star

(872)

3 Star

(491)

2 Star

(228)

1 Star

(232)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

252 out of 281 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!

I couldn't tear myself away from this long book once I started! Louis Zamperini was an average little boy until he became a teenager. It was then that he learned to run. He went to the Berlin Olympics to represent the USA. But this isn't what this book is about. It's ra...
I couldn't tear myself away from this long book once I started! Louis Zamperini was an average little boy until he became a teenager. It was then that he learned to run. He went to the Berlin Olympics to represent the USA. But this isn't what this book is about. It's raw, exciting and gripping, about salvation, survival, fighting inner and outer demons, suffering horrific pain. The trouble began when he was called into service, like so many young American men, to fight the Japanese. His greatest feat was his survival of an Air force plane crash in the Pacific during WWII, then somehow surviving being a prisoner of war, the torture, starvation, beatings. As painful as it was to read the POW camp accounts, the remarkable, miraculous thing is that Zamperini and the others managed to persevere and survive. The book continued after this horrific experience to detail the after effects fighting the inner demons to get back to a place of peace. This is an excellent story, an excellent account, excellent writing and an excellent lesson. I big time recommend!

posted by nancymitchell on December 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Download Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand For Free

Download Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand For Free From Here goo.gl/NUHfV

posted by 9804259 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    :

    Amazing man, amazing story! But, way too much unnecesary detail that makes the book really drag at times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Ejfhrf

    Xfffffndhfgvxhhybhyftghfff gggdtfttftgyftutjgy gbfdjf

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    too much hype

    the first 150 pages or so really drag if you are not a track fan. truthfully i was a bit disappointed. it did not live up to the hype.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    Wouldn't bother

    Too much detail for the most part. Question that someone starved, tortured, etc has such amazingly clear detailed memory of everything that happened, 70+ yrs ago, complete with names and dates. Could have been much shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    This book would not make me want to see the movie. Not a great r

    This book would not make me want to see the movie. Not a great read. But got through it. History book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2015

    Disappointed

    Overrated

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Fffffffdfffg

    #%45

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Pages??????

    Hi how many pages is this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Slow paced book..

    This book was soooo good at the begining..Now i'm halfway through..So slow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Boring

    Wow, take a fascinating story and make it boring, well done. Not sure how this has stayed a bestseller for so long except, as I said, the story is great. I didn't finish it though because the author made it all so dull.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I must read this book

    With everyone's comments I think that I might enjoy this book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Great if you like guns

    Boring if you do not

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Not as good as expected

    Louis Zamperini is a remarkable person. His life is extraordinary; he an example to all of us.
    Nevertheless, the book does not do him justice.
    The writer did not make up her mind on whether to write a historic book of WWII or a book about the life of remarkable men. I would have loved the latter. The book was confusing, boring and too detailed in things unimportant: statistics from everything: planes, alcoholism, height, weight. It distracts from what is important: the lives and struggle of all the great men depicted in the book.
    Not as good as has been mentioned. I hope her next book is up to the standard she set for herself with Seabiscuit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Wissow

    Im really sorry i gtg its almost midnight and i need to get up at five, ill be on tommorow though i promise

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Ff t

    ?0

    U

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    I have no idea why this woman tops the best seller list. Writes

    I have no idea why this woman tops the best seller list. Writes adequately enough, but with no real style, grace, humor or insight. A friend gave me the book as a gift, the only reason I fought my way through it. I did, however, find it useful as a sleep aid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    REPETITIVE

    The atrocities suffered by Louis Zamperini and the other soldiers are unfathomable and important to remember so as not to be repeated by future generations. Unfortunately, they lost some of their impact due to overexposure. Do not read this if you are not interested in basic facts about war.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great story.....long book

    Too many stats and specific information for me. I like stories told with more emotion. Everyone else I know loved this book. I know the story is great.... I could not finish the book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    A story of courage, suffering and hope.

    I loved Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and equally loved "Unbroken". Although I was just a young child during WW2, I remember the discussions among adult family members and the pictures taken during that time. This book personalized those events in telling the story of Louis Zamperini. The courage, suffering and ultimately the faith of the military men serving with Louis is remarkable. The book is also a reminder that mankind is capable of unbelievable inhumanity to one's fellow human being but that man is also capable of overcoming evil.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12